We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the water but that is the best I can say!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dover Bay Resort Sandpoint
Ranked #2 of 2 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2012

No one arrived to checked us in; the key was taped to the bungalow door. The sofa was so full of dog hair that we had to cover it with a sheet until the manager finally came and unhappily vacuumed it and we still used the sheet. The front door screen would hardly open without a big push. I could go on and on. Needless to say our stay was cut very short. There are too many nice places to stay in Sandpoint and this is not one of them. Not recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MillieColville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

The good- clean and modern rooms, close to Sandpoint, plenty of amenities, better than average food at the Dish, friendly staff, peaceful and quiet.

The bad - overly expensive, odd location with the power poles running right through the property, the pool is shallow and the hot tub was filthy.

This place was still a 9 out of 10. It's always easy to pick on the Bad stuff.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have stayed here in winter and summer and enjoy the privacy of the cabanas, the lakeside location and the easy access to the marina. The free WIFI is another nice perk and the pool a good option if the lake too cold. Everything about the cabin was perfectly clean and in pristine condition. The kitchen is small but good enough and so many great places to eat in downtown Sandpoint. We also really enjoy the summer farmer's markets and the fresh huckleberries when you can get them.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie_clb_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We are just back from a week at Dover Bay resort. I have only good things to say!!
We stayed in a two bedroom cabin directly on the water. it is a beautiful location. it is right at the river mouth but might as well be the lake. perhaps the water is a little calmer here.
The staff were great. we were there before cabin was ready, so we sat (with dogs) at their cafe. They came to find us twice to give us updates.
Once in our cabin, it was clean and very nice. furniture seemed new. Everything we needed was supplied (dishes, pots/pans/towels). it is a small cabin but we knew that from the pictures. however there was a full kitchen. i agree that the furniture is a bit oversized for the small space, but couch and beds were very comfortable. Also we had a big veranda with two chairs. there is also a picnic table in front of each cabin.
The view was spectactular. we were right on the water. Ten steps ,then jump in. there is a small public beach a few meters away as well. there were lots of trails/paths to walk the dogs. There is a pool and hot tub but we prefered to just jump in the lake.
We ate at "the Dish" 5 times! mostly lunches. The food was wonderful and service super friendly.
The marina was very convenient . we brought seadoos and having our own slip was great! we spent hours on the water.
The bottom line is : Next yr we will stay longer!!!!

Room Tip: We specifically said Waterfront and were not disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmkAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

Sorry but the room was so unclean when we got there I would be surprised if anyone cleaned it before we showed up. The fold out couch was true worst.

We ha a one bedroom on the water and it was pretty but the power lines overpowered any view.

The pool was murky and gross. We liked the idea but were disappointed in general.

The restaurant was fun and pretty tasty.

We may try but again but for the price were disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ajcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We've stayed at Dover Bay twice--summer and fall--and love the cabins and view of Lake Pend O'Reille/Priest River. Gas fireplace, spacious porch with brightly painted Adirondack chairs, kitchenette, private bedroom, pet friendly. However, furniture is oddly oversized, making the rooms feel crowded. Waterfront cabins definitely worth the splurge. Pool and hot tub, exercise facility, gift shop and restaurant are a short walk from cabins. We like the non-resort feel -- the dozen or so cabins are surrounded by woods and the neighbors are, well, neighbors. Houses, bungalows and a condo unit are occupied by year-round or seasonal owners. Sandpoint is a 5-10 minute drive, lots of galleries, restaurants, taverns, historic Panada Theater and Coldwater Creek's flagship store.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindahagenmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Cabins were very nice, new, well kept. We liked having a gas fireplace in our cabin, and pretty much had it fired up every evening. (5nights) We were a little surprised at how empty the resort was, and a little disappointed that we did not get the waterfront Cabin we requested. In all fairness, when we finally did catch up with someone from the resort ( as we arrived a little later on a Sunday the cabin key was left with restaurant staff ) , a move was offered to us, but we were ultimately too lazy to pack up and move to another cabin.
Beautiful lake views, nice walkways, a little bit odd being in a subdivision / resort . I was expecting more resort. less neighborhood. We did enjoy relaxing on the Marina Patio Bar. Good food, drink and service, right on the lake. Gorgeous !
Should we vacation in Sandpoint again, we would likely return to Dover Bay Resort. Considering location (on the lake) , new, nicely decorated cabins, with a kitchenette, in a quiet, just a little off the hustle and bustle area, we found our stay at Dover Bay Resort, to be good value for the dollar.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianwieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
3.2 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
5.1 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
166 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 6 in Sandpoint
89 reviews
8.2 mi away
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dover Bay Resort Sandpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover Bay Resort Sandpoint

Address: 659 Lakeshore Avenue, Dover, ID 83825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Dover
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £94 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dover Bay Resort Sandpoint 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dover Bay Resort Sandpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Bay Resort Sandpoint Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing