We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check-In at the Mcfarland to stay in a great home, enjoy great hospitality and a great breakfast !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Check-In at the Mcfarland to stay in a great home, enjoy great hospitality and a great breakfast !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Four of us were headed to Glacier National Park, and stayed at the Mcfarland Inn. It's a stunning home in a beautiful old neighborhood in Coeur d'Alene.

When we rang the bell, Nancy, the owner, answered the door and showed us around. The two rooms that we got were really nice. My boyfriend and I had the Mcfarland room, which had a king bed, and our friends had a nearby room with a queen. Both had private bathrooms within the rooms and were on the upper level.

Nancy had an AC unit going for us, which we promptly shut off and opened the big, old windows to enjoy fresh air and the sounds of Foster Ave. It rained, but there are big overhangs, so you can leave the windows wide open while you sleep with no worry. Our room also had a TV and DVD player - we never even opened the cabinet they were in we were enjoying ourselves to much.

After we got settled, Nancy kindly offered some wine and snacks to be set out for us to enjoy, which were complimentary. We accepted the gesture and enjoyed a couple bottles of wine in the cozy back sun room.

The breakfast was very delicious, had a ton of options and completely filled us up. Nancy was down in the breakfast area chatting with us and with one of the other guests.

I know that we will find ourselves in Coeur D'Alene again someday, and I know that we will be checking in at the Mcfarland.



The only note that I would make is that I don't know what Nancy's kid policy is, but in my opinion, this wouldn't be a good option for people with kids. This is an old house with nice furnishings - it's not a hotel with a pool where you can walk through with wet feet. In addition, I think that most people check in as couples expecting a romantic feel (which we had) or as singles looking for quiet respite. There were no kids there when we stayed.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed being on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MN_PAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    15
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
10
100
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed in the McFarland room for one night en route to Glacier NP and had a very enjoyable experience. Here are the pluses:
- The B&B was in a very central location - about 5-6 short blocks from the main drag (Sherman Avenue) and just another block from the lakefront.
- Nancy, the proprietor, was very friendly and provided helpful recommendations on dinner, and engaged the guests in pleasant conversation over breakfast.
- There was a full-size refrigerator to store guests' food, which is not something available at every B&B in which I've stayed.
- The room was very comfortable; huge king-sized bed; strong wi-fi in the room. I was tired after a long day of travel and fell asleep almost instantly.
- There were lots of snacks throughout the common areas; I only had a glass of wine from the wine & cheese hour, but it's truly a snackers' delight.
- Breakfast was great. I'm admittedly not a picky eater, but I thought the food was good, and the sunroom setting was wonderful (even on a drizzly morning)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Generally would give good marks for the hostess (friendly, helpful), public amenities (many - make that outstanding - different types of snacks, drinks, lounging areas, excellent breakfast buffet). I was able to store our ice chest contents in the public full sized freezer/refrigerator which is a definite plus. Location is excellent (walking distance to main street with restaurants, lake). We stayed in the Coeur d'Alene room which is affecting my rating. This room is on the main floor and is adjacent to the kitchen. You can hear noises from the kitchen in the bathroom and I presume vice versa. The bathroom is not as functional as it could be. No place to put our toiletries (pedestal sink) so I had to balance my cases on the heating radiator (fortunately heat wasn't turned on). I don't know where Tom put his (the floor?). Would recommend that some shelving be put by the sinks. There were cabinets by the opposing tub but you still need places to put your contact lens stuff, toothbrushes, etc. The room was smallish but did have a desk, chairs, comfortable bed, good reading lights. Additional problem was we could hear the upstairs occupants walking across the floor all night - fortunately this stopped relatively early. I believe I would give a higher rating had we been in one of the larger (presumably) rooms upstairs with less noise and more privacy.

Room Tip: Don't select the Coeur d'Alene room if you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyssf2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
The Coeur d’Alene Room is 16’ x 15’ with 10’ceilings. The room is large enough for a queen sized poster bed, bedside tables with lamps and drawers, a desk with chair, lounge chair with reading lamp and end table, and a large TV cabinet with drawer space. All of these things are out of the way of the traffic pattern which makes it easy to move around. The room has a walk-in closet with four shelves and two luggage racks. Guests can place their suit cases in the closet and still have room to walk in. The bathroom is 9’x5’ at the narrowest point and 9’x9’ at the widest point. There are a total of 9 shelves in this bathroom. Eight of them are in a cabinet directly across from the sink. One is to your right hand side as you stand at the sink. You can reach this shelf without moving from the sink. There is a toothbrush holder on this shelf. In my opinion there is no need to balance your cases on the radiator as there is ample room closer to the sink.
The reviewer makes assumptions about things she has not experienced. First, the only noise from the bathroom that can be heard from the kitchen is water running, i.e. the shower and sink. Privacy is not an issue as no sounds at all can be heard from the kitchen. Second, the rooms are not larger upstairs. There are four rooms upstairs and they are anywhere from 14’x15’ to 13’x13’. This is an old, historic house. Although I remodeled it with privacy and convenience in mind, there are different configurations of rooms and bathrooms that were a challenge to work around. I believe I was successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We generally try to use B&B's if the trip allows. The McFarland Inn was one of our all-time favorites. The location was excellent--about a 10-15 minute walk to the downtown area. Unless you absolutely want to stay on the water, this is a great location--away from all the noise and people. Beautiful backyard and rocking chairs on the front porch. Excellent breakfasts and ubiquitous homemade cookies. Nancy was quite helpful in giving us information about things we were considering. We used her bikes to ride the Lake Coeur d'Alene portion of the Centennial Trail. Good strong shower and a bathtub for me. My husband and I could think of absolutely nothing to criticize.

Room Tip: We stayed in Huckleberry Room--very quiet and enough space to spread out over four nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
532 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have nothing but praise for Nancy and the Mcfarland Inn. My husband and I were in town for a few days to have a couple get away. Our flight was late arriving into Spokane and we arrived extremely late to the B&B. This was no issue for Nancy. Most B&Bs would not have allowed us to arrive so late.

The breakfast were amazing. All very good and fresh. We had three breakfast and all were different. The constant was the fresh fruit. YUMM.

We were thrilled to use the bikes the Inn provided to stroll around town. Helmets were even provided.

Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. We stay at many B&Bs and the extras here are wonderful. TV with VHS & DVD players in the room. A huge selection of VHS & DVDs. Free Wifi. Top notch towel and soaps. The wine and cheese hours at night. Access to the full house. Even a guest refrigerator. Free water and sodas. She even allows you to have food and drinks in your room. She also had a hand held steamer and allowed me to use it on my dress.

We stayed in the Huckleberry room and it has a clawfoot tub; one of the main reasons I booked that room. I enjoyed my bath. It was a highlight of our stay.

Downtown and the lake are walkable to the Inn.

I honestly have nothing bad to say about our stay. I wish we could stay longer.

I have seen a few people complain about Nancy's rules here on TripAdvisor. The only "rules" I knew about were:
1) You can't use the kitchen. That is a law so not really Nancy's rule. The kitchen is an industrial kitchen used to make food for guest. Not everyone can have access to it.
2) You have to eat breakfast in certain hours. I don't remember the exact hours but it was like a 3 hour window. Again didn't see that as a rule but more of a way for Nancy to have a life. Who wants to be making breakfast all day for guest?
3) You have to sign up for breakfast time the night before. Again, I just saw it as a courtesy to Nancy versus a rule. She needs to know when you are going to eat.

When we are back in the area we will stay here. There is no reason to try any other resort or B&B. For the price this place is amazing. Thank you Nancy for the great job and helping us enjoy our trip to your corner of the World.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me9247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Haven't been to a B&B we didn't like---they all top hotels---but this one stands out. Nancy Harper is the most gracious hostess. There was water, Pepsi, candy, cookies, wine and cheese---and scrumptious individually prepared breakfasts, with variety. We hit some bad weather, but it didn't matter. We had the use of an extensive part of this beautiful house, in addition to our super comfy bed and bedroom. The bathroom was four-star. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Mcfarland Inn for two nights. The food and amenities were fantastic. However, the owner was a bit abrupt and pert. She didn't seem to be comfortable with people being there. There seemed to be some control issues. If that doesn't matter to you, then it would okay. If you are looking for something a little more personal you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avsfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coeur d'Alene Inn
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 601 East Foster Avenue, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The McFarland Inn Bed & Breakfast is one of the most elegant, historic homes in Coeur d’Alene. Built in 1905, we are located on a quiet, tree lined street within walking distance of the lake, park and downtown attractions. For its 100th birthday, the home was completely renovated to add 21st century amenities while maintaining its original charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McFarland Inn Bed And Breakfast Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing