We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanks for always being so nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
idaho
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“thanks for always being so nice.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

always, we love the staff..as they let us have the same rooms that we love.
great place, quiet and love the staff..thanks so much.
darn, big old black hair..and we are blond...guess that this just happens.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    147
    69
    29
    26
See reviews for
91
99
42
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Tower room was clean, and well equipped. Great management response and Montoya at the front desk was wonderful. Breakfast buffet was delicious. Restaurant on site was also great. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtleduck116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor and recommend our hotels to others! We appreciate that very much!

I do hope that you will come back and visit us again and if there is anything I can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Enjoyable stay, shuttle service very useful in getting around Boise. Hotel not really in down town,but location in quite area . Ask front desk about availability of shuttle since they make a lot of airport runs.Hotels restaurant very reasonable for getting a quick bite to eat.Our room was comfortable,clean and taken care of daily.We had a drip in the ceiling of the A/C unit ,hosekeeping took care of the issue but we noticed it started again when we left suggesting a bigger issue which we alerted the front desk about.

Room Tip: Use tower rooms for a nice view on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayheytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience.
We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is easy to find and ensures a good night's sleep. Very friendly staff and good sized rooms with all the amenities including fridge and microwave. Slightly overpriced in retrospect especially if you know the breakfast costs $10 for a pretty standard buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RavenSSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here with my father while road tripping across country and was not disappointed. I have stayed here twice and both times the staff have been friendly and the rooms were excellent. Clean room, bathroom, and quiet. Also has a nice exercise room for people like me who need to work out regularly. The cost was comparable to the amenities and overall it was a nice break from the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubZeroKelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We are thrilled to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and we’re delighted that you took the time to post this feedback.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We got in at midnight and left early. Didn't take up issues with management. Not highly recommended. Not so sure it was just a one room issue, but can't entirely say. Not a place we will do again. The staff at check in were kind and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminConant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
While my comments to your review are very late, they are not without gratitude. In a time when people are often too busy to provide any type of feedback, it is always a great pleasure to know that someone has taken the time to put something in writing in regards to their stay with our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion for 3 nights at the end of July as I've done many times before. The hotel is in a great location being close to downtown and not far from the airport. The rooms are always clean, comfortable and quite. There is a nice bar / restaurant in house with good food, cold beer and reasonable prices. The staff is top notch from Ken the GM to the van drivers. This last stay was during a motorcycle trip where I had a mechanical issue that needed to be addressed at the local Harley dealer. My bike was towed there and Larry the van driver was happy to run me over there when I needed to go. The staff here are the nicest people and they go out of their way to make sure guests needs are taken care of. This is the only place I stay when in Boise.
Tony P.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on upper floors but have stayed all over this hotel, it's all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at the Red Lion Hotel Boise. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.9 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
753 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.4 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
739 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Property: Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Address: 1800 W Fairview Ave, Boise, ID 83702-5123 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing