We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond great hospitality”
Review of Greenbriar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Greenbriar Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roberts MT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond great hospitality”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a wonderful place. My niece in Spokane got us last minute reservations. The inn is welcoming and romantic if you like beautiful old houses filled with lovely antiques. If you're looking for the brand new super king size bed and oversized walk in shower, forget it; you can get that anywhere! This place has style, personality and wonderful hosts. We had my 86 year old mother along and our host graciously moved us down a floor... at 9pm! We felt so welcomed and well taken care of - the continental breakfast was outstanding. We were unfortunately not able to dine there, but the next time we go through Couer d'Alene we will try to time it right and get dinner reservations. We'd love to stay again, sans Mom, for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    25
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
56
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Although I haven't had the pleasure of staying at the Inn, I have dined in the restaurant and highly recommend it to anyone living in or visiting the Coeur d'Alene area. The duck confit is as good as any this side of Paris, and the Kobe steak is the best I've ever tasted. Service is friendly and efficient, and is your lucky enough to be there on a night when there's live music you're in for a real treat.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We loved this place. The restaurant was just about to open for the afternoon, so - yes - it took a few minutes to find the right person to answer our questions, but he was more than accommodating to our requests, and gave us all the info we needed. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The tree-lined street near the lakefront is lovely and quiet. The third-floor kitchen/sitting area gave us additional space and made it feel like home. And, they provided us with plenty of breakfast. (The only breakfast suggestion I'd make would be to include a couple of hard-boiled eggs, especially if travelers have gluten intolerance, which one of us did. We didn't think to ask for this beforehand. Had we, I'm sure we would have been given them.)
The owners of the Inn run a catering business, and that is reflected on the dinner menu of the restaurant they operate on the main floor. We found really interesting ingredient combos in their tapas and other dishes. Combine creative, tasty food with a cozy fireplace, live music (not too loud!) and friendly service, and it doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Their web site does not advertise their property as a Bed and Breakfast though I thought it was by some of the reviews that I had read. The property is a restaurant that has rooms for rent. It's a Rooming House. That said when we arrived and checked in we did not get the room I had reserved. The outside appearance of the property is charming but the room we got was musty smelling with water stains on the ceiling. We stayed for two nights only for our of convience. They did serve a cold continental breakfast which was placed in the common refrigerator in the day room. So if you are looking for a B&B don't stay here. If you are looking for a musty smelling room in need of repair then you will enjoy this place. We did not eat at the restaurant on the first floor so I have no coments.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the second floor with no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunslinger345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality9660, Owner at Greenbriar Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Mr. Gunslinger, We are very sorry for you disappointing stay. I truly wish you had voiced something to me while you were here. At the very least we would have moved you to another room, or perhaps excused you from your reservation, or provided you with a refund for your first night's stay. It is true that at the end of the summer, one of our third floor guest rooms had an air conditioner that leaked condensed water down the wall above your bedroom. It took a few days to dry it out, after the problem was discovered, and then another few days to repair and paint.
As for the "bed and breakfast" portion, I will make sure that everyone answering the phone states clearly that we provide a CONTINENTAL breakfast. We are an Inn, not a B and B in the most common sense of the word. Again, my apologies for your disappointment. We always strive for the best possible guest experience for the least expenditure on your part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed overnight and had dinner here last year. We had a terrible experience. Granted this was last year, so my review could (hopefully) be outdated. Perhaps now they have made some significant changes since then. We read reviews before we went, but our stay didn't match up. No one greeted us when we arrived, the rug and floor in our room was dirty and needed vaccuming, the bed was the most uncomfortable we had ever stayed in (we never got to sleep), and dinner was just awful with service to match. We had an African Nut Soup that was watered down and flavorless and full of walnuts and practically nothing else. Nope, I'd never stay here again. So very disappointing that management was obviously oblivious and hadn't checked on quality or service. Like I said, maybe they've changed since.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality9660, Owner at Greenbriar Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Lyn G,
I am sorry you had such a bad experience! I wish we had heard about this when you stayed here a year ago! We always try to accommodate any complaint or concern as quickly as possible. I wish I knew which room you were staying in so I could find out which bed you are complaining about! As for our restaurant, well, I guess I am very grateful that by far the majority of our patrons do not feel as you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Greenbriar Inn twice in August 2013 on our way through Coeur d'Alene. We enjoyed our stay in this historic inn. Everyone was so friendly. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We loved the antique furnishings. The breakfast plate and fresh fruit were delicious. We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. The food was amazing! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our party of 12 (6 couples) stayed at the Greenbriar for two nights. All of us thought it was exceptional and one of the best stays of our trip. The venue is charming, an old brick home that is converted to a bed and breakfast. 3 Stories, with some rooms on the third floor, some on the second. We rented the entire house and had access to two kitchens for coffee, tea, utensils, and a refrigerator. We also had access to a living room, a second story patio overlooking the restaurant and a hot tub on the second floor. All the rooms were decorated in period style, with a historic charm that was wonderful. Some rooms had tubs, some showers only. All of our party loved everything about this. A continental breakfast was provided (a little too many carbs for my taste) but wonderful never the less. Staff were attentive and helpful. We ate at the restaurant, seated on the patio in the evening. Food was great and atmosphere superb. We would definately stay again. Coeur de Alene is a charming city with many lake front activities, swimming, paddle boards, boating, plane flights, and shopping. Good cafes and lots of interesting stores. It was the perfect place for a layover and relaxing day. I highly recommend the Greenbriar, which is within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adiannaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
842 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
0.2 mi away
The Roosevelt Inn
The Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbriar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbriar Inn

Property: Greenbriar Inn
Address: 315 E Wallace Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2951
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenbriar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic 1908 Greenbriar Inn is located four blocks from downtown, the beach and the Lake. We have five guest rooms with private baths and queen beds. The Inn features a restaurant: 315 Martinis and Tapas, which is open five days a week, Tuesday thru Saturday, from 3:15 to close. We offer a continental breakfast to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Greenbriar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbriar Hotel Coeur d`Alene
Greenbriar Inn Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing