We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Vancover, WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We got this hotel through hotwire for $49 so we weren't sure what to expect. As it turns out, we enjoyed our stay here thoroughly. We were especially nervous after reading some of the reviews on here but were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was.

The breakfast buffet for $4.95 is a bit of a rip off. It was scrambled eggs, crusty bacon, and dried up sausages. Most hotels would have given it away for free. Skip it and go downtown to a Denny's or something...

The staff at the front desk were friendly when they were there... It seemed like whenever we needed something they were in some office on the computer (facebooking would be my guess) and it took a lot to get their attention but once you got them they were very helpful.

All in all it was a great value and we will most likely be going back there again as it really is conveniently located to a lot of great downtown places. It might take you 20 minutes to walk downtown if you're 90 and crippled otherwise everything was within a 10 minute walk or a 2 minute drive...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travis98683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    147
    69
    29
    26
See reviews for
91
99
42
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

we have stayed here many times and always love he staff...we got our usual room, by asking, and the staff saved it for us!!! and wow, they have done a facelift....new beds, new pillows, new bedding , new flatscreens...and the bathroom is totally redone, great new shower head...yipeee, and well, get this,the sheets are ironed..where do you get that ??can't wait to go back, slept like a baby...thanks again to the great red lion.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at the Red Lion Hotel Boise. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I just stayed in Boise at the Red Lion Hotel Downtowner. I frequently stay there because of the friendly staff, GM, sales department and food not to mention the cleanliness of the hotel everytime I stay there. You can't beat the location either, close to the Capitol, downtown, freeway and all the city has to offer. Best value for all you get there. 5 out of 5 stars in my book.

Room Tip: Ask for the Friends & Family rate if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The Red Lion has welcomed University of Idaho Extension and 4-H activities on a number of occasions. I have participated in these events for the last three years and have yet to be disappointed by the friendly staff, clean, modern rooms or any of the banquet staff. I brought my family to stay last year during the State Fair and we were treated equally as well.

Room Tip: They even allow pets. The rooms are spacious and the wifi connect is great. Because this was a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We are thrilled to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and we’re delighted that you took the time to post this feedback.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I stay at the Red Lion Boise Downtowner Hotel on a fairly regular basis. I am there about 8 - 10 nights per year. I have always enjoyed the hotel, especially the service. On my last visit I was surprised by some great upgrades. The first item was the new linens in the rooms. They look great and feel great and they are a very nice upgrade. The next item is the new flat screen tv's. Great quality picture and tv size. I am very impressed.

Room Tip: I have stayed in rooms all over the hotel but I particularly like the tower Kings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Due to the wonders of technology, I inadvertently double-booked a reservation. There was confusion as to which online service accepted the reservation but Jenny would not be deterred. She took the initiative to help me solve the puzzle and arrange for me to communicate with the vendor to cancel the second reservation.

Her concern and initiative was a welcome experience. Kudos to Jenny!

The hotel is very clean and well maintained and much quieter than some other downtown hotels I have stayed in. I will return! THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35539Das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We are thrilled to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and we’re delighted that you took the time to post this feedback. Our Mission at the Red Lion is to provide personalized, exuberant service and we are thrilled to know we’ve done that for you during your recent stay.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed here for business recently. It wan't terrible, I've stayed in worse, but if you're looking for more upscale accomodations, then this isn't for you.
The managment has tried to make some updates to the rooms. The bathrooms are updated and there are new comforters on the bed. However, one of my pet peeves is when hotel sheets aren't pressed. The sheets on the bed were so wrinkled that I started to question whether or not they were even clean. I just think pressed sheets look way better and provide a better overall "feel." The carpeting is old and stained, but the building is older, so it is to be expected. The room wasn't what I would call clean, but again, it wasn't filfthy. I did notice dust and some stray hair from a previous guest, which is gross, but again, I've seen worse. The toilet in my room decided to stop flushing for no apparent reason, but again, it is an old building with old pipes, so go figure. I think that overall this is an old property that is in need of some TLC, but it isn't completely terrible. Although the property is dated and tired, the hotel staff is great. I found them to be very friendly and helpful.
There is a Hampton Inn nearby and my advice would be to check that out first, but if you must stay at the Red Lion, it isn't really all that bad. One last thing, there is a breakfast buffet in the lobby from 6-9 that isn't too bad. Plus, it's only $4.95!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cemory268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
While my comments to your review are very late, they are not without gratitude. In a time when people are often too busy to provide any type of feedback, it is always a great pleasure to know that someone has taken the time to put something in writing in regards to their stay with our property.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.9 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
753 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.4 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
739 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Property: Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Address: 1800 W Fairview Ave, Boise, ID 83702-5123 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing