We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Modern Hotel and Bar
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

So comfortable, and convenient. Had the best night of sleep ever in in a hotel, and the showers were really something special. This romantic getaway will definitely be a return trip for my husband and I.

Room Tip: Get a king sized bed. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    214
    60
    21
    15
See reviews for
107
268
60
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mendham,nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love to stay at the Modern. My room was sleekly designed and very comfortable. Freshly-squeezed juice, bagels,granola,yoghurt are an included breakfast. Michal remembered me and asked about my grandkids....that was so special.

Room Tip: If you don't want to lug bags up a flight,stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Major kudos to what looks like young entrepreneurs who have converted this old Travelodge into a fun, hip, and different type of motel.

Fire pits outside, a cute little restaurant with excellent drinks and great 90's indie music, free rentable bicycles, and room upgrades - minibar a nice touch and very rare for this price point.

Keep in mind, though, that the rooms are quite small and not frilly, but for the price, there's still a lot of value.

The only big mistakes in this traveler's opinion were in the bathroom. A cheap rain-style showerhead sprayed water everywhere and the water did not get above lukewarm. Also, they use those dreadful shallow square sinks that look vaguely cool but overflow after the tap is on for less than 30 seconds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertGrunnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Fortunately I didn't have the displeasure of staying here.

As a seasoned executive in hospitality who started in this business 35 years ago as a busboy I can honestly say I have never encountered someone more rude than the General Manager of this property.

She was aloof and condescending in her approach.............and actually hung the phone up on me.

they must have something serious going on here to have such a pompous attitude.

all I know is where I will NOT stay on my next trip to Boise.

good luck!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank davidcotyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our night at the Modern was great. I can see that it could be noisy on a weekend with lots of people out and about, but we had a quiet night. Loved the bar and had drinks during happy hour. Breakfast (good bagel, fresh juice and granola) was great and quick. Room was cool with a great shower. We would definitely stay here again. Seemed like a good deal to us - and easy to walk downtown for art walk and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigeralum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed here for a business trip.

The room I had was constantly too warm. I kept the window open each evening to cool the room down. The heater was impossible to figure out; the fan was constantly on and blowing out boiling hot dry air. The heat/ac units in the rooms need to be updated. My co-workers had a similar experience.

The shower is an overhead with a half glass panel for a 'door'. The shower needs a door. This type of shower looks great in pictures. But the functionality is not successful.

The only available outlets next to the bed are hidden behind the mattress on the bed. The placement of the power cords and power strip appear to be a potential fire hazard. The bed was decently comfortable.

My room was horrible for light from a street lamp out back. The room was also next to a stair case, so I had the pleasure of listening to people come up/down the stairs and drag their luggage.

The first and last mornings a dump truck emptied the dumpsters, located right outside my window, at 5 in the morning. I desperately needed the sleep…

Good things:
This place has a GREAT bar. Drink here. I did not try the menu, but the food looked fantastic.

Breakfast was ok. I enjoyed the yogurt… but the yogurt was gone by the time I made it to breakfast the first morning. I do not care for bagels, but I was stuck with eating a bagel.

The rooms are very clean. The people are friendly.

Room Tip: If you see the dumpster out your back window, change rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This review is really just for the bar, as we have not stayed overnight in the hotel. Fantastic, artisanal, work-of-art cocktails not to be missed. Pricey but worth it for a special night out. The bartenders take pride in crafting one of a kind drinks often based on vintage cocktails and utilizing local ingredients when possible. Try something with a cherry--nothing like a maraschino cherry but rather a home-preserved, spiced black cherry. Delicious, if only life were like a bowl of these cherries... Also have a small variety of nice wines and beers. Various appetizers we have tried have not disappointed. Patio and bar alike are chic, minimalist, and an appreciated option for when the lounge is cram-packed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
1.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
3.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern Hotel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern Hotel and Bar

Property: Modern Hotel and Bar
Address: 1314 W Grove St, Boise, ID 83702-6942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Boise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boise
#16 Family Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Modern Hotel and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this intimate boutique hotel, where architecture and design live in harmony. ADA-compliant. Small parking lot for walk-up comfort and convenience. Street parking when lot is full. Adjacent to the Linen Building Event Center, The Modern Hotel is the ideal spot for meetings and creative professionals taking care of business. Onsite, our business center has all the hook-ups you need to tie up loose ends while you're away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Modern Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modern Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing