We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dog Bark Park Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Cottonwood
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Inn(Grangeville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
142
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog bark parksweet willyb bgolden retrieverbooks and gamesinteresting booksmagical staysuperb hostsarea attractionsroad tripdelicious homemadeneat place to staybed breakfastgreat joydennisloftbelle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My wife and I stopped of at the Dog Bark Park for a couple of nights on a road trip across the US, having seen a description of the place - who would pass up an opportunity to stay in a giant dog? On arrival it soon became apparent that the appeal of this place goes far beyond novelty value.
First off there are the owners, Frances and Dennis, who are some of the most welcoming and interesting people I've met in a long time. Staying at the Dog Bark Park you feel more like a house guest than a paying client.
Then there is the accommodation, Sweet Willy the giant beagle. You might think that building a guest room in the shape of a dog would result in a few cut corners, but this is not the case. You get a very comfortable hotel style room, with a good sized bathroom, and a second room (in the dog's head) with a futon and reading nook. Everything is well designed, tasteful and infused with Dennis and Frances' personalities, whether it be the homemade treats stocking the ample food supplies, the collection of dog related reading and games, or the dog carved headboard on the bed.
On top of that there is the rest of the Dog Bark Park. The place is filled with whimsical carvings centred on the carving studio and workshop. I'm no art buff, but this place was interesting and uplifting - definitely worth a stop even if you're not staying.
It should be pointed out that Dog Bark Park doesn't provide everything you might expect from a more mainstream hotel. There is no TV or internet (or mobile phone reception on the site itself) and, as Dennis & Frances live off site, there is nothing like a 24 hr reception. But then, this is not what Dog Bark Park is about.
If you are going to be anywhere near Cottonwood, you should stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank privatedood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We drove 7 hours from Portland, just to go stay in the wooden dog. Check in time was between 3:30 and 5:30 pm. We got our key and directions on places to visit from the super nice owners.

The room didn't smell like dogs at all. I was worried, since you can bring dogs here. We brought our dogs. They didn't sniff around the room too much, so I know there were no accidents from former dog guests. I even brought slippers to wear in the room, thinking it would be gross. It was very clean! I never had to put them on.

The place has a heater, hair dryer, shampoo/conditioner and lotion. Those items weren't listed under their amenities, so they were nice to find. The room also comes with tons of towels, toilet paper rolls, a grime towel for the wet dogs and a water bowl for them too.

The breakfast and snacks were plentiful! We normally will eat everything in sight, but there was so much to eat and drink we didn't clean the place out. The homemade granola was full of yummy flavors like dried cranberries and sunflower seeds. The coffee is Folgers and I now have a new favorite easy coffee. If you need creamer, bring your own, since none comes in the room. It was a fun surprise seeing the foods in the fridge and snack containers after they were refilled.

The bed was comfortable. The only bad part was the flapping ears on the big dog. They woke me up constantly,since it was windy.

The owners live offsite, so its like having your own place in the country.

Best part was getting the okay from the owners that we didn't need to pick up our dogs poop! How awesome is that!

I'd share more about this place, but its so much fun to discover everything about this place. Oh and if you have any plans of leaving early, make sure to buy your souvenirs, since the owners seem to return later in the morning on the days we were there. And if you have any thoughts of buying a dog to look like yours, order it beforehand. I was still kicking myself for not ordering dogs that looked like ours and picking them up when we were there.

One last thing is, that there was no cellphone service or 4G service from AT&T! It forced us to get offline and enjoy time with each other. We also brought along a small screen portable dvd player. I highly recommend bringing one.

Room Tip: There is no AT&T service.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheReviewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, humans & dogs alike. We are indeed very diligent to have the room absolutely clean for all our guests, using completely different linens & bedding for pet families in case our human only guests might be allergic to pets. It's a lot of extra work yet we want everyone to have the very best experience possible, which includes super clean & fresh.
Your stay unfortunately coincided with the windiest day of the year which made the big dog's ears more active than usual. He was awake, happy & letting you know all was well despite the roar of the wind outdoors. Glad you enjoyed all our home baked items.
We'll look forward to seeing you again sometime. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Another fantastic trip to the Dog Bark Inn. This was our second time staying at the Dog, and it was just as outstanding as the first time. This time it was drizzling and overcast so we spent a lot more time inside, and with the kids being a year older we were able to discover the joys of Dog-Opoly! It was great to see Frances and Dennis again, and of course their dog Sprocket! They are truly hosts that go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. We can’t wait to come back again next year!

Room Tip: There is only 1 room, and it is the best!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travlinfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

We were delighted to see your family again. Several family's include a stay each year which is always enjoyable for us to see the kids growing from year to year. Spring weather can be blustery & wet or sometimes it absolutely conducive for outdoor activities. Glad your family enjoyed the indoor books, games & puzzles we provide. The collection grows & changes a bit from year to year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Simply put this is the best place we've ever stayed. A noble and absurd undertaking - made with love and care - Sweet Willy (the big dog you stay in) was fun, silly and cosy. We loved visiting as part of our honeymoon, there were great books about motels and dogs and lovely boardgames which made us smile.

A little gift was waiting in the room and we couldn't resist buying our own wooden beagle from the hosts! The bathroom was lovely, the bedroom comfy and the loft cute too. There are awesome folk art works throughout the grounds to inspire and children would simply adore it here. The food - dog shaped goodies and lots of scrummy breakfast treats - was all super and the hosts, Frances, Dennis and Sprocket, were so friendly and passionate about their folk art.

This was the highlight of our three-week trip. We also loved driving to Keuterville Pub and Grub for an ace dinner. We'll remember this stay and smile about it forever.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hannypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Since we're a long distance from most anywhere for international travellers it is always a special delight to have overseas visitors make the special effort to get to Idaho & the big dog inn. We do want everyone to have more than a good night's rest; we want visitors to be able to discover all that emcompasses Dog Bark Park, from the big dog inn to our large outdoor art objects to our art studio & visitor information center. The Keuterville Pub & Grub is indeed a memorable experience for lunch or dinner with the owners always so very welcoming & food always consistently good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

First off, the owners were super accommodating, we had to get in late and leave early, and they managed to work around our schedule, for which we were really grateful.

We went for the novelty, but the inn itself was great. Bed was comfortable and the room was so cute. The place even had a fridge stocked with breakfast food, and there were delicious homemade, baked goods waiting for us. Drank our morning coffee and ate breakfast on the porch. Was super relaxing.

And the dog itself was amazing! Could not believe how cool it was, as well as their other carved pieces around the property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews