We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Riverside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Idaho
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent stay at the Riverside! From checking in to checking out - the staff is always friendly and courteous and went out of their way to make sure my stay was comfortable. The rooms are always quiet and provide a great place to relax at the end of the day. From the breakfast brunch to a late night burger in the bar, the food was excellent. Have stayed at the Riverside several times and will recommend to friends and family staying in the Boise area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    197
    52
    31
    12
See reviews for
208
181
34
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had a great stay. Our room was renovated and very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff was just great. very freindly and helpful, going out of their way to take care of all our needs. The warm cookies upon arrival were a nice touch. We had planned on going out for dinner but decided to check out the Sapphire room as we were drawn in by the music, which proved to be a great choice. Good food and super friendly. Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a great hotel. It is an older hotel that had been renovated. The decor of the rooms are a little dated. The bed was comfortable, the lobby is very nice, and breakfast was good for being included in our price. ( although on a previous stay, they had homemade donuts that were to die for. On this stay they weren't as good and the maple tasted like grainy sugar) We were very happy with the value of this hotel. Will come back if it continues to be a good value.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodit_jodit_jodit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is the second year in a row we have brought our high school boys lacrosse team to Boise and stayed at the Riverside. Lisa Becker and her staff are very easy to work with and it's been an exceptional experience with both the accommodations and catering for the team. I would highly recommend staying here either as an individual or for large group accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a group for a school sports club and when I made the reservation, even said we were under the Montana group. When we checked in, our name was spelled wrong which caused a big delay and we were under the Oregon group so we were not near any of our group. Plus when we walked into the hotel we were met by a overwhelmingly strong perfume smell which was horrible and really effected my allergies. When we got to our section of the hotel, we were met by the same awful perfume in the hall ways, which became less over our stay in the halls only.

Our room was very large and thankfully free of that awful perfume smell. I was so happy with the size of the bathroom and the really large bathtub! The room was very clean and while the furniture itself was obviously outdated it could be overlooked by the fresh linens and flat screen HDTV. We were disappointed to find out that the 10 Channels offered were all in SD and the picture was so small it did not fill the screen. Also one of the headboards was no longer screwed into the wall so went I looked for a free wall outlet, I almost cut my hand on the screw head sticking out off the headboard.

Breakfast the next morning was awful! Yes we ordered the buffet but we weren't really expecting the poor quality. The eggs Benedict that was offered sat out so long the egg was way over cooked, the bacon had a jerky texture to it, home fries and waffle were just soggy. We were shocked we paid $17.99 each for this when we saw a sign that said $10.99. When we left, lower on the sign it said Sat & Sun $17.99. The waitress started to give us our receipt to pay and then started asking about a voucher we knew nothing about from our check-in and even asked if we were guests there. When we said we didn't know about a voucher she took the receipt we didn't even get to look, and took 10 minutes to correct it with another girl and that girl brought it back. Our fast food chain breakfast was much better on Sunday.

Overall I would say I would stay at the Riverside Hotel again, especially if they got rid of that overwhelming perfume smell.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JP406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyPidgeon, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We always like to have feedback from out guests. These comments are taken seriously and they help us to improve the hotel. We are working with a company to help us to improve our channel selection and our television reception. We will have that issue fixed soon. I apologize about the issues with the breakfast buffet. The chef and I have discussed the need to check the food on the buffet line more often so we make certain the food is always fresh.
It seems the main issue was the perfume smell. I talked to our housekeeping manager who explained to me, she had tried a new scent from one of our vendors. She did say she only tried this once and sent it back because it was too strong. Rest assured, we will not use that product again.
Thank you again for your feedback. If I can be of further assistance, please contact me at Kathy.pidgeon@riversideboise.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is right on the river, which we loved. It was newly remodeled and we were very impressed. The staff was terrific. I supposed my only criticism would be the live music stopped at 9pm on a Saturday night and that hot tub was not hot enough. Neither of those will stop us from coming back, which we will.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyPidgeon, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello Lisa,
Thank you for your kind remarks about The Riverside. I am glad you like working with Lisa on our Sales team. I know she appreciated working with you as well. We do host many sports teams here so we are happy to hear you and your team enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

my band traveled from Portland, Oregon to Boise to perform at the hotel's Sapphire Room. We knew we were in the right place as soon as we met the friendly staff at the front desk, and given a warm chocolate chip cookie! All staff - whether it be in the restaurant, bar, or maid service treated us like stars. The rooms were luxurious, spacious, clean, and inviting. Food was always excellent, and all our guests felt the same. We are excited to return.

Room Tip: Building No. 4 is a good spot. Seems to be very quiet. There is a walking path just outside your w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyPidgeon, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello Linda,
Thank you for your kind words about The Riverside. We are so pleased to hear that you were treated like a star. We want all of our guests at The Riverside to feel important. We are also happy that you enjoyed the spacious rooms. We are fortunate to have rooms that are larger than most hotel rooms so our guests have room to spread out and relax.

We are also excited about your return visit. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
1.6 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
746 reviews
1.2 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Hotel

Property: The Riverside Hotel
Address: 2900 W Chinden Blvd, Boise, ID 83714-6629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boise
#9 Business Hotel in Boise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel's riverfront location offers direct access to the Boise Greenbelt's 26-mile paved trail alongside Boise River. Our spacious guest rooms are decorated in a Contemporary style, including an ergonomic chair at an oversized desk featuring task lighting and an easy-access power source. Work with ease and efficiency from your room, utilizing two telephones with complimentary high speed internet. Guest rooms include one King or two Queen beds, most with courtyard or river views. Pet friendly, must be 21 and over to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Boise
Boise Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing