We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Big dissapointment”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

"Economy Annex" would be better termed Staff Quarters.Our $200.00 room was smelly ,small & the Air conditioning sucked(or rather didn't).WIFI didn't work & we were not pleased to find a long hair on the spare pillow.I don't know how dirty it realy was but the general effect left us feeling uncomfortable & itchy.We have stayed at many hotels and resorts both in Europe & North America & have never felt more cheated.

Room Tip: Unless you are using the resorts Golf or Marina facilities stay somewhere else.We would recommend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PatriciaC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Your comments are appreciated as we are currently reviewing many renovation options for the Annex. The hotel offers a wide variety of accommodation options for our diverse clientele and it is important that all of our rooms reflect the quality and comfort that is important to our Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    259
    130
    86
    68
See reviews for
317
525
31
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I accompanied my husband for his business-trip to Coeur d'Alene. The hotel is beautiful, and there is a golfcourse, boats for hire, hiking possiblities. Our plan was to stay here a few days longer, but the weather was terrible, so after his meetings we went to Seattle. Much more to do and to see.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astridvandermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Thank you for your review. Hopefully the weather will be nicer if you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Coeur D' Alene is a towering resort on the beautiful Lake Coeur D' Alene. We had a bit of trouble checking in after traveling for nearly 12 hours and then having to wait to check-in. I can't remember if check-in was 5 or 6 o'clock p.m., but I know we did not have enough time to rest and shower before our first planned event even though we arrived around 2:30 p.m.

Our room was quite small with a limited view. Out of our group of four or five couples, we had the smallest. Most of our group had a large junior suite with balcony. Despite the size of the room, it was nice, comfy, modern and clean. Maid service could be late -- one day she did not come until 5:30 p.m. despite the fact we had been out of the room the entire day.

The resort has several reasonably priced activities on-site or very close. We rented a boat one day and enjoyed the majestic lake. Another day, we rented kayaks and took a beautiful kayak trip around the lake. There is a small shallow pool right at the hotel ont he roof of the cocktail lounge, but it is not very attractive and is surrounded by a wooden deck and the hotel itself. A water taxi is available to take you to the pool at the golf course -- maybe a five minute ride.

We did not eat at the hotel because the city, itself, has many fun and/or fine dining establishments. We did eat at the floating steak house, which is owned by the hotel but off-site, and that was nice. My salmon, suggested by the waitress, was the special of the day and fantastic. I'm not crazy about the salad bar for the price of the meal (why would I want a salad bar when I am ordering a $30 meal?) But, many in our group thought it was wonderful.

I did visit the spa on a rainy day. The massage I had (hot rock) was wonderful, but the prices were very steep even for a resort facility. The spa itself was tranquil, but lacked some of the great amenities I have had at other spas (nice showers, better lounge area for women only, etc.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magg1ema3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
I appreciate you sharing your comments with us. Hopefully once you got checked in you were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Coeur d'Alene Resort has its share of celebrities, so said an article in the local paper. The rest of us who constitute the hoi polloi get a mixed level of service. Our family of four reserved a first floor room overlooking the marina. The room was spacious and beautiful and quiet. The beds were comfy yet small (double-sized), so the first night our kids tried the pull-out. They abandoned that idea the remainder of our trip since the pull-out was lumpy and cold due to one thin ugly moth-eaten blanket they were provided.

Four days into our stay we ran out of toilet paper. The maids didn't leave extra toilet paper or anticipate that we would need more each day, so we had to call housekeeping to beg for more. We'd asked for extra towels on our first day but didn't get them until my husband finally complained to the manager about the hit-and-miss maid service. One or two days the garbage cans weren't emptied, the room wasn't vacuumed, the tissue wasn't replenished, and no extra soaps were left for the shower. These problems by themselves would be minor but they all added up to a major annoyance, especially since we were paying $400 per night. We may not be celebrities, but if we're paying high-class rates we expect high-class service.

The manager was helpful and kind. The staff were definitely quite friendly as well. This is a beautiful resort and I highly recommend taking the water taxi out to the golf course and the Infinity pool. Skip the indoor pool -- it's freezing cold and noisy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATravelingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, and also for the constructive criticism. I have shared your comments with our management team so we can address the issues you have brought up. I hope you will visit us again and that your stay will be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I have stayed in this hotel for a couple of days and i have actually fell in love with this place and the view from my room was amazing,, i used to wake up seeing a beautiful lake in front of my eyes... love it simply love it.....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyanka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
We are happy you loved your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I have stayed at this resort a number of times over the past few years and it has been nothing short of perfect on every trip. The resort itself is always in pristine condition, every square inch of copper (and there is lots of copper) is polished, every cover in the marina is bright blue and clean, every room is spotless.

The golf course is a GREAT resort golf course. The rough is fairly short, you play with a forecaddie for the group, the golf carts are the most amazing golf carts I have ever seen. This course is a must play if you are in the area, just for the floating green. They have also added an infinity pool at the golf course that is a pretty nice way to spend a few hours.

I am there for business and my customers RAVE about the experience. This place would also be great for couples looking to get away, a group of girls looking for a relaxing weekend, a group of men looking for a great golf get away or even families looking for a vacation.

Room Tip: Book one with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
I am glad you have enjoyed your stays at the resort. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We found this resort to be poorly maintained and over priced. We spent some time with reservations deciding which room to reserve. We paid for a lake view only to find out our room over looked the indoor pool (no view), smelled of clorine. and was noisy starting at 6:30AM. However, Coeur d'Alene was a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry about the room not being what you were told you were getting. I will let the reservation manager know and hopefully we can prevent this from happening in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coeur d'Alene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Property: The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Address: 115 S 2nd St, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2738
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coeur d'Alene Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimately there is something magical about a visit to The Coeur d'Alene... With idyllic landscape, year-round activities, and its spectacular setting at the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, it is no wonder that Coeur d'Alene has been christened the "Playground of the Northwest". We have mastered the art of relaxation. With luxurious accommodations, rejuvenating spa treatments, sumptuous cuisine, and breathtaking holiday displays, this four-star resort continues to be the destination of choice for discerning travelers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Coeur d'Alene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Coeur d Alene Resort Coeur d Alene
The Coeur D'Alene Resort Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing