We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superficially nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This comes across as a nice place that aspires to be a luxury resort and just can't quite pull it off. The facility is impressive to say the least with nice shops and restaurants. It would be a great place to browse or enjoy a drink. The magic wears off fast after you check in. Our lakeside view consisted of about 30 feet of lake and a bird's eye view of a huge construction site. We traveled with a mother and son who had reserved a room with two beds. Upon arrival, they were assigned a room with one bed and a choice of cot or air mattress. Our room was OK but not outstandingly so. The amenities were mediocre to low side except for the service bar that offered a variety of snacks at inflated prices (Three bucks for a pack of gum? Come on, now.) I tried to leave a wakeup call but, unfortunately, the bedside phone didn't work. I settled for a nice brisk shower after I got tired of trying to regulate water temperature with a wobbly control handle. I rated this place average only because it's nice downstairs. The overall experience leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sungron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to the Resort. We value the constructive comments from our Guests and will respond appropriately to the improvement suggestions referenced in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,110 - 1,116 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We just celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary and our gift to ourselves was a special night at the CDA Resort.
It was without a doubt very special indeed.
The staff is wonderful, always there to be of help in any way they can.
The room was 5 Star with everything you can imagine you might need including a a nice little gas fireplace plus the fantastic view of the lake.
This place could become a habit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Congratulations on your 50th wedding anniversary celebration! We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort to celebrate many, many more wedding anniversary's and great family memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Spent three nights with my daughter at this outstanding resort that I have been visiting every couple of years since it opened. In fact, my first visit was in 1986 prior to it's grand opening, when the staff were in training mode. The service was amazing then, and it has remained so ever since. We enjoyed two beautiful mornings walking along the lake and around the lovely Tub's Hill Park, which is right next door, and the afternoons at it's newly renovated spa. Thank you to Julie, the promotions coordinator, for combining two different spa packages that allowed us to enjoy the stay, meals, and spa offerings for a great price. She went out of her way to make it the best value possible, and to ensure that we were well looked after. It was a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bdwedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your visit to the Resort. I will pass along your compliments to Julie in our special promotions department. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

First time I ever had electric curtains to open the lake view from the bed! Everything was excellent including the neat walkway around the yacht basin. Only one thing needed improvement--the front desk staff were inattentive and not very friendly. Once we got past them, the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petersox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for being our Guest and your kind comments regarding your stay. I will follow up with the front desk staff regarding service improvements and appreciate you sharing this information with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Coeur d'Alene for a little get away. We are locals and have watched the Resort evolve over a period of thirty years. At one time, this was "the place to stay". However, now it is just another okay hotel on a beautiful lake. The room was outdated, not very clean, and there was mold in the shower. The refurbished lobby is not very inviting. When we have friends from out of town ask where to stay in Coeurd Alene, we have always recommended the Coeur d'Alene Resort. From now on, we will recommend the new hotels at Riverstone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parisparisparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We value constructive comments from our Guests and will follow up appropriately to your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a night stay at the resort, and it was wonderful. We enjoyed a tour of their many wine rooms with a great sommelier, then had dinner at Beverly's. The food and service were excellent! I have eaten at steak houses all over the country, and the filet I had rivals the filet I had at XO steak house (read the review).
The room was beautiful and the view was even better. We also did a one hour couples massage, which made us both feel like butter afterwards. Everyone on the staff at the hotel was very accommodating and cheerful. My only regret is not staying longer to enjoy the rest of the amenities and activities in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RestlessButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your recent visit to the Resort. We look forward to your return and spending some extra time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Service is outstanding but the rooms are dated and poorly maintained. I grew up spending summers on the lake and just took my family back to spend a few days. We got a king, lake view, fire place room (#1574) very disappointed in the cleanliness and how dated the room was, it had the appearance of a bad Motel 6. Beverly's has great wine program but food that is over salted and poorly prepared we had two meals both were tragic. The staff is incredible and are what you would expect from the proclaimed "greatness" Hagadone could spend a bit of time looking at the rooms and get ride of the chef as it tastes like the food is made by a chain smoking diner cook that is trying to hard.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank JWolff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug B, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your Resort experience with us. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the outstanding service you received from our staff. Additionally, I have shared your notes regarding the quality of your meals and the condition of your room with the respective managers for their awareness and appropriate corrective action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
882 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coeur d'Alene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Address: 115 S 2nd St, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2738
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range: £132 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coeur d'Alene Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimately there is something magical about a visit to The Coeur d'Alene... With idyllic landscape, year-round activities, and its spectacular setting at the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, it is no wonder that Coeur d'Alene has been christened the "Playground of the Northwest". We have mastered the art of relaxation. With luxurious accommodations, rejuvenating spa treatments, sumptuous cuisine, and breathtaking holiday displays, this four-star resort continues to be the destination of choice for discerning travelers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Coeur d'Alene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Coeur d Alene Resort Coeur d Alene
The Coeur D'Alene Resort Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing