We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdoor Adventure” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Targhee Vacation Rentals

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Targhee Vacation Rentals
kunderwood01
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outdoor Adventure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a great place for people of all ages to enjoy the outdoors, no matter the season. It's a bit of a drive from Jackson, but only 20 or so minutes from Alta.

There are many activities to choose from and all are reasonably priced. We've taken the chairlift and have rented downhill bikes, although they do offer cross country bikes. There are a handful of hiking trails, too.

The breakfast was included and was better than we'd expected: eggs, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, sausage, bacon, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, oatmeal and a beverage. The coffee is good and strong!

The rooms are definitely outdated, but really, you're here to be outside (hopefully) and not longing in the room! We had a studio is the Sioux Lodge, complete with a balcony, double bed, bunk beds, kitchen table and mini fridge. The bed is very soft, not my type for comfort but it may be for others.

my only suggestion would be to bring your own wine bottle opener, as there seem to be non on at the resort except for at the restaurant.

Overall, I'd recommend this resort to anyone!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousTravelerMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Everything was great the unit was super, movies and games for kids. Excellent furniture (best sofa sleeper I have ever seen, no hard middle bars). If you are going to yellowstone, it's almost 2 hr. drive each way, that was a draw back, also pool and buffet breakfast were 8 miles up the road. We only went once. Most of are time was spent traveling to yellowstone. Would love to go back and stay, just to enjoy the area. Owners have the unit equipped just as if they lived there, even a telescope to view the stars. Enjoyed reading the guest book owners have for you to sign. Would recommend this to families who want an outdoors getaway that is quiet and beautiful.Had 3 grandchildren with us and unit was large enough for us to enjoy, and not feel cramped. No air cond. Some of the reviews about the grocery store said the food was bad and cost was to high, not so . We found everthing was just about right for tourist town.

Room Tip: All the units are in the trees There is a small river that runs by the units. If you like to ski a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scooter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

Let's see, where to start...Both hot tubs were broken, the ice machine was broken, no zip line or "ropes course" like advertised, and activities desk lost our river trip reservations not just once, but TWICE!

The good things about the resort were the views and stars at night. Too bad I will never stay here again even if the area is beautiful.

Customer service was terrible. After all problems and some serious complaining to staff they refunded $25 on a $600+ room rate. Not good enough for me, not even close.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToughGirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

We stayed in a second floor unit managed by a vacation club (TAN). Given that our condo may not be decorated or furnished the same as those provided by Targhee Resort, I can at least provide some insight as the general location, service, and facilities.

First of all, the management office employees are very friendly and happy to assist with directions and general knowledge of the area. The staff on premise really made us feel at home. The grounds and common areas were clean and well maintained. Given all the snow, there was daily snow removal and a courtesy van shuttle that can take you to and from the ski-area that is about 15-20 minutes up the road. Additionally, there are two really big jacuzzi spas on premise and you can use the fitness room and pool up at the ski area too.

The condos are situated right by a creek and surrounded by trees (not heavily wooded). We had a view of the mountains from our deck, but the view is probably blocked a little in the summer by the trees. It was still very pleasant.

The layout of the condos is very nice with plenty of room in closets to hang up winter jackets, a comfortable bed and a kitchen functional enough to prepare a fabulous dinner. I can say that our condo was well furnished with a nice sofa and chair in the living room.

As for the general area, Driggs is a small town on the other sided of the Teton Pass (40 minute drive in good weather) and is considered the "quieter side of the mountain". The main attraction in the winter is the skiing at Targhee. I can say that my beginner ski experience with the fabulous instructors there was fun and without any falls! And no lines for the lifts.

If you plan to travel back and forth to Jackson during the winter, I’d recommend renting an AWD or 4WD vehicle. The pass is normally cleared, but can be icy. Bring your good sunglasses too. The "flat light", an effect of fog, snow, and sunlight, makes it difficult to discern the road from the edge of the road if the snow is really coming down and good sunglasses will help.

When planning your shopping trips, you should know that Driggs has a large population of Mormans so Sunday is sacred and most stores are closed including the grocery stores. Plan to do your grocery shopping before Sunday unless you want to make a trip to Jackson.

The local grocery stores had a nice selection. There is a food market/cafe in the town of Victor (about 10 mins south of Driggs - can't miss it) on the main street that had some excellent looking fish, meats, and ready-to-heat dinners. Organic foods seem to be everywhere and there is even a good selection of wines for such small towns.

  • Liked — Great location and value
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Equestrian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

Ad states 'These condominium units are comfortably furnished in mountain décor. Rustic looking log-post beds support large mattresses and quilt-covered comforters. The living area features track lighting, a modern sofa, and elegant glass coffee table.'

'24-hour front desk' ' Spa Tub - Tub only ' 'Climate Control, dial up internet access, fireplace'
However, unfortunately, neither the ad nor the pictures shown were what the condo we were in was like. The bed was an old iron bed welded together, the sofa was fake leather and the coffee table was actually a big ottoman. When we arrived, (3:00 pm in the afternoon) the office was closed. The spa was closed for repair, the fireplace did not work, which meant no heat at all because the thermostat was broken, the bedroom has hookups for a TV, but no TV, and there were no instructions for the dial up internet. The condo had no security locks at all and no ceiling fans as shown in the pictures. It was, however, very clean. The kitchen and bathroom areas were fine. It did have a patio, however, no chairs and no light.
Instead of enjoying our stay, we spent the entire time making a list of all that we found wrong. We had 2 nights booked and paid for, but left after the first night.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — Not as advertised for the price
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nascargirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2007

Well we came back for the kid's springbreak, to take advantage of the last week of open ski runs at Grand Targhee.
Pretty much everythying was fine: snow, sunshine, our mood and 'funability' - exception: the condition of the condo! This time >somebody< must have forgotten to do the cleaning, after the last guests left ... we had to clean everthing ourself, okay no problem, if the vacuum would have been functional ... But the two newly build / installed jakuzzis at the resort were a big plus for the afternoon apres ski hang out ... So will come back one more time in the next two years, but surprises are looming obviously everywhere (at least potentially)... Nevertheless Driggs is a booming condo megatown - which will create it's own problems, but this older resort of simple buildings with basic services is fun for an "average traveler" - not much exitement at the resort, but a perfect get-away hangout for people who like the simple life and quite evenings ...



  • Liked — Easy check-in, no noise creation around, quick to reach from highway, the new jacuzzis
  • Disliked — the condo was REALLY DIRTY - no one there to complain ...
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank berobrinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2004

The best thing about this deal is the rate! 75 bucks a night for a fully furnished 1 bedroom condo at the base of the Tetons!
We (wife/2kids) had an excellent stay.
The condo was clean and had good decor etc...not like a cheap hotel.
Skiing was so-so at Grand Targhee. They needed new snow and didn't get it while we were there. But Driggs is a cool little mountain town with nice shops and restraunts. Two tv's with vcr and sattelite. We took our own grocerys and spirits and had a great stay. We drove from SLC in just over 4 hours. It was one of the most reasonably priced vacations I can remember.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driggs
8.9 mi away
Grand Targhee Resort
0.9 mi away
Teton Valley Cabins
Teton Valley Cabins
#2 of 7 in Driggs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Teton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Teton Teepee Lodge
Teton Teepee Lodge
#2 of 4 in Alta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
17.0 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa- A Noble House Resort
8.8 mi away
Teewinot Lodge at Grand Targhee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Targhee Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Targhee Vacation Rentals

Property: Grand Targhee Vacation Rentals
Address: 18 N Main St, Driggs, ID 83422-5143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Driggs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Driggs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Targhee Vacation Rentals 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Targhee Resort Vacation Rentals offers a wide select vacation homes located just off Ski Hill Road. Home are centrally located in Driggs, making Teton Valley your home away from home during your vacation or family getaway. Whether you are looking for the custom log home in the aspens or a traditional home with modern finishes, you are sure to enjoy the space and comfort these homes will provide for your entire family. Amenities differ with each of our private homes, but special features include private hot tubs, fireplaces, iPod docking station, 2 car garages, and large outside decks complete with barbecue grills and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Targhee Vacation Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Targhee Vacation Rentals Hotel Driggs
Grand Targhee Vacation Rentals Driggs, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing