We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swell place, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Swell place, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I've stayed here a number of times on business, at various times of the year, and it has never disappointed me. Rooms have always been interesting in their layout, as well as comfortable, quiet and well-appointed. I have eaten at two of their restaurants for breakfast, lunch, dinner and sunday brunch, and the views are spectacular, the food has always been great, with the only negative being that sometimes the young people working in the restaurant don't seem to be all that excited about being there. Parking in their garage is convenient. More about Sunday brunch: in this region(I live about 2 hours away) Sunday brunch is often a spotty affair. The Coeur d'Alene resort always does a first class job of it, including separate stations for omlettes, crepes, and meat slicing. The arrangement of the buffet tables is such that it almost never seems crowded, and the buffet staff is always helpful and cheery, typical of folks in northern Idaho. Make reservations, but when you have a reservation they get you in very close to on time if not exactly. More about the staff: on a recent brunch only visit a disinterested young waitress forgot to return my credit card, and I was too distracted with family to notice. The next day the hotel staff turned this negative into a positive: the security guy I spoke with confirmed that the card had been turned over to him, and we discussed possibilities for getting it back to me, since I was leaving on a trip in a couple of days and didn't want to go through the process of getting a new one. Security put me in touch with the Concierge who couldn't have been more helpful. She arranged a Fedex pickup and the card was back in my hands in 24 hours. Bottom line: these people are willing to go the extra mile to help out a guest, all you have to do is ask.

Room Tip: Lake view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank russelltrunzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor.com. We are so glad to hear all the good times you have had at our property. We look forward to you returning very soon to The Coeur d'Alene Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    253
    126
    85
    66
See reviews for
307
521
28
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This resort is located on the lake with beautiful vistas. We stayed in a lakefront room on the third floor with an outdoor spa on the balcony. You simply cannot beat the views from this location anywhere in the country. But for that you pay a hefty price. I was happy to see that you can self park in the garage for a fee, but you do not have to use the valet service for an even higher fee. This made coming and going a lot easier. The visit adds up quickly with all the different fees and taxes and particularly if you eat in the restaurant Beverly, which we did. The food is good but not what I would call five star. Take the time to go to the golf course whether you play golf or not. It is absolutely beautiful. No doubt one of the finest courses in the country. Then again, it should be for the greens fees they charge. In summary, a very good hotel with an unbeatable location. It is a very busy place, so book your room early if you want a good selection.

Room Tip: Splurge for a lakefront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your review of The Coeur d'Alene Resort. Every positive review gives our staff motivation to work even harder at bettering our Guest's experiences. We hope to see you return soon, possibly for a round of golf this time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I went here for a business retreat recently. It was great - beautiful location, spacious rooms, and great service. I enjoyed walking around the boardwalk and getting a tour of the wine cellars. We did a dinner cruise one night around Lake Coeur d'Alene; it was beautiful. We had enough people that we rented the whole boat as kind of a team-building activity, but individuals can also go on cruises for the general public.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Coeur d'Alene this summer. We hope to see you return again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Bad:
The price is similar to the Ritz, Four Seasons or Mandarin but it is definately a few steps below in service. We checked in and found we had two double beds for 2 adults and 2 children. We asked and even offered to pay for a king room upgrade which the checkin girl said she would work on. They never got back to us in the 4 days we were there. They have inexperienced concierges who have never heard of Chef D'or and one was 3 days on the job and the other 6 weeks. They apologize for being new but that doesn't help when you seek advice about the area.

The valet lost our keys making us 45 minutes late for dinner one evening. On checkout day a main water pipe busted on the floor above us sending us scattering to get our luggage and check out in time to avoid getting wet. After all these incidents not once did we hear the words we're sorry or please accept our apologies. It seems that as nice as they are there is no one training the staff in upper level customer service. They want to be a high end hotel but lack the training necessary to make it to the next level.

The Good:
The food was delicious, convenient in town location and good shuttle service to the pool and great hiking trails right outside the resort. If you pay $ for the lake view make sure you get a high room otherwise your view will be the blue canopies covering all the boats at the docks which is distracting especially for what you are paying.

Room Tip: If you pay the big $ to have a lake view suite, ask for an upper level floor. otherwise you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
First off, thank you for your honest review about our property. We take each and every comment into mind and follow up with the appropriate staff described. I am sorry to hear your experiences with our staff members was not up to your ideal high-end hotel. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future to create better memories at The Coeur d'Alene Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at! Beautiful view, great resteraunt, amazing room...the list could go on forever! The service was soooooo quick and friendly. Also the room wa spacious and well...perfect! My favorite part was taking the complimentary double eagle boat over to the golf course. The pools were also amazing! To be honest, I could not find flaw in this amazing, beautiful place!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelGuru913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
I am so glad to hear your stay with us was perfect. We strive to make each Guest's experience a great one! Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, MT
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

From the bottom to the top... all resort team members/personnel got the memo! Absolutely famously thee BEST ... Rooms with a view, 5 Starr restaurants, complete SPA, International boutique shops .... and... Old fashioned western hospitality ...hold your breath and relax!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We really love the feedback from our Guests. Come stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a very good resort but go in knowing that it is not the Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons and you will be fine! The rooms overlooking the lake are worth the price and very nicely equipped with a sunken living room, free wifi that works, dimmer switches on all the lights, and great beds. The desk folks and most of the customer facing staff are very young and enthusiastic, but maybe not as experienced if something goes wrong. We checked in at 1am and our first floor room had wet carpets (and a very bad odor) from a burst pipe flooding problem a day earlier. It also had no view of the lake which I had asked for, just the boats in the marina. We slept in it and requested a change the next morning and they were responsive, including moving all our stuff for us to a sixth floor room with a great view. Eventually, when I inquired at checkout, they comped the night with the wet floors. Kind of thought I shouldn't have had to ask about it. Restaurants are good (Cedars, the floating restaurant on the meal plan was the best). Coffee bar was very convenient, shops nice, view terrific. Its a crowded place and a very busy lobby. Fifteen weddings the weekend we were there. And the golf course... outstanding shape, friendly to play, and unparalleled condition and amenities. If you are there for a short stay, get the food package with the room since there are several eating options. A room with the golf package is really a good deal when you look at what greens fees are separately.

Room Tip: Higher floors...better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Coeur d'Alene Resort. Our staff is very glad to hear we turned your stay around after your experience with the wet carpets. That was such an unfortunate event to happen, especially during our sold out nights. Thank you for your honest review, we look forward to you returning in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coeur d'Alene Inn
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coeur d'Alene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Property: The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Address: 115 South 2nd Street, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coeur d'Alene Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimately there is something magical about a visit to The Coeur d'Alene... With idyllic landscape, year-round activities, and its spectacular setting at the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, it is no wonder that Coeur d'Alene has been christened the "Playground of the Northwest". We have mastered the art of relaxation. With luxurious accommodations, rejuvenating spa treatments, sumptuous cuisine, and breathtaking holiday displays, this four-star resort continues to be the destination of choice for discerning travelers worldwide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Coeur d Alene Resort Coeur d Alene
The Coeur D'Alene Resort Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing