We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and they take dogs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel and they take dogs!”
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed here on our return trip from back to Washington. Nice hotel and as long as you are Red Lion member dogs stayed for free. Nice ground floor with slider door was great for evening outing for dogs! We travel this route twice a year and this will always be our return stop from now on!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    134
    63
    27
    24
See reviews for
86
92
40
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

This hotel was in the original Red Lion collection, before Doubletree took over. It was left as is for a few years and sorely needed an update. Well it got it and it's fantastic.
Close to downtown, and also near a very nice historic district.

Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank phxpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,

Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

My company booked my hotel arrangements at this Red Loin Boise Downtowner property for third time this month of November & December 2009. After my third stay I thought I would write a review.
The hotel has two buildings, one low-rise motel style building with microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The seven or 8 story high-rise is just a hotel room without amenities. I stayed in both buildings.
The hotel rooms and dark hallways, in general are clean, but shabby and outdated. Many room and hallway lights are burned out in both buildings. Windows are very dirty and grimy throughout property.
Room coffeemakers are old and in need of replacement. I stayed here last winter on business and everything was in the same sad shape.
I thought Red Lion hotels would be on par with Doubletree or Sheraton, but it is more in line with Days Inn or Quality Inn.
If you can get the rate at $99 or less, I would recommend this property. Clean, basic, good downtown location. Nothing fancy. Not worth $100+ room rate.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimo767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
While my comments to your review are late, they are not without gratitude. In a time when people are often too busy to provide any type of feedback, it is always a great pleasure to know that someone has taken the time to put something in writing in regards to their stay with our property. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. Your concerns were shared with our department heads and action was taken to correct issues you encountered.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2009

While Boise is not the most exciting city to visit, the Red Lion Downtowner was fantastic. Great view of the city and surrounding area while walking distance to a few restaurants and bars. Very clean and very nice hotel.

Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank manniona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

This was our second stay here (the first three years ago). The rooms are good with comfortable beds. A good sized pool was available. It was about 20 minutes to walk to downtown but that was fine. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. We would have given a strong 5 if breakfast had been included.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stvjyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equality, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Stayed here three times in July 2009, The rooms were clean, well appointed, great bed, wifi worked without a problem, easy to find. As I read some of the other reviews, I was confused, they were not in the hotel that I was at. I travel a great deal, 600,000 air miles in the past five years, This is the best 'hotel room' that I have had, the best stay was at the Hilton Residence in Colombo, Sri Lanka, but that was a 2 bedroom apartment. I chuckled over the comment of the person from the UK, like they have such great hotels there. Happy July 4th

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthroadagain-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estacada, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Stayed here This weekend for a family wedding. Had two rooms booked with early check in requests so we could get ready for the wedding. Upon arrival there was no one manning the front desk. After waiting a little while we were noticed by someone that was having lunch in the office. She put her food down and came out to help us. We were told we had arrived too early (got there at 1pm) and there were no rooms yet. Noticing our disappointment she came up with one room for the four of us. When asked how long it would be she told me i had to realize actual check-in time wasn't until 3 so she had no idea. I had to tell her we had requested early check-in after she treated us quite rudely. We came back a little while later to check to see if a room was avaialble, again-no one working the counter and again she was in the office eating before she noticed us. We were interrupting her lunch again. After getting our rooms and getting ready we wanted a bite to eat. The cafe downstairs had no one working there. It appeared to be closed but we couldn't tell. We gave up after standing there a while and the front desk suggested we go to McDonalds four blocks away. Later that evening we went to the lounge, there was no one working tthere. My husband had to go look for a bartender to serve us drinks and once again we were left feeling like we were keeping them from doing something better. Rooms were ok, I like the balconies. Small closets, small beds (no queens in any rooms, they are all doubles) no where to put your stuff really. The next morning we made coffee and the mugs are what made me decide I had to say something. I always rinse my mug in a hotel room before using it. While doing so I found all around the outside of the mug other peoples lipstick and full lip prints. So disgusting. I immediatly went to my mom's room above us to look at hers.....same thing! It was so obvious they had not been washed around the outside in a very long time, if ever! Lipprints all the way around on all 4 mugs! I used a glass the night before - YUCK I hate to think what it probably looked like.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjm1of7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.9 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.4 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
0.6 mi away
Safari Inn Downtown
Safari Inn Downtown
#33 of 58 in Boise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Property: Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Address: 1800 W Fairview Ave, Boise, ID 83702-5123 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing