We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Building, Cheap Silverware & Glasses, Typical Buffet”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Dragon Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 84 Restaurants in Caldwell
Cuisines: American, Chinese
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
169 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Old Building, Cheap Silverware & Glasses, Typical Buffet”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The restaurant is in an old free standing building in Caldwell. I would never have tried it since the exterior turns me off. Unkempt parking lot, building needs paint, and a name like Golden Dragon is enough to keep me from entering...but an organization I belong to had a luncheon meeting here I wanted to attend. The service is fabulous and the only reason I gave it a decent rating. The wait staff is attentive, friendly, and sincere. I believe they really do their best to keep the place clean yet when you have old, scratched, and cheap plates, utensils, table, and chairs, you can only do so much. The buffet is mediocre at best. The selection is good with appetizers, soups, rice, noodles, desserts, and basic typical Chinese buffet items and the taste is OK. Yet the ingredients and preparation are not top quality. The beef was awful and had the consistency of mush. The Egg Foo Young was heavy. The fried items salty salty salty. The price was 7.95 for all you can eat. Perhaps the menu items would be the way to order to get hot fresh food but the quality of ingredients was just not there and did not make me want to try it again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StacysMom_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Recent visit”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I have driven past this restaurant many times, so when a friend took me to dinner there I was quite excited. What a let-down. The buffet food was warm, not hot. The deserts were good. There was a good selection of food. Wait staff, were friendly. Definitely not the best Chinese food that I have eatern.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mother2bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst food ever”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Food was greasy and disgustingly processed. Found a hair fried into the crab pop. When I told the waitress she said it doesn't matter it could bw anyones hair and the management wont do anything about it. We wont be back. We we're warned but wanted to form our own opinion. Wish we had listened.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank btanis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
159 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“My family enjoyed the food”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We like to get the diner for four and then combine different meals like Orange Chicken, Ham egg Foo Yong, Sweet and Sour Soup, or Chow main. The shrimp is batter and deep fried. The food is delicious and the service was friendly and fast.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davepamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
234 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not my cup of saki.”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Ok, so I didn't think this was so great because I don't normally eat deep fried food. I will say the the buffet is clean and well stocked. The salad area was a little lacking. The desserts were pretty good. If you wanted a big variety, I think this would fill the bill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebOnVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Dragon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Dragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing