We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creative, tasty food expertly served in a fun atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenbriar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Greenbriar Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Creative, tasty food expertly served in a fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Although I haven't had the pleasure of staying at the Inn, I have dined in the restaurant and highly recommend it to anyone living in or visiting the Coeur d'Alene area. The duck confit is as good as any this side of Paris, and the Kobe steak is the best I've ever tasted. Service is friendly and efficient, and is your lucky enough to be there on a night when there's live music you're in for a real treat.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    22
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
53
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We loved this place. The restaurant was just about to open for the afternoon, so - yes - it took a few minutes to find the right person to answer our questions, but he was more than accommodating to our requests, and gave us all the info we needed. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The tree-lined street near the lakefront is lovely and quiet. The third-floor kitchen/sitting area gave us additional space and made it feel like home. And, they provided us with plenty of breakfast. (The only breakfast suggestion I'd make would be to include a couple of hard-boiled eggs, especially if travelers have gluten intolerance, which one of us did. We didn't think to ask for this beforehand. Had we, I'm sure we would have been given them.)
The owners of the Inn run a catering business, and that is reflected on the dinner menu of the restaurant they operate on the main floor. We found really interesting ingredient combos in their tapas and other dishes. Combine creative, tasty food with a cozy fireplace, live music (not too loud!) and friendly service, and it doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Their web site does not advertise their property as a Bed and Breakfast though I thought it was by some of the reviews that I had read. The property is a restaurant that has rooms for rent. It's a Rooming House. That said when we arrived and checked in we did not get the room I had reserved. The outside appearance of the property is charming but the room we got was musty smelling with water stains on the ceiling. We stayed for two nights only for our of convience. They did serve a cold continental breakfast which was placed in the common refrigerator in the day room. So if you are looking for a B&B don't stay here. If you are looking for a musty smelling room in need of repair then you will enjoy this place. We did not eat at the restaurant on the first floor so I have no coments.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the second floor with no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunslinger345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality9660, Owner at Greenbriar Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Mr. Gunslinger, We are very sorry for you disappointing stay. I truly wish you had voiced something to me while you were here. At the very least we would have moved you to another room, or perhaps excused you from your reservation, or provided you with a refund for your first night's stay. It is true that at the end of the summer, one of our third floor guest rooms had an air conditioner that leaked condensed water down the wall above your bedroom. It took a few days to dry it out, after the problem was discovered, and then another few days to repair and paint.
As for the "bed and breakfast" portion, I will make sure that everyone answering the phone states clearly that we provide a CONTINENTAL breakfast. We are an Inn, not a B and B in the most common sense of the word. Again, my apologies for your disappointment. We always strive for the best possible guest experience for the least expenditure on your part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed overnight and had dinner here last year. We had a terrible experience. Granted this was last year, so my review could (hopefully) be outdated. Perhaps now they have made some significant changes since then. We read reviews before we went, but our stay didn't match up. No one greeted us when we arrived, the rug and floor in our room was dirty and needed vaccuming, the bed was the most uncomfortable we had ever stayed in (we never got to sleep), and dinner was just awful with service to match. We had an African Nut Soup that was watered down and flavorless and full of walnuts and practically nothing else. Nope, I'd never stay here again. So very disappointing that management was obviously oblivious and hadn't checked on quality or service. Like I said, maybe they've changed since.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality9660, Owner at Greenbriar Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Lyn G,
I am sorry you had such a bad experience! I wish we had heard about this when you stayed here a year ago! We always try to accommodate any complaint or concern as quickly as possible. I wish I knew which room you were staying in so I could find out which bed you are complaining about! As for our restaurant, well, I guess I am very grateful that by far the majority of our patrons do not feel as you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Greenbriar Inn twice in August 2013 on our way through Coeur d'Alene. We enjoyed our stay in this historic inn. Everyone was so friendly. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We loved the antique furnishings. The breakfast plate and fresh fruit were delicious. We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. The food was amazing! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our party of 12 (6 couples) stayed at the Greenbriar for two nights. All of us thought it was exceptional and one of the best stays of our trip. The venue is charming, an old brick home that is converted to a bed and breakfast. 3 Stories, with some rooms on the third floor, some on the second. We rented the entire house and had access to two kitchens for coffee, tea, utensils, and a refrigerator. We also had access to a living room, a second story patio overlooking the restaurant and a hot tub on the second floor. All the rooms were decorated in period style, with a historic charm that was wonderful. Some rooms had tubs, some showers only. All of our party loved everything about this. A continental breakfast was provided (a little too many carbs for my taste) but wonderful never the less. Staff were attentive and helpful. We ate at the restaurant, seated on the patio in the evening. Food was great and atmosphere superb. We would definately stay again. Coeur de Alene is a charming city with many lake front activities, swimming, paddle boards, boating, plane flights, and shopping. Good cafes and lots of interesting stores. It was the perfect place for a layover and relaxing day. I highly recommend the Greenbriar, which is within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adiannaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Greenbriar Inn at the end of June 2013. We were on the top floor for the first night and moved to the "bridal suite" on the same floor for the second night (this was their only free rooms for that weekend and the management were incredibly accommodating so that they could fit us in). Both rooms were full of character and we had such a great time. I had three people ask if they could take my luggage up to the top of the stairs which I thought was very sweet as my suitcase was huge and there are a lot of steps. The rooms were clean and old-fashioned but in a fun way. The weather was smoking hot so I'm very thankful that the A/C was in great working condition. We had drinks down in the martini bar one night which were delicious and we received great service. I wish that we had gotten to eat there too but we were out sightseeing and time did not permit. The breakfast was fine although really heavy on the carbs/sweets. I usually stay at B&B's where breakfast is cooked for you but it was nice to have the privacy in the morning and the choice to eat when we wanted to. I really liked having the available fridge and wine fridge that we could put our grocery purchases in. They had a wonderful selection of tea there but no kettle at the time so we used the microwave. We also got to sit outside on the patio upstairs to drink our wine and it was really comfortable. All in all we had a really nice time and would stay there again. I have to say though that this is the only B&B I've ever stayed in where I didn't get to meet the owner but I suppose they are all run differently.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is a lovely room with a cozy bed and lots of room. I should note though that the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coeur d'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbriar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbriar Inn

Property: Greenbriar Inn
Address: 315 E Wallace Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2951
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenbriar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic 1908 Greenbriar Inn is located four blocks from downtown, the beach and the Lake. We have five guest rooms with private baths and queen beds. The Inn features a restaurant: 315 Martinis and Tapas, which is open five days a week, Tuesday thru Saturday, from 3:15 to close. We offer a continental breakfast to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Greenbriar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbriar Hotel Coeur d`Alene
Greenbriar Inn Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing