We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous customer service; great space!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Boise Downtown
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tremendous customer service; great space!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for 2 evenings (October 29-30), and it was one of the most delightful places we have had in a long time. First of all, the front desk staff was wonderful, and that is an all too often lost art. Thank you!
Secondiy, the second floor "rooms" are simply wonderful since they are actually two stories, with a loft king and bathroom, in addition to the downstairs queen (in our case) with full bath, living, breakfast and kitchen areas. It was SO wonderful to have the extra space, even though it was just the two of us.
The breakfast was quite good for this class of hotel, and there were real plates, silverware, glasses and mugs...yea!
Yes, it is an older property, but they have done such a tremendous job of keeping it updated and clean, and, of course, you simply cannot beat the location for proximity to Boise State, downtown, and the airport. It is wonderful in all regards.
I rarely give a "5" and certainly there are way more elegant, first-class hotels, but for the type of property this is, it is great.

Room Tip: upstairs suites have a loft...at least ours did, so ask for that one thing to be aware of--they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbear77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boisesteve, General Manager at Residence Inn Boise Downtown, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Travelbear77,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete the survey and thank you for the great feedback! As a team we strive to provide an experience just as you and your wife have had. It is why we are in the hospitality business. I have read your feedback to the team and of course it was very well received and very much appreciated! Thank you very much. We hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    53
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
54
26
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

For those of you who know the Residence Inn Marriott chain you understand what you are going to get. This was a garden style two level building just like condos. The things that made this Residence Inn special were the cleanliness, remodeled/upgraded rooms, the good location to the University, walking distance to the downtown area, and friendly staff. The breakfast was good and the common areas were nice. The pool was closed for the season but they did have the hot tub open. That area was nice as well as the fire pit common area where everyone could hang out. I would stay here again when the Boise area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rricemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was really surprised by these rooms, as I have never stayed at a Residence Inn before. The bed was super cozy, there was a kitchen that had a full sized oven and refrigerator in it, all necessary dishes and cooking utensils. The Location is great right in between Downtown Boise and the residential areas where there is lots of restaurants, movie theatres, and grocery stores. It's also right beside the University and would be an awesome place to stay if you are parents dropping off your kid and need to be close for a little while. VERY good value for money at this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingCiccone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, CA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here, great included breakfasts, large rooms, with fireplace, fire pit outside, great pool, very friendly, and very courteous staff.. The location provides excellent access to restaurants and events downtown and also close to the train station.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the fire pit are quieter, but upper floor rooms provide great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonoma_CAYoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The rooms actually have working fireplaces! How homey can you get - and they sell Duraflame logs in the "Market." The breakfast buffet is one of the better ones I've had - lots of choices! Waffles, egg sandwiches, scrambled eggs, sausage, cereals, fresh made oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, and more. And lots of condiments...want salsa on your eggs? They have it! My room was smaller than you see on the Residence Inn commercials (love the Penguins) but it was totally fine for my stay. Wireless is fast and free, so that was great. Fitness Center had 2 treadmills and an elliptical, but I never had to fight for a machine. They also have a fire pit outside, so you can sit out there in the evening. I will definitely stay here again. Right across the street from Boise State and minutes (literally) from the airport.

Room Tip: It looks like this Residence Inn was actually an apartment complex. It is only 2 stories but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn in Boise for a business trip and it felt like going home to my own personal apartment. The staff was incredibly inviting and alerted me to the social hour that was going on that night where I could grab a glass of wine and wind down after the day. The room was spacious and well layed out with a full kitchen and a great bed. I really enjoyed the full breakfast offering the next morning and especially appreciated the healthy options that were available. It was very different from what I had experienced at other hotels. I would definitely stay here again and look at other Residence Inns in the future.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bellevuewa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is located near the Greenbelt, Whole Foods, and Boise State University. While the folks were pleasant and the breakfast was outstanding - the hotel room itself was not up to par. I was really disappointed. The hotel is ready for a renovation. I stayed one night and moved to the Residence Inn West. Much better hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend that you stay at the TownPlace Suites or Residence Inn Boise West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CareBarelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boisesteve, General Manager at Residence Inn Boise Downtown, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on our hotel. I apologize and would like the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience and learn what you were most disappointed about with respect to your room. We did have all our guest rooms renovated in the second half of 2010 with new flooring, new 32-37" HD Televisions with HD programming, new kitchen appliances, fresh paint, drapes, etc. I am hoping to find if there was unusual wear and tear to your room or something specific you could help us identify. We are always trying to improve and provide an excellent guest experience and learning more would be helpful if you have the time. Please call the hotel directly at 208-344-1200 and ask to speak to Steve.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boise ParkCenter
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Boise West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boise Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boise Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Boise Downtown
Address: 1401 S Lusk Pl, Boise, ID 83706-2863
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Boise
#21 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boise Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Boise Downtown offers a great combination for Boise Hotels; a hotel near downtown, a hotel close to BSU and that provides all the services and amenities you need like free airport shuttle, free breakfast buffet and large spacious suites. Whether you need a Boise hotel for business or you are traveling to Boise for fun, you will enjoy all the great amenities that make us Residence Inn by Marriott. You can enjoy our free breakfast buffet and our complimentary wireless internet or perhaps relax outside at our outdoor pool. You can stay on track by using our exercise room or get out and enjoy the scenery and run or bike along the Boise River Greenbelt. This Boise Marriott hotel is near Downtown Boise, near Boise State University, Micron, HP, Gowen Field, NIFC and other Federal Government or State Government offices. This Boise hotel is close to all the fun activities the city can offer including "Alive after Five", Art in the Park, Albertson's Boise Open, and BSU football games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Boise Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boise Hotel Boise
Boise Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing