We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Kelso, Washington
2 reviews
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

From the moment we drove up we were worried. This just was not what we expected from a Guesthouse Inn. The common areas were dirty which did not build confidence in the overall stay. There were no trees or plants of any kind on the property. It was just pavement and located next to a busy gas station. The 2 Queen room was very small and unimpressive. Everything in it was small. I dont know that I could ever go to a Guesthouse after this experience. My room rate was $145, I've stayed at better hotels for way less money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade-Satisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinthiaR, Manager at FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Thank you for the review and your concerns about our hotel. During this time of year our rates are comparative to other hotels in our market range. Unfortunately being in the city there is not much area to plant trees or other plants, but this is something that we will look into. Your keen eye is greatly appreciated and I will take your concerns about the cleanliness to our staff and have them be more vigilant when they do their cleaning. Again, thank you and hope will will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    43
    30
    26
    25
See reviews for
51
43
25
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We were a little nervous to stay here because of the mixed reviews, but it was ok for a place to crash for the night. Definitely has a mom and pop type feel to it. The roof looked like it was damaged from recent storms, so it made the outside look more worn down. The room was small but clean, but I didn't really want to walk on the carpet in my bare feet.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent Travel... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinthiaR, Manager at FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for giving us a try. We are a simply hotel, cross between a Motel 6 and a Super 8. All of the rooms have been updated with carpet, bedding, drapes, vanities, etc. The hotel is a little older but it is cute inside. We do shampoo carpets frequently, so if there is a stain or if you are worried about the cleanliness of the carpet, we can shampoo it for you the next day while you are on your adventures. Thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovell, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

At around $100 a night it's a pretty decent place to stay. The breakfast wasn't deluxe as advertised, but decent for a quick bite to eat. Hotel staff could have been better at keeping the waffle mix and juice filled. Very little room to sit and eat breakfast. There is no pool, I wish I had noticed before I booked the room. That's my fault for not checking into, not the hotels. But thought it worth mentioning if your kids like having a pool. I was surprised there was not any handicap access. So you might have to climb a few stairs if you stay on the 3rd floor. The A/C worked ok in our room, but it was 90 degrees that day so i'm sure it was just too hot to keep up. Beds were ok, the room was a bit dark. I had to go ask for more towels as only two were left for a family of 4. Microwave and refrigerator worked great. Our room faced the gas station so it was a bit noisy early in the morning. The staff was great seemed like they were a bit overworked and trying to multitask. Rooms were fairly clean. I was disappointed in the wifi signal on the 3rd floor. Just remember when booking, your only paying around $100 for a night and that's pretty dang cheap. Besides most of us only sleep and shower at a hotel anyway. Oh and it's location is great, fast food restaurants within walking distance

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TN7798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinthiaR, Manager at FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for the review. $100 is a lot to pay but in CDA in the summer, it's a bargain. We are only $3 more than Motel 6 and we offer breakfast, free wifi and refrig/micro's in every room. We are economical but you get what you pay for. Deluxe breakfast means there is a hot item on the menu and we offer Hot Waffles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First, they gave us a room with a disabled air conditioner (on the 3rd floor with no elevator) with only one of two keys that worked. While waiting for the desk clerk to "fix" the AC, discovered that the WiFi didn't work either. Clerk couldn't fix AC (duh!), so we received another room assignment, still on 3rd floor. This time, AC worked - good thing as temps were in the high 90's. Since we had advance booked on Priceline for 2 nights, we stayed. The hallways and particularly, the stairways were dirty. The room was slightly better though the bed sagged in the middle, so spouse
and I slept even closer than usual! The only saving grace about the place was the blueberry waffles for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinthiaR, Manager at FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Ac's do get worked hard in the summer. I am glad we could accommodate you and switch you to another room. We can get ACs working again quickly but it does take a trained staff. Thanks for letting us know about the condition of the hallways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coeur d'Alene hotels

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We looked up accommodations for 4 nights and found Guesthouse,
had decent reviews, booked. But when we got there, we had to wait 3 hours for our room to
be cleaned, that was alright, it was noon and we needed to eat lunch, anyway. We came back at 3
and were shown our room, it was dirty. food crumbs on the top of the refridge, a handprint on the mirror, toilet not cleaned, bed crumpled = not acceptable, depressing. I picked up the phone and called the desk clerk in charge, Nicole, she came right up, said she was horrified, we asked for our money back (took over 30 minutes) but Nicole was wonderful, she helped in every way possible, bubbly, full-of-life, sincerely caring, competent. I have been a GM of the Pebble Beach Company, we know that the responsibility of this Hotel was their GM, Terry, nowhere around, she should have known the quality of the work of her staff. She didn't. If we were in charge, we'd replace Terry with Nicole, she was the Rock Star. The only reason it took so much time getting our card reimbursed, was because we went through Expedia, a total rip-off (30% higher). Nicole stayed after her work shift to help clean the rooms, again, Manager was no where around. They lost over $500
with our leaving; we'll never stay at a Guesthouse again. PB & MCH

Room Tip: Look at the room first before booking, get in town early, don't trust the Net
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinthiaR, Manager at FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Nicole is a gem and we truly appreciate her. Although it was probably Terri's day off, our head housekeepers are supposed to inspect every room before being turned over to sell to the guest. I am thankful that Nicole took care of you. Good news, because Nicole knew of your incident, it is practice to check all of that particular housekeepers rooms to see if they are to standard before renting another room. We also had additional training for her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We found the rooms to be exactly what we had expected; both were comfortable and clean. Just the basics, but that's we bargained for. It was a very good value. Good location, near the freeway and close to stores and restaurants. The breakfast was fine and convenient so you could something and get going. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, our stay was good and we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, the last two rooms at the back of the hotel. Good spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russpres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinthiaR, Manager at FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your business and appreciating what we have to offer. We are a great economical value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The motel & room needs a update. Old TV & the remote had no back cover on it. Ghetto for my opinion. No pool or hot tub. The room was clean.
The bedding was nice.
The staff was very friendly & helpful.
The free breakfast was not good. Could have been better.
The price for the room was fair, I guess.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinthiaR, General Manager at FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We are a simple hotel with great prices and good value. Our breakfast features: hot waffles, muffins, yogurt, fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs. We do have 27" TVs but all remotes should work and have backs on them... easy fix. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Coeur d'Alene
Ramada Coeur d'Alene
#16 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene
Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene
#18 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene

Property: FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene
Address: 330 W Appleway Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-9326 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn)
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice quaint hotel located on I-90 and Highway 95. Only 5 minutes from Lake Coeur d'Alene and 15 minutes from Silverwood Theme Park. Free hot waffle breakfast. Free wireless internet. Guest laundry. All rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves and in-room coffee. Some rooms feature a recliner chair. Surrounded by restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your FairBridge Inn - Coeur d'Alene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Hotel Coeur d`Alene
FairBridge Inn - Coeur D'Alene Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing