We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great discovery in CDA!”
Review of Flamingo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coeur d'Alene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great discovery in CDA!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a great motel! I almost don't want to share my secret! We had the two-room "Cabin" - when I booked I wasn't sure what we'd be in for, but the theme is done very tastefully! The first thing I noticed when entering the room is it didn't smell like a motel - it was clean, smelled fresh, and the decor is tastefully done. The people who run it are just lovely, starting with allowing us a very early check-in. Customer service is obviously their strong suit - I came to the office to borrow a corkscrew, and left with a corkscrew and two nice wine glasses - as apparently, it's against their rules to drink wine from a plastic glass :) Book early - they don't have many nights where they're not booked up.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    52
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
55
149
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

This place has character and well taken care of. CLEAN Comfy bed, close to shopping and food, great bakery around the corner for breakfast. Decent coffee in the rooms. We had room #11, the Tuscan room. Very quaint, not your typical hotel decor.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dazingdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed in the Flamingo Beach room and loved it. The room is small but well laid out with a sitting area on one side. Nice touches like the Jimmy Buffet CD that comes with the room (but be sure to leave it behind!). The bathroom is clean and there is another sink/vanity outside the bathroom so that two can get ready at once. The ceiling fan has blades that curve down so watch your head! The bed was comfy and the pillows were soft. The room is set well back from the street so the traffic doesn't bother you. There is a seating area outside where you can people watch. In room coffee/fridge/microwave make mornings easy and the large DVD lending library in the office make evenings complete. The rooms are soundproofed pretty well and the AC although loud, works well. All in all and great time! Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham,england
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is how a motel should be run,the owners Art & Shelley have a great eye for detail,we had the Flamingo Beach room and it was truly great,my was not keen on the Macaws on the wall but I thought they were OK.When we arrived after a long trip up from Boise Art welcomed us warmly and supplied us with plenty of info,he give us the wrong room at first but we did not say anything thinking we had got an upgrade but he called us back and said sorry for the mistake,when we went in the room we understood why he called us back,he & Shelley had placed a bunch of flowers in our room with a card wishing us a happy anniversary.2 very small things to moan about are the fan in our room was a tad low for me but being 6ft 4in tall,the other is they have a room with a toaster and microwave in that could be opened slightly earlier in the morning.Once again thankyou for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed in English Garden room in late July when temperatures were in the upper 90s. This place is in a safe and relatively quiet area within blocks of the lively downtown lakefront strip, with bars, restaurants, lake front park and the Resort. The owner Art and the woman at reception in the morning were both friendly and helpful, recommending places to eat ( Michael D's for breakfast, which is not walking distance but was on the way out of town for us) and see. The room was fine, with great attention to detail and thoughtfulness. I only knocked off a star because the air conditioner was a bit loud.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or pool, but the rating system on Tripadvisor seems to make you rate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlefan111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedsport
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed just one night but want to go back for an extended stay. Room was delightful. Just like home with all the amenities like the TV, sitting area, etc. Newly redone bathroom too. Owners were great and gave us good leads on places to eat. From this location you can walk to the lake and lots of places to shop and eat. Prices were right in the middle of the range for the area and the time of year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pop-upPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were on motorcycle trip through Idaho. The reservations were made on the basis of cost as I had never stayed in Coeur d'Alene before. The owner was at the front desk when we arrived and he was a funny guy with a dry sense of humor. The rooms were neat and each one had a different theme. We asked for directions to a wine store so we could enjoy a bottle of wine before dinner. There were six of us by the way. After we walked back from the wine shop, the owner met us in the parking lot and told us the hotel had two rules. #1 you don't drink wine out of plastic motel glasses so he gave us a wine glass to use. Rule #2 was there are no rules but Rule #1. Great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wideglidewanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
849 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
797 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 718 E Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-4147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#6 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#7 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a B&B without the breakfast, all rooms have been remodeled with uniquely different themes. Eight one bed, three two beds & two are 2-bedroom suites (one with a full kitchen). Rooms are all street level with parking in front of each room. Situated within the seven blocks of "old downtown" Coeur d'Alene beside the Lake, all beaches, restaurants & art galleries are within walking and the street fairs, parades, marathons and classic car shows start right out front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing