We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will try again.......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Vicino

Cafe Vicino
Ranked #23 of 783 Restaurants in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 8th Street
Transit: Bus stop is located on Fort Street between 8th and 9th streets.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Will try again.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This used to be a "go to" restaurant for special occasions and romantic lunches or spent with one our best friends. Whether the indoor seating or small outside alfresco, we always enjoyed the unique offerings and congenial waitstaff.

Our break came on a Holiday evening when the meal was not up to their usual standards and we've not frequented as much thereafter. I believe it's time to go back and try again, as we had liked it so much in the past. Everyone is allowed a wrong note now and again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MunchenM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    28
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We'd heard good things about Café Vicino and the idea of a neighborhood Italian restaurant is always appealing. Sadly, there was little particularly good or Italian about it. Having pasta on the menu doesn't make a restaurant Italian, nor does a nice selection of Italian wines (and the wine list is an interesting and good one, perhaps because the restaurant is next door to an excellent wine shop).

To the specifics: the service was very friendly and efficient; pleasant atmosphere. We ordered Caesar salads, which were far too cold and drenched in a gelatinous and decidedly non-traditional dressing. The bread too was served chilled. Main dishes were salmon, which was fine and short ribs, which were overcooked and flavorless. All in all, the food was disappointing.

We went on the night before Thanksgiving, so it may have been poor timing on our part, but still...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cardinal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite restaurant in Boise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Easily the best meal I've had in Boise. Vacino's is my go to for any special occasion. No draft beer and no liquor license but one bite of food and you'll forget any negative thoughts you may have had.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local's do it RIGHT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have been to this neighborhood gem more times than I care to count - no really, it has been a lot! Always find the food to be fresh, properly prepared, tastefully plated, and delicious! The servers do a great job of taking care of the clientele and help each other out if need be. It is small and tables are fairly close together, but diners take this in stride. Casual atmosphere as is the norm in Boise. Dressed up or dressed down, it doesn't make a difference.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local, friendly, great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

I have been avoiding for far too long as they don't have a liquor licence. For shame on me. This is great comfort food. Chips to start are excellent. Both pastas were great. Don't miss.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spudstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Vicino also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Vicino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing