We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clark Fork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast North Idaho
Ranked #1 of 1 Clark Fork B&B and Inns
Moses Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What an amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I were looking for something a little different. We usually stay at local hotels and spend our days hiking and being outside. This time we found a perfect way to enjoy the outdoors and be comfortable all at the same time.

We spent the first day just hiking right from our tent cabin. The next day we hiked Scotchman Peaks--the mountain we could see from our bed!!!

The beds were very nice with feather bed toppers and we stayed more than warm with the flannel sheets and down comforter.

Breakfast was great and served over at the host's homestead. The eggs, sausage, apple cider (oh my goodness, was it good) and jam were all raised on their place. Plus the host's children took us to the garden and helped us gather fresh veges for us to take back to our tent to cook up for dinner.

We really enjoyed the privacy we had and all the little attention to details.

Definitely a great place to stay if you love the outdoors.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colville
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

During our stay I celebrated a birthday. On that day down the trail come two darling children with birthday cupcakes and handpicked flowers. They wore big smiles and sang to me. My heart melted. We had not been camping in many years and this place is perfect especially if you do not want to really ruff it. The owners have thought of everything that you could ever want even flowers and magazines in your little private outhouse. This is the perfect place to come if you really want to leave the world behind. I could go on and on!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MillieColville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here in August, the tent canvases are great, comfy and cozy, the hosts are so generous with their time and knowledge of the area. We stayed two nights, the tents were so nice to stay in, they had a small separate kitchen area, with all the utensils you may need, overall we would highly recommend this to anyone that likes to be outdoors.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Durtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We were looking for a place to getaway from everything and relax after doing the Ironman in Coeur D'Alene. This definitely lived up to that expectation, we had peace and quiet, a beautiful view, and a delicious breakfast every morning, the family even let us pick vegetables from their garden that we used to cook dinner. A wonderful little getaway from the hustle and bustle of life.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Our expectatins were exceeded although we read the great reviews on line. Enjoyed the remoteness, clear skies for star gazing and breathtaking view of Scotchmen's Peak. Attention to details perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FamilyTravellerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, OR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed 1 night here at the end of June (our anniversary). The owners were super friendly and the tent and all the buildings with our tent site were very clean. We had the Mountain View site and had a nice view of Scotchman Peak.

The other 2 tents were rented while we were there but the sites are designed so no one else will ever come through your site and we never saw or even heard anyone else.

We have a Sleep Number bed so I don’t usually comment on bed comfort unless it is really bad or really good. The queen bed in the tent was super comfy. The sites are extremely quiet and peaceful and we slept like babies.

The sites have no electricity and no running water so the shower is a bucket and hose – you pump the water and heat it on the 2-burner propane stove in the camp kitchen – and the bathroom is an outhouse. There are plenty of gas lanterns provided and a flashlight or 2 so you aren’t in total darkness at night unless you want to be.

Breakfast the next morning was very good – scrambled eggs from the owners’ chickens, pancakes, some very good ham (and I really don’t like ham), home-canned peaches and orange juice. Because we had a dog with us, both of us couldn’t go up to the house to eat breakfast so we were going to have to eat in shifts. My husband went up to eat 1st and came back with a tray of food. Since it was our anniversary, the owner made us up a “breakfast in bed” tray so we could eat together.

The only problem we had with this place is that we only stayed the 1 night!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank msdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We love to camp and with new luggage restrictions, it's a pain to fly with our gear. This provided the perfect solution - plus, what could be better than enjoying a campfire cooked feast and then sleeping it off in a REAL bed?
OK - so it's "cheating" a little, but it's private, beautiful, and the owners are a delight. Beds are comfy, outhouses are spotless (and smell that way, too) and pumping and heating water for my shower made me acutely aware of how much water I waste. If an outdoor 5 gallon shower isn't your thing, you can take one in the house, where you'll also get a great breakfast, and entertaining (and for us, staggeringly educational) conversations with the owners.
I cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Liked — "camping" without having to haul gear, cool cook cabin
  • Disliked — Um, no tomatoes in the garden yet? There wasn't anything not to like, seriously.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank peapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast North Idaho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast North Idaho

Property: Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast North Idaho
Address: 180 Thunderbolt Dr, Clark Fork, ID 83811-9726
Region: United States > Idaho > Clark Fork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clark Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wilderness experience with all the comforts of a bed and breakfast.Savor a unique, upscale camping getaway​ with everything you need to relax and enjoy the beauty of our north Idaho wilderness, just 30 miles from scenic Sandpoint, Idaho. Each private campsite features a comfortably furnished tent cabin, fully-equipped camp kitchen, clean & tidy outhouse, outdoor shower and s’mores.Start each morning with a home-grown, farm style breakfast at our solar-powered backwoods homestead. Spend peaceful days exploring the vast wilderness that surrounds you. And at night, relax by your own campfire under the stars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing