We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our New Boise Fave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Our New Boise Fave”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I just found a new favorite place to stay in Boise. In the past we’ve stayed closer to the airport at slightly cheaper places, but chose the MTPS because it was closer to my husband’s aunt. I made the reservation online in advance for a substantial discount, and they honored my request for both a top floor and the back of the building, facing the picturesque Boise Depot. We arrived late, and front desk personnel were cheerful and helpful, as they were throughout our stay.

The kitchenette was extremely convenient and up-to-date, with 2-burner stovetop, microwave, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, and even a dishwasher. Everything was very clean and well laid out: king bed, mini-desk with office chair, loveseat, upholstered chair, and coffee table. We appreciated that all 3 of the table lamps had two AC ports, so we could charge up everything that we needed conveniently. There was also a floor lamp, so any corner of the room could be lit. The bed was very comfortable, with quality sheets and freshly-washed cotton bedspreads. Pillows were comfortable too. Plenty of closet space was helpful. There was only one slight problem—remote for flatscreen TV would not work from the left side of the bed…but we managed to work around that pretty easily. ☺

Pool and hot tub hours were generous (till 11 pm), and both were more than adequate, though the pool wasn’t over 5 feet deep. The exercise room is open 24/7, and has free weights, treadmills, ellipticals, and a couple of things I’m not familiar with.

I never made it to breakfast (stops at 9 am, or 10 am on weekends), but my husband brought me fruit, hard-boiled eggs, u-make waffles, and no-fat milk. He said they also had hot biscuits with gravy, cereals, and various muffins and breads, as well as juices and other beverages. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the room easily because of the kitchenette and adequate table space.

Finally, this hotel is walking distance to downtown, which is convenient if you like to be close to shops and nightlife, yet away from noise and hubbub. I will definitely be back when I’m in Boise again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    62
    20
    6
    10
See reviews for
55
29
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We do a lot of “staycations” at Marriott. We have stayed at this location a few times, and really have enjoyed ourselves here in the past. However, during our stay this weekend, I was confronted with one of the front desk staff members and another guest. I was outside, standing beside the ashtray, smoking. I know that smoking is pretty much considered a public nuisance anymore, but that is not what this review is about. I was approached by the staff member, along with a guest, and berated for smoking. The other guest claimed that the smoke was coming into their 3rd floor room. I was not in the wrong, was completely following the non-smoking hotel rules, and was smoking in a designated smoking area. I was asked to smoke in the parking lot. The other guest even went as far as asking if there was a “25 foot” law in Idaho, meaning smoking is not allowed within 25 feet of an entrance. (And no, there is not.) If this would have been handled in a different manner, I would not be writing this negative review. I am a “courteous” smoker, I NEVER try to impede on someone’s environment or their health. The way I was confronted was completely inappropriate. Later, I went and talked to the same front desk gal. I told her that I felt “singled out”, and that I was not the only person that was smoking in that “designated smoking area.” I asked her if I was doing anything wrong, her response was, “You weren’t doing a lot wrong.”Excuse me, but I wasn’t doing anything wrong. I was in a designated smoking area, and I didn’t deserve to be confronted and embarrassed in front of another guest. This negative post has nothing to do with the cleanliness of the hotel, the location or the facilities… for all of those are 4-5 star. It simply has to do with treating guests with dignity and respect.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IdahoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manresa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed here for one night in August 2011. Big room excellent king bed, kitchenette, along with such amenities as a gym, pool and free breakfast. Very friendly staff. Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louhevly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainair, New Mexico
Level Contributor
237 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here two nights of our two week vacation. The property was very well maintained. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

There are several restaurants within short walking distance. The free breakfast was typical of the Marriot Townplace properties. Nothing exceptional but quite adequate. The Belgian waffles were nice. This property is very close to the entire downtown area and is within short walking distance of several museums, parks and the university campus.

In short, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSchenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel is beautiful, in a great location for a family stroll, and the rooms were clean and nice.
Cons-When building this beautiful hotel I think they forgot to put insulation in the walls and celings. We heard everything from above us and even 2 floors above us. We called the front desk 3 times about the noise. And was awake several more times during the night.

I do realize that the night we stayed there was the night BSU played a home game and they were busy. But if I were to stay again I would only stay on the top floor with no one above you.

Room Tip: A top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodit_jodit_jodit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

It's located in a quiet area close to downtown, so convenient for getting downtown, and it's nice and peaceful at night. It's clean, the room is spacious and the windows open either to downtown Boise or a quiet backyard they have, depending on where your room is. We requested the quiet garden in the back. The room has a nice kitchenette and pots and pans! They have a nice pool/hot tub area downstairs and the staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: If you want to see nature from your window, ask for the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutmeg_Cinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed for a kids soccer tournament , place was super convenient 10 mins to the airport and 5 mins from downtown Boise and or the University. Place was clean and new with great kitchenette. Only negative was the free breakfast was kind of lame ( to be expected based on the cheap room rates )... I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boise Downtown
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boise ParkCenter
0.7 mi away
Inn at 500 Capitol
Inn at 500 Capitol
#13 of 58 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown
Address: 1455 S. Capitol Blvd., Boise, ID 83706
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott is an all suite hotel nestled next to Ann Morriosn Park, near the Boise River and adjacent to Boise State University. Located only a mile from downtown and within walking distance of numerous restaurants and attractions. All of our well appointed suites include fully equipped kitchens. Hotel amenities include, breakfast buffet, high speed wired or wireless internet, business center, airport shuttle, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room and our onsite "In a Pinch" market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Boise Downtown Hotel Boise
Marriott Boise
Boise Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing