We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother”
Review of Pho 79

Pho 79
Ranked #486 of 789 Restaurants in Boise
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This restaurant was a major disappointment. We were hoping to get some good pho near home. The service was slow and the whole place needed a good cleaning. Food was dull.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ksamsedlacek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
159 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“#25”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I really enjoyed the food. We devoured order number 25 which included meat, vegetables, rice noodles with a side of hot sauce, fish sauce, and chili sauce. Additionally, we ordered Pho with chicken and shrimp which came with bean sprouts, jalapeño peppers, and fresh basil.

I was not disappointed. The meals each cost about $9 and total around $20 for two.

The waitress was friendly and helpful. The food tasted great. Vietnamese food and seasonings are amazingly good. The quality is equal to french cooking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davepamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal there”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is kind of out of the way, and is kind of a hole-in-the-wall, IMO. It is nothing fancy. The setting is very plain and simple. But, I am pretty sure this is a family-run business, run by Vietnamese. I've eaten there about 4-5 times, and every time, the food has been really good. Not greasy, not heavy. Good alternative to Chinese food. I still don't know what to order each time, but so far, I've not gone wrong. It's really popular for takeout.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boise idaho
1 review
“"Pho 79 is the place to be"”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This place is the place to be, has wonderful food and you won't regret it when you walk right through the door. I guarantee you won't miss out anything, every meal is great and tasty, I know a lot of great reviews and people who love to come here everyday, and weekends with their families. Good Vietnamese food than ever, you have the experiences of trying different styles of food and you won't regret coming here. Their number one meal is "Pho" a delicious famous Vietnamese soup and the best to have at Pho 79, if you're hungry and looking for a great restaurant Pho 79 is the place. I have gotten great reviews people have told me, they absolutely love this place excellent, excellent, food and it's irresistible! You will fall in love with their famous spring rolls, and many other delicious foods on their menus, greatly cooked and will fulfill you for sure. Pho 79 is just the place to be. I love being able to come here on weekends and eat all the food! One of the best restaurants I definitely know!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank likeaboss d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful food!”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

$25 for two very simple, absolutely awful meals. Tasteless food and terrible service--go ANYWHERE else...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ksamsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pho 79? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing