We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clark Fork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast North Idaho
Ranked #1 of 1 Clark Fork B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beyond wonderful!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I can't tell you how refreshing it is to stay at HT&B. The most gracious hosts spoke to us for hours on homesteading and everything under the sun. Most beautiful forest, fantastic tent decor and complete camp kitchen with the best retro style. And the organic home grown breakfast is in itself worth it!

Straight out of a magazine!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The BF stumbled across this place while browsing B&B's in Idaho near Lake Pend Oreille - since we have 3 dogs (well, two are chi-mixes, so count those as you will) our vacations either default to canine-free to stay someplace nice, or car-camping to be able take the whole family. Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast was an awesome, awesome find that suited our wants and needs pretty perfectly.

Every other review here does justice to the homestead, the host family, and the incredible lip-smacking, belt-loosening, nap-inducing breakfast.. so I won't dwell. What really struck me as incredible - more so than I've ever experienced at any place, even much pricier/ fancier vacation location hotels - was the extensive attention to detail in anticipating any potential needs. Extra propane for the lights, extra firewood, matches, cooking utensils, dish soap, extra comforter, pillows, towels, bug spray - you name it - already stocked and ready for your use. S'more ingredients? There. Bottled water? Check. Battery operated alarm clock so you don't miss breakfast? Yup. Tiny flashlight hanging from the bedpost for the midnight outhouse run? Of course. Reading material in the outhouse?! Even covered there. Seriously, I was floored..... they thought of anything and everything they could to make our stay at our site comfortable and without having to ask.

Don't get me wrong, glamping is still technically 'camping' - so although 90% of what Huckleberry gives you far outshines your regular tent-camping experience, there is still no bathroom with running water, you have to boil water to wash dishes (but there's a SINK and COUNTER and STOVE to do so), and the 'shower' is a bucket with a spray hose attached - so don't take someone here who's expecting a marble bubble bath, flushing toilet, or electrical outlet to plug their Iphone into. But if you want to enjoy a few private days out in nature away from everyone - and still enjoy most of the comforts of home - this is a fantastic option. Can't wait to go back next summer!

Room Tip: We asked for the site furthest away from the homestead, so the dogs could run around and explore aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ths118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had high expectations for the Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast and they were exceeded! Christine, Timothy and their wonderful children made our stay extra special. We were visiting family in Coeur d'Alene and wanted to get out into the woods. Coming from the east coast with small kids, bringing our own camping gear was not feasible so the set up was perfect for us. Christine and Tim even set up a separate play tent for our kids (5 and 3) complete with legos and trains! They also had an assortment bikes for our kids to use around the farm. We loved being off the grid, the great garden, the amazing breakfasts and exploring the incredible natural beauty nearby. We hope to get back to this special place!

Room Tip: We loved staying in Cedars but I'm sure the other sites are great, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I just spent a night at Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast, and it was a pure delight! Christine and Tim and their entire, lovely family made us feel very welcome. After expressing interest in their homestead, they even took the time to show us around and talk about how they live off-grid. The tent site was superb. It was quiet and private, and the kitchen was stocked with everything from smores incredients to bug spray. The bed in the tent was comfortable, and by shutting the tent flaps we were easily able to stay warm all night. Breakfast the next morning (breakfast burritos) was delicious. Stay here if you want an unforgetably unique B&B experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaMT611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is a really great place. Tim and Chris have created all of this off the grid - so if you are looking for a luxury hotel go somewhere else. But if you want luxurious camping then you have found the right place. Huckleberry is reached by a 1.7 mile well maintained dirt road with lots of signs to direct you so you know you are on the right track. The hill is rather steep but don't be scared you can make it. Once you reach the homestead you will be met by Chris who will take you to your own site where you will find a luxurious tent complete with a great bed, lots of comfortors so you won't be cold, a wood stove with the wood all cut and ready to light, a flashlight on the bedstead, and just in case you forgot your reading material some nice books.
That's not all - there is a complete kitchen with kerosene and coleman lighting, a stove with an oven, all your pots, pans, dishes and etc. Then there are the makings for sMores, cocoa, and coffee. The kitchen is screened and comes with bug repellant in case the skeeters attack you while you are enjoying your campfire. The outhouse has a candle for light and scent, pictures and wreath on the wall. There are games in case you get bored. THEN there is the food. Well for dinner you have to cook your own but you can pick your veggies from the garden - in May there was only lettuce and fabulous fresh asparagus. Breakfast is colossal. Fresh eggs, pancakes, hashbrowns, fresh apple cider etc. You will not need lunch. Don't miss this place.

Room Tip: Any of the three sites are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolBAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed at Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast this last summer. I wanted to make sure that I get this review in before 2013. My husband and I stayed here with my 2 adult sons, my daughter-in law, and our 2 grands. We wanted to do an out-of-door experience fo some time, but had no time to gather together all of the camping equipment, etc., etc. Everything was made very easy for us. The campsites were beautiful and very "thoughtfully" laid out with all of our needs being addressed. The setting is lovely - the organic gardens and the animals were a total pleasure. We did go out on their pond in boats that were provided - that too was a lovely experience. We certainly enjoyed Tim and Christine and their children. It was wonderful to see how they all worked together to give us a great outing. We highly recommend this wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen and Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCammon, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

My 3 sisters and I stayed at Huckleberry in July 2012. We were so taken in how beautiful the campsites were! Everything that we could possible need was there. All we had to do is buy a few groceries. Our hosts Tim and Christine were so friendly and welcoming it was like we were part of their family for the weekend. The breakfasts that were prepared for us were SO yummy! The whole experience is one we will never forget and would love to go back. If you get a chance...I would recommend staying there. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Be sure to pack water proof boots! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khp912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clark Fork
3.1 mi away
Clark Fork Lodge
Clark Fork Lodge
#1 of 1 in Clark Fork
27 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
148 reviews
10.6 mi away
Pend Oreille Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
24.2 mi away
Talus Rock Retreat
Talus Rock Retreat
#1 of 7 in Sandpoint
329 reviews
22.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 6 in Sandpoint
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast North Idaho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast North Idaho

Property: Huckleberry Tent and Breakfast North Idaho
Address: 180 Thunderbolt Dr, Clark Fork, ID 83811-9726
Region: United States > Idaho > Clark Fork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clark Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wilderness experience with all the comforts of a bed and breakfast.Savor a unique, upscale camping getaway​ with everything you need to relax and enjoy the beauty of our north Idaho wilderness, just 30 miles from scenic Sandpoint, Idaho. Each private campsite features a comfortably furnished tent cabin, fully-equipped camp kitchen, clean & tidy outhouse, outdoor shower and s’mores.Start each morning with a home-grown, farm style breakfast at our solar-powered backwoods homestead. Spend peaceful days exploring the vast wilderness that surrounds you. And at night, relax by your own campfire under the stars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing