We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hosts Ever !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flamingo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coeur d'Alene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hosts Ever !!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have been going to the Car D'Alene Car show and Collector Car Auction for approximately 20 years. For the first few years I stayed at other motels / hotels. About 15 years ago I tried the Flamingo. I have stayed there every year since. It's right on the main drag ( Sherman Ave ) and easy to get to and from. Lots of restaurants,bars, and shopping within walking distance. Art and Shelly Williams are the best hosts ever !! They are extremely gracious and accommodating. They both go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and fun. The rooms are fun also, as each has a different theme and as an extra bonus most of the beds have 'Magic Fingers' vibration so bring a roll of quarters with you. The rooms are very clean and well updated. Whenever I stay in CDA I always pick the Flamingo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    52
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
147
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is the second time I stayed there and equally enjoyed it. This time, I was in a different room and it too was decorated very nicely and also very cozy. Art Williams, the co owner with his wife, Shelly, is a lot of fun to talk with - and it is easy to listen to his adventurous life. You can tell that this motel is Shelly and his pride and joy. It is perfectly clean and perfectly comfortable.

I've stayed at some really neat Bed and Breakfast establishments and I have to say that if Art and Shelly served breakfast, I would declare the Flamingo Motel the very best B&B I've ever stayed at.

Yep - That good! And an easy walk down the main street (Sherman) of Coeur d'Alene and all the fun places. While you're there, don't miss Hudson's Hamburgers - as unique as you will see due to absolute simplicity - same family owners since 1906.

Room Tip: Rooms away from those adjacent to the street are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Amazing Location & Price! We absolutely love finding hidden Gems & this is definitely one. We stayed in the Victorian room which was spacious and very clean. We have also booked to go back this August and are staying in the Golfers Room - We can't Wait! Walking distance to the water, pubs and entertainment. We highly recommend Caponnes Pub (walkable) it was on Diners, Drive-ins & Dives and is something you must see and enjoy! They have free movies if you stay in. Great Place !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trentola - Ducenta, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Since we like to start dinner with a cocktail, we like to walk to dinner so drinking and driving are never a problem. This hotel is located at the end of the quaint main street. The host gave us dinner recommendations and never steered us wrong and nothing was more than a 15 min walk. The room (ours was decorated as Victorian and each is different) was extremely clean, comfortable and quiet. We never heard noises from other rooms, unlike some of the brand name places we stayed. I loved the friendly personalized service. We would highly recommend it and will stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janholis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have stayed numerous times in Coeur d'Alene, this was the first time at the Flamingo. It's a charming, small, quirky little motel on the edge of the Downtown CdA. The rooms are each decorated with a theme. Our small suite had a cabin/fishing decor. The rooms are clean, the owners and staff are friendly. It's a place we will come back to. As nice as it gets. Dell and Holly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Comfortable beds. Very clean with updated amenities. Kohler bathroom fixtures. Flat screen TV with video player and titles available for rent. Small kitchenette with coffee and small fridge but no microwave.

Great location. Friendly proprietor.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We found the Flamingo the first trip because a family from Virginia was the first review when we clicked on Trip Advisor. The Flamingo is quirky and delightful in the different themes of the rooms.We have stayed in the English garden and the Irish one. Both visits were a welcome rest after a long drive. The motel is located on the edge of downtown, with easy on and off the Interstate. The owner recommended wonderful local restaurants. The lake walk, the Museum, wonderful shops, and the Jazzercise workout were just blocks from our room. We will stay here again when we are out west. The value from the money is much higher than 5 circles!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
809 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coeur d'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 718 E Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-4147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#6 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#7 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a B&B without the breakfast, all rooms have been remodeled with uniquely different themes. Eight one bed, three two beds & two are 2-bedroom suites (one with a full kitchen). Rooms are all street level with parking in front of each room. Situated within the seven blocks of "old downtown" Coeur d'Alene beside the Lake, all beaches, restaurants & art galleries are within walking and the street fairs, parades, marathons and classic car shows start right out front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing