We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history”

Idaho Botanical Garden
Ranked #8 of 128 things to do in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
pocatello
Level Contributor
282 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

So the Idaho Botanical Garden is right by the old penitentiary and if you get the chance to go on a tour you will learn about some of the history of the garden. From what i heard there were two prisoners hung were the present day garden is located at. So as you go there it is cool to know some of its history as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    83
    10
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Love the botanical gardens here. They have done such a great job of making it inviting. Pretty walkways every where. Nice places to sit and contemplate. Get great ideas for your own yard here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3rjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Light up the Night!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We visited during Winter Garden Aglow, which takes place every winter. Dress warmly because it gets cold! But there are fire barrels throughout the garden and free hot chocolate and cider to warm you up. The lights are unbelievable!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I love IBG”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This place is wonderful! You could nearly call it a private park. Every time I visit I find something new to enjoy. Yesterday, it was bull frogs croaking madly in one of the ponds. A great place to take the family and enjoy the beauties of the earth!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
183 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“We were married here!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We love the Botanical Gardens. We had our wedding here, it was amazing. The staff was great to work with and how can you go wrong with nature on your wedding day!? If you are in Boise this is a must see! Even during the winter time they do Winter Garden a Glow, this was a ThanksGiving tradition of ours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TWNTVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Idaho Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Idaho Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing