We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”
Review of Seven Devils Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Council
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seven Devils Lodge
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Just returned from a weekend adventure at the remarkably beautiful Seven Devils Lodge near Councl, Idaho. The property's big, lush valley setting was utterly spectacular. Our hosts D.R. and Teddi, couldn't have been more friendly, flexible and helpful from the moment we arrived. I have to comment on their ability to quickly adapt to the needs (sometimes ever-changing) of each individual spending the weekend. I, (retired), was there with my guest (a medical professional), and we were there to spend the weekend riding horses, fly fishing and hiking in the beautiful west Idaho mountains. There were two other groups sharing the 5 bedroom/suite lodge, and gracious hospitality.

The other groups included a younger couple, who were now expecting their first child (after having booked their adventure 7 months ago) and would therefore be limited by any strenuous activity, and a father who brought his 6 year old son as a last minute replacement, adding more limitations to the group. I was pleasantly surprised by the professional flexibility displayed by our two hosts. Not only was everyone's activity requests/restrictions catered to, but,we actually felt pampered. My guest and I participated in virtually every activity (fishing, hiking, shooting, riding, hot-tubbing, campfires....) and were never the least bit inconvenienced. We were amazed at the way all lodge activities were adjusted for each individual. Again, D.R. and Teddi were amazing, I have never seen two people work so hard to provide such a high level of personalized hospitality. I highly recommend this resort/lodge for anyone (seniors, couples, families...) seeking a relaxing and memorable getaway with truly personalized hospitality (as opposed to "cookie-cutter"/corporate resorts"). Great service, lodging and activities, all in a placid, scenic and remote location - paradise found.

Room Tip: All suites were convenient and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7DevilsLodge, Manager at Seven Devils Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself. We are incredibly blessed to have such fabulous guests and hope that you will consider returning one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

I've been to the lodge three years in a row now to snowmobile and have every intention of going back! The service, lodge, guiding, riding, and food are all great. Even when I was worried about snow conditions the guides insured we rode fresh, un-tracked snow every day. There is more riding area than you'd think and they are very conscious of everybody's riding ability. Even when the group ranged from intermediate level riders to much more experienced riders they will make sure everyone has challenging terrain without pushing you too far. I have a Cabin 45 min away and still have gone here multiple times.

Staff is second to none! This is a great place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7DevilsLodge, Manager at Seven Devils Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Matt,

Thanks for your thoughtful review of Seven Devils Lodge. We so appreciate you taking the time to offer comments on your experiences while at the Lodge. Hope you're able to visit again someday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We take a annual trip to the lodge, and everytime we come back with a great memory of some fantastic backcountry adventures. The Food is perfect hearty comfort food everyone can enjoy!
The accomadations work out great for all types of group and sizes. We love the lodge, but what is most amazing is the countryside out there. Snowmobilers takes on all types of riders, and skill levels these guys have a way of accomadating all levels. Don't forget to take your camera because you will certainly going to go thru a memory card in the lodges countryside. Can't wait till next years trip!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7DevilsLodge, Manager at Seven Devils Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Kyle,

We so appreciate your kind response. Glad you enjoy the amazing country out here~we agree, it is certainly picture-worthy! We look forward to your annual visit and are grateful you took the time to review our Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Seven Devils Lodge is located in an 18,000 acre working cattle ranch about 30 miles outside of Council, Idaho and an easy drive from Boise. The lodge has only a few rooms so there are not too many guests at a time. Our room was very nice with an outdoor balcony. There are porch swings, hammocks and a hot tub for relaxing at the lodge. The activities available include horseback riding on lovely trails, fishing, shooting, mountain biking, hunting, and in winter, snowmobiling. The setting is gorgeous.

We were most interested in horseback riding and the owners agreed to let us bring our own horses. Our horses enjoyed the visit as much as we did - they were given a huge and lovely pasture away from the other horses. The lodge had very well behaved trail horses that were well treated and safe to ride or to ride with (we tried riding our own as well as a ride on their horses - not a single incident of kicking or misbehavior of any kind). There was a resident dog and 2 resident cats that were well cared for an a pleasure to visit with. You may be lucky enough to see or hear wildlife - we heard coyotes and cranes; possibly wild turkeys as well? The managing couple did a good job of answering questions before our arrival, and making sure we enjoyed our stay once we arrived. The food was decent, and ice tea and water are available all the time.

This is a huge working ranch that happens to have a lodge on it; I was glad they open it up to share because although I would love to, I could never afford such a place. Although they are working cattle and in many ways living an old fashioned "cowboy" life here, they are clearly progressive too. Unlike many ranches, the cats and dogs were spayed and neutered, and they go to the trouble of separating recycling and hauling it into town. The entire place was very well maintained and incredibly beautiful.

You can learn more on their website: http://www.sevendevilslodge.com/home

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Seven Devils Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Devils Lodge

Address: 4043 Council Cuprum Rd, Council, ID 83612-5025
Region: United States > Idaho > Council
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Council
Price Range: £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Seven Devils Lodge Idaho/Council

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing