We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northside School Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This lodging is just wonderful. We were able to choose our own room, since not all of the rooms were booked when we stayed. The room was small, but lovely and comfortable, the owner could not have been nicer, and the breakfast was fantastic! I highly recommend the Northside School B&B, a beautifully refurbished former elementary school!

Room Tip: We chose a classroom, but the principal's office is also an available room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was an old school house. Up on a hill overlooking the river. Rooms and nicely decorated. Great Breakfast in Dining Room. Nice grounds, pool, hot tub, plenty of inside and outside public areas. We will be back! Thanks Ruth.

Room Tip: All are Good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouginCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Perched on a bluff overlooking the river, this historic school-turned B&B is most charming. The owners (former students at this school!) are most gracious and have thoughtfully attended to every detail. The cost of a room includes a sumptuous breakfast. This has got to be the best deal in Bonner's Ferry. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Principal's room, a sun-filled space at the top of the stairs. As one can imagi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubberneckTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

In a little town like Bonner's Ferry one does not usually find a place like Northside. The owners are great. Every room is different. Breakfast is certainly more than enough. Do yourself a favor and skip the "big name place" and come to the School House you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Here's a lovely hotel in a restored school! Every room is done in a different theme. Lots of lovely collectables displayed through out the hotel. Breakfast is very good indeed! We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoraT96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

OH YES!! Go there!

Awesome breakfast and by all means bring your swim suit to enjoy the HEATED pool!
Lovely-absolutely lovely! We stayed in the Polynesian theme room with island decor but next time I call dibs on the Principals office!

I eagerly await a chance to return someday.

This would be a perfect setting for anyone to have a reunion at.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Spent the night at the restored (built in 1912!) Northside School B&B recently and enjoyed it immensely!! I had stayed at B&Bs before, but this was a first for my partner, and she loved it! What a great B&B to visit for your first B&B experience! She's definitely willing to try other B&B properties now as a result!

The restoration of the school and subsequent conversion of the classrooms to bedrooms with baths is quite amazing! The overall attention to detail and 'respect for the past' is evident throughout the property and each room is tastefully themed with each one having lots of character. The addition of an outdoor pool, hot tub and separate guest deck where you can enjoy a relaxing glass of wine are notable for sure. The owners are welcoming and helpful, though not obtrusive.

Our room was absolutely spotless and had an African theme which was quite interesting with the room accessories fitting together well. Our bed was comfortable and the bed spread and decorative pillows really helped to set it off. There is no air conditioning but the overhead fan was quiet and we found it more than adequate. There are no fridges or microwaves in the rooms, but small communal fridges are located at each end of the short hallway. Our room didn't have a view of the river valley, but rooms across the hall do (we chose the other side to avoid the afternoon sun, but realized later there would not have been an overheating problem with the room fans).

The dining room is intriguing and tastefully done with a definite antique feel. The tables are adorned with white linen tables clothes and full place settings, nicely done! The breakfast was excellent, generous and was served buffet style with several seasonal hot items, pastries, cereals and fresh fruits provided.

We walked across the bridge to the Bonners Ferry downtown and casino for some dinner and R&R and found the walk easy, taking about 10-15 minutes of easy walking. I'd certainly stay at the Northside B&B instead of the hotel at the casino, at least in the non-winter months!

Overall we would stay at the Northside School again without a doubt if/when we stay overnight in Bonners Ferry again. In reality it is more akin to a small boutique hotel then a B&B. It's high rating is well deserved!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FromTheKootenays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonners Ferry hotels
1.8 mi away
Bonners Ferry Log Inn
Bonners Ferry Log Inn
#1 of 4 in Bonners Ferry
187 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dodge Peak Lodge
Dodge Peak Lodge
#3 of 4 in Bonners Ferry
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northside School Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northside School Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6497 Comanche St, Bonners Ferry, ID 83805-7524
Region: United States > Idaho > Bonners Ferry
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bonners Ferry
Price Range: £59 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northside School Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 School House listed on the National Historical Registry. Now offering: 9 Theme Rooms, banquet facilities, ADA access, Wedding gardens, wireless internet, breakfast menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Northside School Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northside School Bed And Breakfast Bonners Ferry, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing