We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Bardenay

Bardenay
Ranked #11 of 255 Restaurants in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999. With three locations in Boise, Eagle and Coeur d'Alene that capture the spirit of Idaho and the Northwest, Bardenay Restaurant and Distillery is a cornerstone of Idaho's restaurant and bar industry. The original establishment is located in a once empty warehouse on the Historic Basque Block in downtown Boise, Idaho. On April 25th, 2000, history was made when we served the first cocktail to included spirits distilled in a restaurant in the US. As the nation's first restaurant distillery, Bardenay has set an industry precedent as the first full service restaurant and bar with the ability to create handcrafted liquor on-site. Our distillers are happy to give tours as time allows. Please ask your server if you are interested in a closer look at our operations. p.s. We are only allowed to sell our fine spirits by the drink. If you would like to purchase a bottle, you may do so at many of our state liquor stores.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Food was great, prices reasonable and the service outstanding. The atmosphere with the view of the scenery was excellent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank walterl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    151
    50
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun place to lunch.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We went for my birthday lunch and had a good time. We had a great waiter, very funny and attentive. Our food was very good as were our drinks. The only downside is it can be pretty loud during the busy times. But the food was great!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank meredith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eat Tastefully, Drink Locally”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The first of many (I hope) microdistilleries in the area serves good food and creative cocktails made with spirits produced on site. The nice setting, attractive bar, outdoor seating area and resident family of ducks adds to the fun dining/drinking experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
450 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Nice place for a casual evening”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We went here for drinks and dessert after an early dinner. It was near our hotel and suggested by the hotel staff. What a nice find! Even early in the week, and later in the evening, there was a good crowd. Our server recommended some nice choices for local wine and beer. She stopped back several times to check on us, and we had a nice conversation with her until it was time to wrap up for the evening. It's too bad we could not try the food, since it looked like a nice enough place for a casual meal.
This one is on my list of places to visit on my next trip to the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst Place EVER”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

First you seat yourself, so people stand around waiting to grab the next available table. Our waiter was a jerk, very arrogant, It took a very long time to get our drinks, in which two people out of six did not get there's until half of their meal was gone. The Cesar salad is very vinegar tasting. fettuccine was terrible the worst part was my son ordered a burger and it was raw, sent it back and they cooked the same burger placed on the same bun with the two bites out and served it with sweet potato fries in which he never had to begin with. chimichanga is horrible not sure what is inside but its moosh with cold sauce on top; I have never complained at a place, however I have never experienced this before the burger was the worst for me. We came back to hotel and ordered a pizza, must better. ,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank T0j070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bardenay also viewed

 

Been to Bardenay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing