We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The comfort of this hotel makes me feel like I'm home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Boise
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
“The comfort of this hotel makes me feel like I'm home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

The staff at the Red Lion Hotel Downtowner are not only professional they are are also warm and friendly. I always feel like I'm home and amongst friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris60820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. We enjoyed having your group with us immensely and are so pleased to know that we were able to provide you with such a memorable stay. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    131
    60
    27
    24
See reviews for
84
92
40
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

This hotel has a great staff to take care of all your needs (within reason, of course). They are courteous and friendly and the hotel is very clean. We enjoyed the breakfast and the sportsbar food and atmosphere. Great location at the edge of downtown and close the the freeway connector. I have actually stayed at this hotel many times and when in Boise for either work or play, I can't think of anywhere else I'd rather stay. The friendly staff, cleanliness, and convenient location make it extremely comfortable for me.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trixie-geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed here on our return trip from back to Washington. Nice hotel and as long as you are Red Lion member dogs stayed for free. Nice ground floor with slider door was great for evening outing for dogs! We travel this route twice a year and this will always be our return stop from now on!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

This hotel was in the original Red Lion collection, before Doubletree took over. It was left as is for a few years and sorely needed an update. Well it got it and it's fantastic.
Close to downtown, and also near a very nice historic district.

Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank phxpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,

Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

My company booked my hotel arrangements at this Red Loin Boise Downtowner property for third time this month of November & December 2009. After my third stay I thought I would write a review.
The hotel has two buildings, one low-rise motel style building with microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The seven or 8 story high-rise is just a hotel room without amenities. I stayed in both buildings.
The hotel rooms and dark hallways, in general are clean, but shabby and outdated. Many room and hallway lights are burned out in both buildings. Windows are very dirty and grimy throughout property.
Room coffeemakers are old and in need of replacement. I stayed here last winter on business and everything was in the same sad shape.
I thought Red Lion hotels would be on par with Doubletree or Sheraton, but it is more in line with Days Inn or Quality Inn.
If you can get the rate at $99 or less, I would recommend this property. Clean, basic, good downtown location. Nothing fancy. Not worth $100+ room rate.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimo767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
While my comments to your review are late, they are not without gratitude. In a time when people are often too busy to provide any type of feedback, it is always a great pleasure to know that someone has taken the time to put something in writing in regards to their stay with our property. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. Your concerns were shared with our department heads and action was taken to correct issues you encountered.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

While Boise is not the most exciting city to visit, the Red Lion Downtowner was fantastic. Great view of the city and surrounding area while walking distance to a few restaurants and bars. Very clean and very nice hotel.

Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank manniona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

This was our second stay here (the first three years ago). The rooms are good with comfortable beds. A good sized pool was available. It was about 20 minutes to walk to downtown but that was fine. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. We would have given a strong 5 if breakfast had been included.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stvjyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.9 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 57 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.4 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 57 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 57 in Boise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
0.6 mi away
Safari Inn Downtown
Safari Inn Downtown
#33 of 57 in Boise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Property: Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Address: 1800 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing