We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, friendly owners and cat.”
Review of Flamingo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I would definitely stay here again. My girlfriend and I were driving through and came upon this place. They let us look in the rooms and choose whichever one we wanted. They had a nice selection of DVD's we could watch while staying there. I would definitely recommend staying if you're in the area and looking for an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed at the Flamingo, a modest little motel about two blocks from the main drag in downtown Coeur D'Alene. It was great-each room has a different theme and you can park right in front of your room. We stayed in #10 Americana. Perfect for us coz my hubby liked the recliners. You can see pix of rooms on their website. The price was reasonable, and SRs get a discount. Don't try emailing for reservations tho, only call. Shelly says she doesn't always see emails in timely manner! We loved the furnishings, frig & coffee in room, and renting DVDs the night we got dinner in from the Pilgrim's Market Deli (on North 4th). Scratch a fine restaurant nearby, but much more reasonable for lunch than dinner. Someone described as "B&B without the breakfast" but bakery & breakfast within a block's walk.

Room Tip: Might want to be back towards the office in order to ensure no noise from street.We certainly didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conn449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Didn't have reservations and was just driving around Coeur d'Alene and about to give up finding anything but a restaurant when I saw 'MOTEL'. I pulled into the Flamingo and was greeted warmly by the owner who rented me the English Garden Room. Very nicely appointed. Fluffy towels, frig., coffee pot, microwave, comfy bed, couch, chair and desk. The odd shape of the room made it seem larger and allowed more furniture to be pleasantly placed. There was also a fun DVD recommended (free selection and also a lending library) and an excellent restaurant, "Scratch". BeeGee was on hand to make sure everything was Purrrrrfect.
Now if the rain hadn't washed out my hike...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Great value for money. Clean place that is situated close to the main street so we just left our car and strolled around town. We stayed in the lighthouse room. Try out the funky beds. Extra plus for the kind and funny cleaning staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We live in Bonners Ferry & some friends told us about the Falmingo Motel. We came down adn stayed in it for our anniversary. We love the themed rooms which is a great idea. The owners were very friendly and did everything to make you feel welcome! It is located very nicely too. Close to the things we wanted to do.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesW242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We decided to by-pass the freeway cookie-cutter hotels and stay at this 1950's retro motel in Coeur d'Alene. Each room is decorated to a different theme - we stayed in the Americana room. Each room also has assigned parking, which is a nice touch. Our room had a couple of very comfortable recliners, so we were able to relax after a long day on the road. There are several restaurants within walking distance, although we opted to drive to Tony's on the Lake. We were a little concerned that there might be too much road noise, but Sherman is quiet after 9 pm or so. The bed was very comfortable. If you are looking for a good place to sleep, not a high end resort style hotel, this is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were in town for my husband's high school reunion and wanted something within walking distance of the lake, resort and downtown area. The Flamingo was nearly booked but we decided to take the "Route 66" family room (has a small kitchen, bath, one separate bedroom and a large bed in the main room) even though we didn't need all the space. Our room was quiet, clean, and spacious. The location is perfect; the restaurants and bars start about 2 blocks west on Sherman from the hotel. Fun decor touches around the "Route 66" theme. We would definitely stay there again! Book early for this one, reasonably priced lodging in downtown Coeur d'Alene can be hard to find in summer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
914 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
859 reviews
1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Address: 718 E Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-4147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#6 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range: £53 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a B&B without the breakfast, all rooms have been remodeled with uniquely different themes. Eight one bed, three two beds & two are 2-bedroom suites (one with a full kitchen). Rooms are all street level with parking in front of each room. Situated within the seven blocks of "old downtown" Coeur d'Alene beside the Lake, all beaches, restaurants & art galleries are within walking and the street fairs, parades, marathons and classic car shows start right out front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing