We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spaces and places - staff merit more training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
211 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful spaces and places - staff merit more training”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is a lovely building with excellent views and great public spaces (in general - see below). Staff and amenity description however might do better. A few too many glitches for such a lovely place. Concierge knew only about shopping, nothing about hiking or biking, and only marginally about watersports (just outside the door!). Room information spoke glowingly about the outdoor pool and pointed it out next to the marina - but that pool is closed and replaced by one accessible by boat or drive (but even that was closed on recent Sat afternoon, making no outdoor pool available on warm day - indoor pool is nice, but...). Staff couldn't agree about how to get to the distant pool - front desk said boat shuttle available only to golfers, operator said to take the boat, and the (very nice) boat drivers said of course non-golfers could go. No one at front desk (three desks) at check out time?
Restaurant with great views and imaginative and excellent food - but service here too that kept forgetting items (including an ordered dessert).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com. It disappoints me to hear you had so many issues during your stay with us. With the many changes in the hotel layout as well as hotel policies since the remodel the staff has struggled keeping up. We strive to make every guest's stay perfect and I hope you will come back to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    261
    131
    88
    69
See reviews for
319
533
31
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
keller, tx
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in the Coeur d'Alene resort on July 3rd. I had made the reservation online for a standard 2 queen bedroom with a "limited view". When we arrived they said we had been upgraded. They put us in a room on the 11th floor with unbelievable views! We overlooked the lake on one side and on the other the downtown area. The room itself was great! The kids were excited to see that it had 2 levels. The beds are on the upper level of the room with a window seat in the corner. The sitting room level had a huge picture window to take in the views. There was a balcony attached, and the room also had a fireplace.The bathroom was large and luxurious. There are 2 sinks that are separate from the shower/bath/toilet area. That sure helps a family of 4 to get ready fast! The rooms were clean and well maintained. I am incredibly picky and I didn't have any concerns. The best part of our room was the entertainment! The view from our picture window was of the marina and the lake. We were able to watch the sailboats, jet skis, float planes, and para-sailing. We were there until checkout time (noon) on the 4th. We could sit at the window seat overlooking the town and watch the 4th of July parade. Then we were able to watch the sailboat parade from the picture window and balcony.The resort itself has plenty of things to do. We had a great time walking around the marina and dock. The town was full of shopping and restaurants, and all within walking distance. I wish we had been able to stay one more night, we would have had a perfect view of the fireworks!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank il0vetexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
It really thrills me to hear how enjoyable your stay was this summer at The Coeur d'Alene Resort. Our location is definitely unbeatable with all of the water activities, shopping and nightlife feet from the front doors. Hopefully we will see your family here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
317 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

If you're passing through Coeur d'Alene and want the flavor of a great lakeside restaurant that's casual and reasonably priced, have lunch at the Dockside in the classy Coeur d'Alene Resort. Parking in their garage is complimentary when you eat there. Ask for a window table. The floor to ceiling glass provides a lovely view of the water and marina on beautiful Lake Coeur d'Alene.

One of the best salad bars I've ever experienced is at the Dockside. It's a complete meal in itself. Only $10.99 or $4.99 with an entree. Fruit salad, chicken salad, green salad, rolls, soup, veggies and cream puffs are but a few items to whet your appetite. Their pistachio salad is to die for. Everything's freshly prepared and attractively presented in a long buffet.

As if that's not enough, I ordered (and split with a friend) the Turkey Avocado Melt with homemade cranberry chutney. Absolutely delicious and the French fries were outstanding. Service was good, too.

It's easy to rave about the Dockside. Bright and cheery with a water view and fantastic food. The perfect setting for a special lunch.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PanoramaPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your reviewon TripAdvisor, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at our Dockside restaurant. Hopefully you will be able to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had an amazing week at this resort. To start off, when making our reservations, we mentioned we were staying there for our honeymoon, and they went way out of their way to upgrade our room. We ended up in room 1479, and I will absolutely request the exact same room every time we return. The view was incredible. In one direction the breathtaking lake, in the other, the city lights, and straight down was the marina and the ever busy boat dock. The room itself was clean and spacious, with a deck compete with lounge furniture. The bathroom, vanity, and closet were all large and the living area was seperated down by a few stairs, giving it the feel of a seperated space. The couch faces out of the large bay window. The resort was very lively with enough different resaurants, bars, and activities to do something new every day. We were their for a week and never ate at the same place twice, and each meal was more delish than the last. Of course, you must visit the little down town area just a block from the resort. Its filled with everything from little yogurt shops, art gallaries, resaurants, shops and everything in between. There are always people walking, yet it maintains its relaxed feel. Don't forget to rent some jet ski's. There are several vendors near by that rent them at very affordable prices. A can't miss for exploring the 30 mile lake and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us in Coeur d'Alene. It thrills me to hear how enjoyable your stay with us was. Hopefully you will return for your anniversary, or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendora, Mississippi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

While I am a pet lover..I just don't like to sleep where other people pets have slept. I have 6 outside dogs. I would have inside pets but I am allergic to them. I complained to the front desk of the smell in my room. They said they would take care of the problem..NO...Couldn't move us because they have no other rooms available that are not pet friendly...Also, a King bed with no bathtub...REALLY....Nice shower. But do they not know that women have a hard time showering without a step or some sort of foot rest...Other than that..It is a lovely hotel situated on a beautiful lake..So, unless pet dander does not bother you...Stay here. If you have allergies like I do...Stay somewhere that is not pet friendly or at least have designated rooms for pets.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyboo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com. I am sorry to hear about the situation you had with your room. We strive to make every Guest's stay care-free and it seems we let you down. I hope you would give us a second chance to get you a pet-free room as well as a bathtub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was our first trip to Coeur d'Alene. We stayed at the resort for five nights and were very sorry to leave. We had a room in the tower and the view of the lake was outstanding. We had expected a lot of noise due to the closeness of the lake and marina but found that all noise from the outside was eliminated when the windows and balcony door were closed. Our room was lovely and easily accommodated our family of four. The furnishings and bedding seemed new and were very comfortable. My only small complaint would be related to the two double beds - 2 queen-sized beds would be preferable. We also found the service at the resort to be great. The Wifi did not work in our room when we arrived and when we contacted front desk staff they promptly had a router brought to our room to solve the problem.

We found the food available at the resort to be very good. The Dockside Restaurant was particularly great for breakfast and lunch.

One of our favourite parts of the resort was the outdoor infinity pool near the golf course. The boat service to the pool/golf course was very convenient as well as a fun way to enjoy the lake. Although others have complained that golfers took priority on the boats over guests using only the pool, a shuttle service by land was also available to go to the pool.

We would definitely return to the resort in the future! I would recommend booking a lakeside tower room as the experience of waking up to the beautiful view of the lake and being able to stand out over it on your balcony was fabulous.

Room Tip: Book a lake view tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
I am so glad to hear how wonderful your stay at The Coeur d'Alene Resort was this summer. Our staff greatly appreciates the positive feedback from our hotel Guests. Thank you for you review, and I hope to see you return for another stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The resort is located on a beautiful and picturesque lake. The lakefront rooms have great balconies and a great view. The rooms are ok with some upgrades such as the bathroom but the furniture is a little shabby. We had a mix up with our rooms, they were not adjoining and the other room did not have a lake view. We had to get the manager involved to solve the problem. We got a lake view the next night, but not adjoining rooms. The outdoor pool is off site and with little ones it was a bit of a problem with the wait for the bus or boat getting back and forth. You can get there by boat, which is awesome. The pool was also closed one day because of a wedding which we thought was odd. The food in the restaurants on the property was very good. The location is great but we were a little disappointed in the staff and service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linadal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com. As a manager, it is disappointing to hear your stay was not the smooth, relaxing one we strive to create for each of our Guests. We would love for you to come back and allow us to make up for the mishaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
843 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coeur d'Alene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Property: The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Address: 115 S 2nd St, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2738
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coeur d'Alene Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimately there is something magical about a visit to The Coeur d'Alene... With idyllic landscape, year-round activities, and its spectacular setting at the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, it is no wonder that Coeur d'Alene has been christened the "Playground of the Northwest". We have mastered the art of relaxation. With luxurious accommodations, rejuvenating spa treatments, sumptuous cuisine, and breathtaking holiday displays, this four-star resort continues to be the destination of choice for discerning travelers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Coeur d'Alene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Coeur d Alene Resort Coeur d Alene
The Coeur D'Alene Resort Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing