We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
The Grove Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boise Airport(Boise)(Great Value!)
US$106
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Riverside Hotel(Boise)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Northwest Lodge(Boise)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Boise(Boise)(Great Value!)
US$79
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
254
171
76
31
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
171
76
31
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvan driverfront deskclose to downtownhotel barshuttle servicechecking incomfortable roomswould stay againairport shuttlehome away from homebreakfast buffetroom was largegreat customer servicegreat roomvery nice hotelcoffee makerconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
538 - 543 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2010

The staff at the Red Lion Hotel Downtowner are not only professional they are are also warm and friendly. I always feel like I'm home and amongst friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris60820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. We enjoyed having your group with us immensely and are so pleased to know that we were able to provide you with such a memorable stay. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

This hotel has a great staff to take care of all your needs (within reason, of course). They are courteous and friendly and the hotel is very clean. We enjoyed the breakfast and the sportsbar food and atmosphere. Great location at the edge of downtown and close the the freeway connector. I have actually stayed at this hotel many times and when in Boise for either work or play, I can't think of anywhere else I'd rather stay. The friendly staff, cleanliness, and convenient location make it extremely comfortable for me.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trixie-geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2010

We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed here on our return trip from back to Washington. Nice hotel and as long as you are Red Lion member dogs stayed for free. Nice ground floor with slider door was great for evening outing for dogs! We travel this route twice a year and this will always be our return stop from now on!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

This hotel was in the original Red Lion collection, before Doubletree took over. It was left as is for a few years and sorely needed an update. Well it got it and it's fantastic.
Close to downtown, and also near a very nice historic district.

Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
Thank phxpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,

Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

My company booked my hotel arrangements at this Red Loin Boise Downtowner property for third time this month of November & December 2009. After my third stay I thought I would write a review.
The hotel has two buildings, one low-rise motel style building with microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The seven or 8 story high-rise is just a hotel room without amenities. I stayed in both buildings.
The hotel rooms and dark hallways, in general are clean, but shabby and outdated. Many room and hallway lights are burned out in both buildings. Windows are very dirty and grimy throughout property.
Room coffeemakers are old and in need of replacement. I stayed here last winter on business and everything was in the same sad shape.
I thought Red Lion hotels would be on par with Doubletree or Sheraton, but it is more in line with Days Inn or Quality Inn.
If you can get the rate at $99 or less, I would recommend this property. Clean, basic, good downtown location. Nothing fancy. Not worth $100+ room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimo767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

While my comments to your review are late, they are not without gratitude. In a time when people are often too busy to provide any type of feedback, it is always a great pleasure to know that someone has taken the time to put something in writing in regards to their stay with our property. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. Your concerns were shared with our department heads and action was taken to correct issues you encountered.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews