We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Safari Inn Downtown
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location and Value”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Loved the location and staff. Really enjoyed walking to the River Walk. The memorial and parks along the river walk are all a few blocks walk away. Room clean and nice. Don't stay there the same night as the square dancers. They'll leave no breakfast food. Good find. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 314stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    60
    35
    3
    8
See reviews for
18
40
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I requested a 5:14 am complementary shuttle to get to the airport but at 5:19 there was not a sign of it or anyone at the front desk. The front door was locked and the lights not on behind the desk. I remembered the name of the taxi, Boise City Taxi, called them and they sent someone quickly. The complementary cab turned out to cost $7.50 since the hotel had never made the reservation. I called the hotel this morning and asked them to credit my bill with the taxi charge but no go. They told me I should have found someone to talk to at the aforementioned dark, locked front desk. Seems $7.50 is a paltry amount to sacrifice customer satisfaction.
Also, request not to be on the alley as the bar next door dumps their recycling at 2:30 am!
Lovely pool, clean rooms, otherwise ok.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank bowdoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boise hotels

sun valley idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

At around half the price of the other choices in the area, the Safari is excellent value for downtown Boise activities. We went to a show at the Neurolux, which is 1 block away; many other downtown places are only a few blocks away also allowing walking to it all. BONUS: Free parking!
Yes, the TVs are old; we didn't even turn ours on- we were there to sleep. The AC was not at all noisy; very comfy queen bed.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Computer and printer available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVbiker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Booked this hotel at the last minute since everything else was fulled so was not expecting much. But we were surprised by the size of the room and the location. Within walking distance of downtown, friendly staff and a 1pm check-out which we considered a great plus.
We got 1 of the last rooms available a suite above the main lobby. Modern TV, comfortable bed, shower, separate jacuzzi tub and small fridge. Drawback no elevator which can be a hassle if you have a lot of luggage or a large suitcase.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the lobby, only 3 in that building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a nice place to stay that is well located downtown. As such, the price is probably right too. It would have been nice to have a TV less than fifteen years old, but I suppose that's nit picking. The staff was fine, the pool a bit small but was certainly deep enough. I would recommend this place if you are shopping for something downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Very nice hotel in the heart of Boise. Rates were excellent for a downtown hotel plus they take dogs. Room was big and comfortable. No problems with noise, although I could see if you had a window by the parking lot where it could be noisy. Staff was very friendly. Did not try the breakfast (usually don't rate a hotel on continental breakfast anyway). And we don't rate on wifi/tv since we are on vacation and that is not a big deal to us. Only negative was that people smoked their cancer sticks right near the door to the annex building. I mentioned this to one of the staff and they said they would relay it to the manager. Overall, we liked it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

On our first trip to Boise, we had no expectations on our trip or hotel. We found the hotel was a great value and close to the wedding we were attending downtown. The room though dated was very clean and features we liked. We used the fridge and microwave quite a bit for leftovers and cold drinks during the 100 degree days. The cons include the tight parking spots - they are long but incredibly narrow; the hotel rooms that face the alley. We thought it was neat to be so close to a bar and grill until the dumpster doors were slammed shut at 2am. Lastly the squishy beds gave me a sore back by the 3rd night. In between, the room size and being sandwiched on the second level (1st level - parking, 2nd and 3rd room levels) were neither bad nor good. We could hear the 3rd level guests once in awhile but not too bad. Overall the hotel was a great budget friendly option considering the location!

Room Tip: Ask for third level room facing Grove Street to avoid alley noises.. Get the king bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Z0Relle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
0.2 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 43
Hotel 43
#21 of 58 in Boise
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Boise/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Cabana Inn
Cabana Inn
#43 of 58 in Boise
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn Downtown

Property: Safari Inn Downtown
Address: 1070 W Grove St, Boise, ID 83702-7037
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Safari Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Inn Downtown Hotel Boise
Safari Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing