We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beds have Magic Fingers. 'Nuff said.”
Review of Flamingo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coeur d'Alene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I love these old-school roadside motels that have been loving kept up, and the Flamingo is one of them! Give me some kitschy character over the ticky tacky boxes of chain hotels!

We stayed in the Country Cottage. It came with a small fridge, and two beds sporting the vintage Magic Fingers massagers. It's still a great deal at 25 cents for 15 minutes! Everything was clean and obviously cared for. We felt very welcome and at home!

The motel is off the main drag, so you'll get traffic noise - there's nothing you can do about that. Also, you park right outside of your room, so if your neighbors come home late, you'll will probably hear that.

It's an easy walk to where the action is, and there's a gas station on the corner.

We had a great stay and would very much recommend!

Room Tip: Try get a room as far from the road as you can to minimize traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hildeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was visiting from Alaska for a family event. It had been a while since my last visit to CDA and I wanted to be near downtown. Options downtown are limited but this place is perfectly located. This is a no frills motel, which is rather apparent from this site. With that being said, it is also very clean and carefully maintained. I thought it was managed very well and I was extremely happy with the service, cleanliness, and overall quality of my visit. I would stay again, just for the location, but the service and value will keep me coming back to the Flamingo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Flamingo is located on a main street but at the end of the busiest section of town which makes for easy walking to the lakefront and the shopping area. The way the one-story rooms are situated at a diagonal gives a sense of privacy. We stayed in the Victorian room complete with king bed and burgundy velvet trappings draped on the wall behind our bed...definitely a fun, boudoir experience. Our room was clean and comfortable and quiet enough for a good night's sleep. The desk clerk was most cheerful and helpful in recommending nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephmthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great location - just a few blocks from downtown. There is a convenience store across the street and a bakery/coffee shop around the corner. Each room has a different theme. We were assigned "The English Garden". Not my first choice but the other rooms on-line that I liked were taken. We liked our room. It was a decent size with white wicker furniture and green walls/carpet. The bathroom was tiny but was compensated by a separate alcove with storage area, large sink and refrigerator. The room was well-stocked with premium coffee and accompaniments, as well as shampoo, etc. Bed was comfortable and we loved the "Magic Fingers" - put a quarter in and you have about 10 minutes of a massage. I actually fell asleep to it! The rooms also come with DVD players as well as a free lending library. A great value for the price ($97 a night for us).

We loved this little city. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The owner who checked us in was a hoot. He was in his 90's and clearly loved his job. He delivered is standard line as he handed over our keys: "Now, go to your room!" like he'd just thought of it instead of having used it a million times before. We stayed in the Americana room, which was done up in blazing patriotic style.

On the downside, the area where the hotel is located was, at least on the Saturday night we were there, really noisy. Coeur D'Alene is apparently a party town. The Flamingo is "staggering distance" from a multitude of watering holes serving up buckets of rum to hordes of vacationers with questionable judgement, and some of them made quite a racket coming back to the hotel after their night of excess. To compound matters, The Flamingo is located within a block of a major venue for outdoor events. They were hosting a wedding the night of our stay. Now I like "Roam" by the B-52's and "Moves Like Jagger" as much as anybody, but not at 10:30PM when I'm trying to get some sleep before the next day of my road trip.

Bottom line, great place to stay if you are in town to party. If you came to sleep, I hope you have better luck than I did.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

An old-fashioned road-side motel with tons of personality! It is clean, comfortable, friendly, and reasonably priced; all right in the middle of the super nice town of Coeur d' Alene! What more could you ask for? Walking distance to the Lake and really great shopping and dining.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank peglegdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Cute old fashioned drive up to your room motel. Great for traveling with a car load. The rooms are very clean , pretty small but cozy and the sheets are so soft ! The towels are fluffy, not what you would expect from a small motel such a treat not like a big chain with basic towels. The beds have working massagers ! Have not seen them in years.
The motel is close and walk able to everything .

Room Tip: They give you the keys to the available rooms so you can pick your themed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retiredtraveler1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
883 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Address: 718 E Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-4147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#6 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#7 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range: £75 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a B&B without the breakfast, all rooms have been remodeled with uniquely different themes. Eight one bed, three two beds & two are 2-bedroom suites (one with a full kitchen). Rooms are all street level with parking in front of each room. Situated within the seven blocks of "old downtown" Coeur d'Alene beside the Lake, all beaches, restaurants & art galleries are within walking and the street fairs, parades, marathons and classic car shows start right out front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing