We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Unforgettable Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dog Bark Park Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cottonwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dog Bark Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
331 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Stay!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I recommend this place not only to dog lovers but to anyone who appreciates whimsy, nature and excellent service. Sweet Willy is the name of the beagle we stayed in. He was very accommodating and comfortable with a spacious bathroom and lots of doggie themed games and books. The level of craftsmanship was astounding! I really appreciate Dennis having taken the time to give us a tour of the park and explain how he and Frances went about creating this wonderful place. The breakfast was filling and delicious. It included a variety of juices, eggs, fruit, cheese, cereal, homemade granola and bread.

The property is fun and the town is very small but it has a good restaurant and a great microbrewery. Frances and Dennis were very kind and gracious hosts and their Golden Retriever, Sprocket, was the perfect ambassador! I had called in advance and placed an order for a custom made piece of my dog who recently died. It was all I had hoped it would be! They captured Howie's spirit and my family was very touched by the attention to detail. It's clear that Dennis and Frances love and appreciate dogs and it shows in the art that they do.

If you are interested in unique places or in folk art, you will enjoy visiting Dog Bark Park. If you love dogs, this is a must! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank American_Cobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Not only do we have an affinity for dogs we enjoy sharing dog stories with our guests and visitors; dogs have a way of filling our hearts in ways that are long remembered. But of course it's not a requirement that guests be dog people, just people interested to experience a stay that is memorably different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
60
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Loved this place! Dennis and Francis made our family visit very welcoming! We enjoined the games that were available to play and the food was all very natural and delicious! Our beagles were happy to run around and I got a beagle statue for my birthday from my daughter! I would strongly recommend to anyone that loves their dog and the peace and quiet that living in the country offers. We will be coming back!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are so honored that people travel sometimes a very long distance out of their way to come experience Dog Bark Park. We strive to surprise and delight all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Found out about Dog Bark Park on Trip Advisor. Decided to make the stay a surprise for my hubby on our way to the West Coast. Was he ever surprised. The look on his face was priceless! The whole experience was beyond words. Spent the evening on the deck and saw an incredible sunset. The mattress is like sleeping on a cloud. Wow! Dennis and Frances are wonderful hosts AND so is Sprocket (the official meeter/greeter dog). HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: Only one room from which to choose and it is PERFECT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Who doesn't like happy surprises?! We enjoy helping make them happen when one guest makes the visit a surprise for other members of the travel party. It's all such fun. In our opinion the world needs more genuine smiles & if coming to stay inside a giant dog helps in that regard we are truly honored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Our family, which includes teens, loved staying at the Dog Bark Park Inn! All of the dog touches were great: the dog headboard, dog cookies, dog themed games and books. Lots of fun picture ops! There is no tv, but there are games, puzzles, and books to fill hours of time. The porch is a great place to enjoy your morning coffee. Everything was clean and the bed was comfy. The owners leave lots of snacks and plenty of food and juice for breakfast in the fridge. Definitely glad we stayed!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We are honored that families from far corners of the country, & sometimes the world, plan their vacations out west based on availability at the big dog. We strive in all ways to make everyone's stay memorable, comfortable and at least a bit beyond expectations. Making sure food selections are appealing & plentiful for teens & their parents one way we strive to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Every time we get ready to leave the Dog Bark my kids are already asking when we are coming back. What more is there to say except we all love coming here to sleep in the belly of the "big dog". However, we especially love coming so that we have a chance to visit with Dennis and Frances. They are two of the most amazing and nicest people you will ever meet. It is very much worth the beautiful drive to get to Cottonwood. Looking forward to seeing you both in 2015!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travlinfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We especially enjoy our returning guests to see how the children have grown, catch up on events that have transpired between visits & learn new things about each other. The friendships we make as innkeepers are treasured.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is truly a labor of love. Dennis Sullivan is a genius when it comes to working with wood, as you can see in his shop next to the B&B. Frances and Dennis were excellent hosts and just talking with them made you feel comfortable, even before you lay on the soft mattress inside the giant beagle. The stay at Dog Bark Park made my wife and I feel like kids again. There was a ton of doggy detail in the interior, the special baked treats by Frances and Dennis were excellent, the loft area with the games and books was a favorite, and playing bean bag toss was also a great joy. We also enjoyed a nice cup of coffee on the two story deck...watching the sun set across the rolling hills of the Idaho countryside. Cottonwood may not be on your list of places to go, but just to witness "Sweet Willy Brown" and talk with Dennis and Frances...it would be worth the trip.

Room Tip: The best tip I can give you is to enjoy reading about all the sculptures and creations in the Dog Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We agree, there's nothing like enjoying the sunset from the 2nd story deck on a warm summer's evening. And on a few nights in Sept or October guests can watch the local high school football games from the comfort of the deck, too. Reading the scoreboard might be a tad bit difficult but it's easy to know when the local team scores by the blare of an ambulance siren!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife, kids (8&10) and myself stayed here in 2012 and just LOVED it. There was a brief fight over who got to stay in the dog's nose, but everyone had a great night's sleep, except me. I woke up at 2am to the strangest swoosh-thumping sound I'd ever heard. Shwthump. pause for minute. Shwthump. repeat. Protective-Dad instincts on full alert, I crept around trying to figure it out - we were the only ones in the dog, everyone was asleep, we were 20' off the ground, what the HECK?!!!

Then my drive & sleep-addled brain figured it out, it was the Dog's *ears* blowing against the building in the wind! The only time a dog's ears had waken me before or since.

Everyone had a good laugh, and everyone agreed it was one of the best places and memorable we had ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davedigerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
The welcome note propped up against the pillows mentions Sweet Willy's big ears, reminding visitors to not worry if they hear the "shwthump" sound in the quiet of the night; it is the big dog awake, happy & looking after them as they sleep. The ears are made of exterior carpeting and the lower portions of them do lift in the breeze giving a life-like quality to this special dog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
15.7 mi away
Whitebird Summit Ranch
Whitebird Summit Ranch
#1 of 2 in Grangeville
38 reviews
13.8 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 2 in Grangeville
58 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hearthstone Elegant Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog Bark Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog Bark Park Inn

Property: Dog Bark Park Inn
Address: 2421 Business Loop 95, Cottonwood, ID 83522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on Trip Advisor's 2014 Best of Quirky Hotels List.Being in this dog-house is a GOOD thing! Idaho's famous World's Biggest Beagle is as comfortable as it is unique. Queen in main quarters, 2 twins in loft area. One hour drive from Lewiston, Idaho airport (LWS) & near famed Hells Canyon of the Snake River. We're a long mid-distance between Glacier & Yellowstone National Parks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dog Bark Park Hotel Cottonwood
Dog Bark Park Inn Idaho/Cottonwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing