We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Shilo Inn is not a 5-star hotel but that's not what we needed or paid for.
We got this hotel for two days while visiting Silverwood Theme Park and for the $89 a night, it was worth the money.
Sure, it's a bit outdated but it was clean and the staff was excellent. The front desk was extremely helpful with local information and turned us on to a great deal for Silverwood tickets.
The free breakfast was fine. The breakfast room's a little small so we took it back to our room to eat and it was nice that it was available to 10 a.m.
The actual room was massive, and that was very nice. The Wifi wasn't great, so a bit of a drawback if you need it to work, but all in all, it was exactly what we needed, easy to find and we had a nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    65
    66
    42
    37
See reviews for
113
66
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Marie Stewart, General Manager –

We just took a 16-day, 5 state road trip. We stayed at 15 different hotels, and yours was the worst! It had so many things wrong with it, that we feel it necessary to bring it to your attention. I am also going to give an honest review of this hotel on TripAdvisor and the ShiloInns.com website.

Here are some of the things we noticed about our stay at your hotel, Shilo Inn in Coeur d’ Alene, ID:

The staff was friendly at the front desk. That was good.

We were required to give a $25 deposit in case we use any services, etc. NO OTHER HOTEL – 15 IN 5 STATES REQUIRED THIS! Of course we didn’t use anything and had to be refunded the $25 – what a waste of time.

Because we booked this room (No. 107) on the internet through AAA, my request for a receipt from you for our room was denied. The other internet booked hotels supplied me with receipts!

The hallway in your hotel is very dark, dreary and uninviting. Makes you feel bad just walking down it. It needs more lighting and a bright color.

We were in room 107, handicapped – the phone next to the toilet was dead – we reported that to the front desk but no one offered to fix it.

The freezer doesn’t work properly in the refrigerator.

Ice machines on 1st and 2nd floor were out of order. We had to go up to the 3rd floor for ice.

The juice machine in the lobby was out of order. Looked like the sign had been there a while.

The side door wasn’t working properly.

No facial tissues were offered.

No pen and paper was offered.

Old furnishings in room – need to be updated.

Only one key card was offered (there are 2 of us) – we were told new ones were on order.

No landscaping maintenance – completely neglected – overgrown shrubs, weeds, dead plants.

Building not maintained – outdoor lighting was missing lights, weeds growing in gutters – needs paint job. The driveway needed to be swept or blown.

We heard voices through the wall well into the night – need more insulation.

We couldn’t get to breakfast until it was almost over – the man that was overseeing breakfast was totally unfriendly, didn’t smile, carried food away when he knew we were just coming in – he didn’t offer to help us get something to eat, he looked VERY unfriendly and did not speak a word. There were messy food droppings everywhere – obviously he didn’t clean as breakfast progressed – looked like it had been a horrible breakfast offering – nothing was replenished – it was all gone, but you could tell there had been no decent food.

We don’t plan to ever come back to this mess! Obviously management doesn’t manage this property well at all, and they don’t repair what needs to be fixed. Even if you don’t remodel at this point in time, you should/could keep a clean, bright and well maintained hotel – but you aren’t at this time!! Your place looks like it doesn’t have a budget to keep it up as it should be – you look like you may be going into bankruptcy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coeur d'Alene hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Dont expect a 5 star hotel, that being said some of the things in this hotel either need to be upgraded or fixed. If I didn't notice these problems they would have gotten a 5. First off, myself my fiance, my father, and my little brother stayed here for 7 days. Upon reading reviews I was unsure what to expect, YES it does have a strange musty smell through out the hotel most likely due to the hotel changing from smoking to nonsmoking it smells like they have used an ozone machine to try and fix a tobacco smell. However you do get used to it after a while. The biggest and best part of this hotel in my books was the absolutely huge rooms for the price and the insane OCD cleanliness of the rooms. As per usual we did a bed check and the mattresses were very clean almost looked new. The beds were very very comfy along with the pillows too! The staff was very friendly and the housekeeping are very polite. The continental breakfast is what you would expect, although two things I was surprised to see was cream cheese (finally a hotel that understands bagels) and a waffle maker! Almost our whole stay was great but a few minor detail that the hotel needs to work out are:

-Carpets on the second floor of the west wing were serious trip hazards please replace them we almost fell about three times!

-The fridge in our room which i believe was 231 was luke warm at best

-Bad hot tub, steam room barley works, sauna doesn't have the proper items to make it work.

Overall our stay here rocked, a great night sleep every day, location is great, clean rooms, awesome staff. This hotel is worth every penny we paid.

Room Tip: Anything away from the 90.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I would never stay at this hotel again. It was very dirty and understaffed. House keeping crew was two teen boys that stole some of my belongings... took days to actually speak with assistant manager who offered no assistance and did not call me back when she said she would. I am still waiting for general manager to call me. I had previously stayed at this hotel and had a positive experience, but it has really gone down hill. Also we were only given one room key because they were running out, and that key only worked intermittantly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

For the star-level that this hotel is at, we really cannot complain about our stay -- we stayed here during the Ironman competition and this was the only hotel available when we booked (we used Priceline). We were pleasantly surprised that the accommodations and amenities were more than adequate for our needs.

Our One-King Bed room was large! There is a couch and table with chairs, in addition to a work desk, a vanity table with stool, and a pantry (sink, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker).

They had 24-hour amenities (pool, hot tub, sauna, steam room, gym)! We have not seen such a full suite of amenities at a 2-star hotel before, ever. Very impressive.

A special kudos to the staff who opened up the free breakfast extra early (usual time is 6-10am) on the day of the competition since most of the people staying here were in the competition either as athlete, spectator or volunteer.

Just a couple of notes for the hotel management so they may improve:
- Hallways are dimly lit, walls/carpet could use some updating.
- Housekeeping/cleaning staff seems to be overworked. Treat them well.

Overall, we are very pleased about our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Pauline C,

Thank you for giving us a try! Ironman weekend is definitely one of the busiest weekends in CDA! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you also for the tips, we are doing our best to treat the housekeeping staff well! =)

Sincerely,

Marie Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed here on business for a week. The building was clean but extremely dated. The lobby appears to have been remodeled recently but they kept the old office counters. The rooms look to have come straight out of the 90's. The furniture in the room was all damaged with nicks and dings along the edges. The carpet had multiple stains throughout.
The hot breakfast consisted of do it yourself waffles, instant oatmeal, muffins, prepackaged pastries, bagels & bread, cold cereal, and yogurt. The juice machine was in the lobby and not with the rest of the breakfast.
The high speed internet averaged 500kbps during my week there which is only considered a broadband connection and not high speed. The connection was wireless and spotty at best. It constantly dropped me or forced me to disconnect and reconnect. This was a two or three time an hour event.
The TV selection was poor with only 20 channels five of which were Espn related and one was Showtime. TBS and USA had static issues the entire stay.
The staff was friendly but did not appear to be very knowledgeable at times. Their computers crashed and they lost my reservation which had been a direct bill. The front desk clerk did his best but I’m pretty sure he just checked me in since I had paperwork showing the room had been paid for and left it for the manager to deal with later. Same issue when I checked out as the clerk stated that it would require the manager to get me a receipt.
The workout room is next to the pool room which allowed all of the chlorinated air in. Working out in those conditions was not very healthy.
The fourth floor does not have a vending or ice machine and from what I have seen previously this has been a long term issue.
For what you receive the price of the room is very high $114 a night for the whole week.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WardJerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Hotel has a really odd, old, musty smell that was quite overpowering at first. Everything is quite dated. That being said, the place is clean and the staff are very friendly. It has all the amenities you could need including free wifi. It is an incredibly convenient location near gas and restaurants. I passed on the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Feyanna,

Thank you for choosing the Shilo for your visit to Coeur d’Alene! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Marie Stewart
Shilo Inns Coeur d’Alene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coeur d'Alene Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene

Property: Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene
Address: 702 W Appleway, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the premiere, year-round resort area of Northern Idaho is the Shilo Inn Suites- Coeur d'Alene. With 139 spacious suites, it's the ideal place to stay for business travelers or vacationing families. The hotel is convenient to local attractions, the Convention Center and is easy to find, located at Exit 12 off Interstate 90. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur D'Alene Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing