We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and memorable stay”
Review of Dog Bark Park Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cottonwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dog Bark Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic and memorable stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

First off, the owners were super accommodating, we had to get in late and leave early, and they managed to work around our schedule, for which we were really grateful.

We went for the novelty, but the inn itself was great. Bed was comfortable and the room was so cute. The place even had a fridge stocked with breakfast food, and there were delicious homemade, baked goods waiting for us. Drank our morning coffee and ate breakfast on the porch. Was super relaxing.

And the dog itself was amazing! Could not believe how cool it was, as well as their other carved pieces around the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
60
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I had seen the 'Dog Bark Park' in an article on the MSN.ca homepage. Once read about, this became a 'must go to' destination, which did not disappoint.

Our party consisted of two couples riding on motorcycles. We stayed at the big dog for one night at the start of August 2012. Dennis & Sprocket, their golden retriever (Frances was away) made us feel very welcome & gave us some insight into how 'Sweet Willy' & the other creations came about.

Inside the big dog, it's roomy. In the main living/sleeping area there is a queen size bed, microwave, fridge, small table & chairs. The bathroom (at the back of the dog of course) is huge. The other bedroom is up in the brains of the dog (the loft). There is a pull out bed in that area. A large deck on the side is a peaceful place to sit & marvel at the wonderful views. Everything inside is dog related from books to games to dog shaped cookies!

Cottonwood itself is a fairly small place. There is a restaurant in the town that served excellent food & they also had free wifi access.

If you get a chance you should go & experience a night in the big dog. I would imagine that kids would be in seventh heaven. We would love to go back & stay again in this wonderful place.

.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I can't say enough how much my family and I enjoyed our stay at the Dog Bark Park Inn. First, the Big Dog: cozy, clean and full of fun things to do - games, books, and more. You wouldn't be able to tell it from the outside, but there's room inside for a queen bed, full sized shower and bath, and cozy loft sleeping/play area for the kids. The breakfast part of the bed and breakfast here is great too. Tasty granola (a secret Prairie recipe!), yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, cheese, juice, milk, cereal, so many options! The dog itself is surrounded by all kinds of interesting sculptures: a fire hydrant outhouse, huge blocks, coffee carafe - you have to see to believe and appreciate. All of this brings us to the owners: Frances and Dennis. Upon first walking into their woodworking shop, they give a warm greeting and made our stay so special. When making reservations, I mentioned that we were coming to celebrate my daughter's birthday. They not only remembered, but they also had a little present waiting for her and my son to make the day even more special. Cottonwood and the entire Camas Prairie are beautiful, and you'll be surprised to find there's more to do than you'd expect. Plan for a drive up to St. Gertrude's Monastery (3 miles), head over to Grangeville for dinner or just enjoy the sunset on the Big Dog's well placed deck. My family will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Sarah - we're so glad your family enjoyed their stay. As your children get older perhaps your family might enjoy whitewater rafting on some of our nearby rivers or horseback trail rides for a few hours in the mountains. We're always glad to make suggestions. Thanks again for spending time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilly Manitoba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We loved our stay at the Dog Bark Park Inn! Dennis and Frances are wonderful, engaging hosts with lots of stories to share and travel tips to impart. The grounds are endearing, and it feels so special to be included in a small way in someone's passion and dreams, as we felt we were during our stay. The accomodations were unique, the breakfast delicious, and it was well worth the trip off the beaten path. Thanks, Dennis & Frances, and may your future be bright!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank winter_escapee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Hello chilly Manitoba - Dennis & I are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do enjoy spending time sharing the stories behind Dog Bark Park and appreciate your interest to hear them. Your children were lovely to visit with as well. Perhaps our paths will cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Frances and Dennis are amazing. They greeted us like we were old friends. My 6 year-old called the Dog Bark Park, "The best hotel in the whole world!" Cottonwood is a quaint town built on rolling hills and surrounded by beautiful farms with mountains in the distance. St. Gertrude's Monestary is well worth the short drive out of town. We didn't bring our dog on this trip but next time we definitely will! I can't imagine a better place to stay for anyone with kids.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dwnflfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dennis & I enjoyed your visit this year. We're glad your son enjoyed all the "big things" at Dog Bark Park as well as the books & games inside the dog. We'll hope to see you again. There's much more of the surrounding area to explore & we're happy to make suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at Dog Bark Park last year, driving four hours to get there, simply as a fun getaway for our then three-year-old. It was a fun experience even though there isn't much else in the area. The owners use their chainsaw art skills to make other fun pieces all over the property, which our kids loved. This year our second daughter is old enough to enjoy it, but we were worried because she has a severe milk allergy. Frances took this very seriously, stocked the kitchen with kid-friendly food, and even labeled EVERY SINGLE FOOD ITEM with whether or not it contained milk products. I couldn't believe it! Frances and Dennis are so good with our kids, and I have to admit I don't mind that we have to count down our yearly trip starting the day after we get home. It's a great getaway, and with nearby Grangeville and a couple of parks, it was perfect for a weekend 2-night stay. I can't wait for next May!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Christy P - it was a delight for your family to visit again. We'll look to see your entire family next year! And as the kids grow we'll be glad to suggest other area activities for your family to enjoy. Of course simply spending time in the dog playing games, reading, doing puzzles & romping outside is just fine, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewett City, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is such a great place to stay and for the unique experience the price you pay is a bargain. Hosts have to be among the nicest people I've ever met, the food was excellent, and the accommodation was sparking clean. I say if your on a trip that takes you anywhere near Idaho, give Sweet Willy a visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Sean, it was our great pleasure to have met you this spring. Glad you enjoyed the serenity of our area & the different perspective provided by staying inside a dog-shaped building. May our paths cross again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
15.7 mi away
Whitebird Summit Ranch
Whitebird Summit Ranch
#1 of 2 in Grangeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hearthstone Elegant Lodge
13.8 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 2 in Grangeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog Bark Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog Bark Park Inn

Property: Dog Bark Park Inn
Address: 2421 Business Loop 95, Cottonwood, ID 83522-5030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on Trip Advisor's 2014 Best of Quirky Hotels List.Being in this dog-house is a GOOD thing! Idaho's famous World's Biggest Beagle is as comfortable as it is unique. Queen in main quarters, 2 twins in loft area. One hour drive from Lewiston, Idaho airport (LWS) & near famed Hells Canyon of the Snake River. We're a long mid-distance between Glacier & Yellowstone National Parks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dog Bark Park Hotel Cottonwood
Dog Bark Park Inn Idaho/Cottonwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing