We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel to stay in CDA for location, accomodation, food & service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best hotel to stay in CDA for location, accomodation, food & service”
Reviewed 19 December 2009

I have so much praise for this hotel that I break it into sections:

Location:
This property is located directly ON the Lake right where the town meets the lake. This location is the main reason to be in CDA so the only place I would want to be staying
It is beside the town beach Park where the museum is located 5 min. walk from front lobby door.

On the other side of the hotel, It is only a few steps to the start of Tubbs Hill Trail.


The main bonus of the location are the views from your room and the restaurants. I saw the location of a few other hotels such as the Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn,etc Their location was poor...I just don't see the point of staying at any of them.oas they was far away from the Lake

We were there for a week-long conference. My husband worked while I got to play So we have two perspectives

Accomodation:

We stayed in a 6th floor Premier room. It had a panoramic view of the down the length of the lake. It is tucked into tree covered mountains and is great for watching pretty skies at sunset and sunrise since it has a north/south orientation. In addition to the full wall window, there is a good sized balcony.
There is a generous 2 room bathroom complex. Lots of storage space. In addition, the upper level has a King bed. .You have to see it to fully appreciate the innovative, inteligent design of this rroom/suite. The bed area overlooks the sunken living room .. The result is you have the panoramic view from the bed or 2 steps down from the confortable living room. To top it off, you can lie in bed and using the remote control you can open your drapes to check out the weather....
It is spacious and comfortable for in-room dining. The coffe table converts to a higher level dining table.
We did observe that the best way to stay at this property is definetly the Premier room,preferably lake view( we reserved a premier but upon arrival got the lakeview
We stayed for a week and enjoyed having the same housekeeper every day- Evelyn provided a high quality service. She rembered our preferences and stocked the room accordingly. (eg - we prefer decaf coffee. She remebered all week-long.)

Food:
A perfect view and the comfort of our own space resulted in us doing room service a number of times. The room service menu is varied and affordable. The quality was excellent. Very good value combined with excellent cuisine and presentation. As a side note, the menu is vefetarian-friendly. The delivery staff were very professional.
Dockside has great views and a varied menu. Try for the window tables as the view is an enjoyable part of the meal. They offered good value special such as 'date night' and seasonal menus. Everything was well-prepared and presented

We had intended to go to Bererly's however we found that our experience with in-room dining was preferable. We had the great same view afterall.

After all this praise, I caution, this was our experience. The reviews are typically up and down on TA. So we went into the trip with modest expectations, To our great pleasure our expectations were much exceeded. So perhaps going in with the same attitude will find you delighted as well

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halifaxduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    259
    130
    86
    68
See reviews for
317
525
31
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

The one best thing this resort has is the employees seem to care about giving great service.
The management/owners really need to take a close look. How about some new carpet and furniture instead of more lights on the docks? The place is filthy dirty! That is the nicest I can be! The carpets and furniture in the common area and lounges are terrible.
The resort is the only place in town for the local teens to go on prom night. It gets the corporate conventions cause its the only place with the square footage to facilitate, but if there was any competition this place would be dead!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SailinMom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Stayed here one night for my boyfriend's birthday. We were upgraded to a room with a nicer view and were given chocolate covered strawberries with a nice card from the manager. The room was smaller but very cozy and comfortable, with a gorgeous view and window seat. Also, the bathroom had heated tile floors, which was nice.

We also did a couple's massage in the spa and that was out of this world! The spa itself was breath-taking and the views were no exception. The locker rooms were also immaculate and very elegant. The massage room we were in was truly remarkable as well, with a fireplace, beautiful chandelier...it was lovely!

Also, the Christmas lights festival was fun to see as well!

From making the reservation, to checking in, to the spa and restaurants, everyone was was incredibly nice and helpful.

I give this resort an A+.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA State
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Right on the Cour d'Alene Lakefront, this resort has everything. The rooms are immaculate and very very nice. They open up to a small deck overlooking the lake and boat slips. We awoke in the morning to snow and it was a beautiful sight. Great workout facility too. Way better than other hotels. Very nice clean pool and spa.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koenig12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Before booking this hotel where I was having a conference, I searched for lodgings with other, to me more preferred, companies. Turns out I was forturnate that I was unable to find anything else. The Coeur d'Alene Resort is a top hotel. My room was a "Premium king" on the 2nd floor. It was just like the pictures. It had a comfortable bed, remote control curtains on a window overlooking this goregeous lake, and L-shaped sofa in a step down area, an LCD TV and a suptious bath (no jaccuzi). Beverly's is a top tier restaurant. The decor in copper and rich textures is goregioes, loved the aly out and the food and wine selections were excellent in tast and presentations and reasonably priced. If your not very hungy try the Chacuteire Plate for 15 with a great sampling of pates, sausages, and duck. Paired with a merlot from Wala Wala winery, it was delicious. The trout is excellent in texture and taste. Soemo9ne in my group reported waht sounded to be an wonderful dessert; ice cream served ina cooton candy bowl. The exercise facility is a bit limited although I had no wait for equipment. GET OUTSIDE. Theres a great 2 mile hike around Tubbs Park just by the hotel. Beautiful view of the lake, big treesa, peaceful and moderately challenging, esp. if you go over the top of the hill. Did not try the spa.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thebluegrassishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kootenays,BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I did not have really high expectations for our weekend stay based on a previous stay about 5 years ago. On our last stay the public areas at the resort seemed quite dated.
They had an excellent deal for Halloween that couldn't be passed up on so booked a premier lakeview room with a fireplace. Also took along our dog at no extra charge.
The room was a modern design but very spacious, as you enter there was a bathroom with walk in shower and separate tub. The tile work was very nice but the tub was just your standard small motel tub. Separate area with double sinks, granite work top etc. Bathroom toiletries apart from soap had the look of a cheaper motel which was strange, soap was nice.
King size bed was very comfortable and a good size sitting area separated by a half wall. Very comfortable sofa and good size balcony with two chairs and a small table. The gas fireplace was nice to give a cozy feel.
Now the view!!! the main reason to go the resort and it did not disappoint. We were on the 8th floor and you could lie in bed in the morning,use the remote to open the curtains and just watch life on the lake. I didn't want to leave that view.
Turn down service with yummy peanut brittle was a nice touch.
Really couldn't fault anything if you get a deal on the price.
We parked on the street a block away as parking was expensive and there is two hours free parking so you don't need to move car till 11am. There are lots of shops and restaurants within a five minute walk. We got take our breakfast from Dockside in hotel due to our dog and it was fast and reasonably priced.
Staff at check in were friendly and would smile as you walked back and forth.
We would certainly return if they have more specials but I would say get a room with a water view, it really elevates your stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kootenai-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

This is a very nice hotel and is the place to stay They upgraded us to a patio lake view room. The only one of it's kind at the hotel #474 it is a corner room with views of Mt. Tull and the lake/marina sunken living room views from everywhere windows on two sides. The suprise is the patio is about 8' X20' Nice place for coctails if you have a group at the hotel. Went to Beverly's for dinner, great but $$$$. Word is go there for lunch and get the same great quality for $$. The hotel also provides transportation to.from the airport and to other restaurant's they own, Beachhouse and Cedar's. Cabs are $7 anywhere in town but everything is within walking distance. We used Inland Empire Tours for wine tasting. groceries and liquor stores are 12 blocks away we walked. There is a free tram but if you get off you have to wait hour for circle. Only drawback was slaming room doors.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandiegoretiredguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coeur d'Alene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Property: The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Address: 115 S 2nd St, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2738
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coeur d'Alene Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimately there is something magical about a visit to The Coeur d'Alene... With idyllic landscape, year-round activities, and its spectacular setting at the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, it is no wonder that Coeur d'Alene has been christened the "Playground of the Northwest". We have mastered the art of relaxation. With luxurious accommodations, rejuvenating spa treatments, sumptuous cuisine, and breathtaking holiday displays, this four-star resort continues to be the destination of choice for discerning travelers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Coeur d'Alene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Coeur d Alene Resort Coeur d Alene
The Coeur D'Alene Resort Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing