We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone slept right through it and laughed at me the next day”
Review of Dog Bark Park Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cottonwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dog Bark Park Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife, kids (8&10) and myself stayed here in 2012 and just LOVED it. There was a brief fight over who got to stay in the dog's nose, but everyone had a great night's sleep, except me. I woke up at 2am to the strangest swoosh-thumping sound I'd ever heard. Shwthump. pause for minute. Shwthump. repeat. Protective-Dad instincts on full alert, I crept around trying to figure it out - we were the only ones in the dog, everyone was asleep, we were 20' off the ground, what the HECK?!!!

Then my drive & sleep-addled brain figured it out, it was the Dog's *ears* blowing against the building in the wind! The only time a dog's ears had waken me before or since.

Everyone had a good laugh, and everyone agreed it was one of the best places and memorable we had ever stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davedigerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

The welcome note propped up against the pillows mentions Sweet Willy's big ears, reminding visitors to not worry if they hear the "shwthump" sound in the quiet of the night; it is the big dog awake, happy & looking after them as they sleep. The ears are made of exterior carpeting and the lower portions of them do lift in the breeze giving a life-like quality to this special dog.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the belly of the beagle, Sweet Willy, for five days last week and we couldn't have been more thrilled with our experience! The bed has the most amazingly squishy mattress--the comfiest bed I've ever slept on. The attention to canine details in the room decor is awesome; there are dogs everywhere! Dennis and Frances aren't just hosts: they made us feel like we were hanging out with friends, and their golden retriever, Sprocket, is the adorable ambassador. Their recommendation of a local restaurant was totally on point, they gave us a hand-drawn shortcut map of how to save a few miles on the way to Montana, they put our "lost" luggage in our room when it was delivered the next day so we didn't have to lose a day waiting for them...the list goes on and on! Oh, and we really loved the daily breakfast/snack surprises!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

After adding a high-quality memory foam topper to the queen bed many of our guests mention how comfortable their sleep has been. In fact, Dennis & I sleep on the same topper at home & have found we don't toss and turn nearly as much. We're happy to help make sweet dreams possible.
We also enjoy varying snacking & breakfast offerings each day when visitors stay multiple nights. We especially strive to include as much local and regional foods in ingredients to our prepared foods as possible. Examples are the blackberries, rhubarb & other fruits we either pick or grow ourselves. We visit the local farmer's market for farm fresh eggs, veggies & other goodies. This week we featured garden strawberries, pretty speckled brown eggs & roasted coffee from local sources.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Not only is the Dog Bark Park Inn B&B tons of fun, the owners, Frances and Dennis are wonderful! Cottonwood is in a beautiful part of Idaho, and Frances & Dennis are very knowledgeable about the area and where to find good food, breweries, and wifi!!!. The Big Dog is super comfortable and just too much fun to describe. If you're in the area, it is worth the trip to spend a night or two in such a unique B&B. Frances & Dennis will make sure your stay is wonderful - they are two of the friendliest people I have met in quite some time! I'm so glad we added this stop to our trip through Idaho, it was definitely worth it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jccizows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Idaho is full of small towns like Cottonwood where memorable experiences await discovery often best found by chatting with locals for recommendations. We take great satisfaction in sharing our part of Idaho with the world, one special guest at a time. Thank you for taking the time to further share your experiences here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I received an email from Trip Advisor with the title "10 most unusual hotels" (don't quote me- it was something like that...) and when i saw the Dog Bark Park Inn listed, i immediately knew that it was where i wanted to go for our next vacation. I told my husband- who never cares where we go- as long as he's not working he's happy- and i started to make the plan. (He still thinks our vacation was to see the Redwood forest in California, but really it was alllll about the Dog Bark Park Inn). Frances and Dennis were amazing hosts and this place was fabulous. Wonderful accommodations, the bed was so comfortable- i didn't want to get up. I tell EVERYONE about the "dog hotel" and how fantastic it is- no one can believe you get to stay in the WHOLE dog- just you- and your family- no one else. I can't say enough positive things. The bathroom is huge and very bright with nice big fluffy towels. The loft area (Sweet Willie's head) is a perfect room for the kids to stay in. (we didn't bring any with us!) The balcony outside was nice to just sit and reflect and sit out and see the landscape on. Frances provided amazing goodies in the room to eat, cheese, fruit, yogurt, pastries, pretzels, juice and more- great!! There are many many books to read, and games to play and it's just so beautiful and peaceful here. My ONLY regret is that we only had time to stay one day. NEXT time we will stay for a couple of days. Up until this trip, the most unique hotel i ever stayed in was the Wigwam motel in Cave City Kentucky. The Dog Bark Park Inn is a MUST go to. You will not regret it. We flew from Philadelphia to Seattle and drove over 2000 miles in 5 days to see and do as much in the west that we could. I still say "it was all about the dog". I am sorry i didn't write my review sooner!! Thank you Dennis and Frances for creating such a wonderful place for people to stay and enjoy.

Room Tip: The whole dog is yours!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cin4513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

It was a list from Trip Advisor about Quirky places to stay. Sometimes we bristle a bit at the word "quirky" yet in all truth we admit the idea of staying inside a giant dog does fit the definition of quirky quite nicely. When building the big dog we put up a sign which is still there near the dog proclaiming, "A Noble & Absurd Undertaking." Dennis & I feel the phrases is an apt description for Dog Bark Park. However, we also feel everyone who visits also contributes to this noble and absurd undertaking! A wise elder gent reminded us one day that one cannot possess an ounce of nobleness without having equal amounts of absurdity too. We can do nothing but tend to agree with his assessment! What we do know most assuredly is that the world needs more genuine smiles & we're deeply humbled that our undertaking elicits such smiles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After reading about this hotel in some top quirky hotel list, we decided to take a little diversion from our vacation in the Pacific Northwest and we're so glad we did. B&B is great - bedroom and kitchenette in one room, surprisingly large bathroom and loft with smaller bed/play area in the dog's head. Main bed is very comfortable and they give you ample snacks and plenty of things to eat for breakfast (all really good). Dennis/Francis went above and beyond to help us out since we arrived late and Dennis is the nicest guy and more than willing to answer any questions you may have. We unfortunately didn't have the pleasure of meeting Francis due to our late arrival. No tv/internet is a non-issue - there are a multitude of games/books/puzzles to occupy your time and if you really need to access technology, there was pretty decent satellite reception (at least on Verizon). I wish Dennis/Francis continued success and hope that we can come back to their hotel some day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank klebbeck236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We're always so delighted and humbled when people travel out of their way to come stay in the big dog. And yes, Verizon is the best cell reception in our area. We periodically consider adding Wi-Fi at Dog Bark Park until we're reminded of the many guests who thank us for giving them the opportunity to be un-connected for a little while to instead enjoy the quiet prairie views, soft music on the radio, conversation with each other or reading & playing board games. Or, sinking into sweet sleep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Well worth a trip just to see it. This is located right off the highway and and they have thought of a great way to make your stay fun. We assumed they would be pet friendly and the place exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: Visit with the owners for things to do in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Saw this on PBS and made it a surprise stop for my husband on our annual anniversary trip. This is a must see and do for those that like to have fun experiences off the beaten path and meet fabulous people, Dennis and Francis, the Owners. There is no internet or tv but what the heck...its ok to go off the grid for a day or 2, really it is! The B&B is all yours, this is a great place for a couple, or a small family, and you can bring you dog(s). not sharing with anyone else and the property is also yours to explore. Kinda like your own park. We went before the snow, in September.
The food was very yummy, home made muffins, local fruits, coffee, cereals, continental style with a very personal touch. There are many books, board games, to pass the time or just going into town and meeting the very friendly locals was also fun.

Room Tip: One main sleeping room, with a loft for children to stay in, in the dogs head. Full bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
13.8 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 2 in Grangeville
69 reviews
15.7 mi away
Whitebird Summit Ranch
Whitebird Summit Ranch
#1 of 2 in Grangeville
43 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hearthstone Elegant Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Clearwater 12 Motel
Clearwater 12 Motel
#1 of 2 in Kamiah
60 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Dog Bark Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog Bark Park Inn

Address: 2421 Business Loop 95, Cottonwood, ID 83522-5030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range: £66 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on Trip Advisor's 2014 Best of Quirky Hotels List.Being in this dog-house is a GOOD thing! Idaho's famous World's Biggest Beagle is as comfortable as it is unique. Queen in main quarters, 2 twins in loft area. One hour drive from Lewiston, Idaho airport (LWS) & near famed Hells Canyon of the Snake River. We're a long mid-distance between Glacier & Yellowstone National Parks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dog Bark Park Hotel Cottonwood
Dog Bark Park Inn Idaho/Cottonwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing