We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I did not want to leave-just perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Luxury bedroom.........
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury bedroom.........
Curl up in front of the wood burner ............. Just relax..........
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Luxury bedroom.........
Curl up in front of the wood burner .............
Just relax..........
Fully equipped kitchen
Relax with a glass of wine....
Try the in bedroom slipper bath...........
Wonderful double shower with watering can head
Relax in the shower.....
Plan your day out over a glass of wine
Surrounded by nature
The most beautiful sunsets
Make new friends
Wander along the beck side, forget all your troubles.....
View to die for............
Meet the neighbours.....
Just another sunset in Great Asby......
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Great Asby, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patricia...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I did not want to leave-just perfect!”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thank you Steve & Debbie for your comments. I will be definitely visit Turnip House again. Excellent accommodation, country living with all the necessary modern facilities. Very dog friendly, safe wth loads of space for them to run around. Great base for exploring the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. I had a truly wonderful experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thanks for your kind review. You were a pleasure to host and I hope we'll see you again in the future. Lots more to see in the area and every season brings something new, All the very best for the future. Steve & Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillant68
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

From the warm welcome to the reluctant farewell, the stay in Turnip House could not be faulted. The house is an excellent place to stay and explore the stunning Cumbrian countryside. The quality of the property is 1st class and has everything you could need. I would highly recommend Town Head Farm cottages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Thanks for such a wonderful review! The location is great and we try hard to keep everything at a very high standard. Love to see you again, you're always welcome. Best wishes for the future. Steve & Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
futch_ca
Brighton UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing break”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

what a wonderful find. We were very impressed with the quality and finish of the cottage. Very relaxed stay only slightly hampered by the inclement weather. We still enjoyed visiting County Durham, The Lakes, The Yorkshire Dales and Eden Valley. This cottage really is ideally situated for exploring all of these areas. We would definitely return.. The dogs loved it too. I fell in love with the chickens running around the farm yard. They are so funny. They ran to greet us every morning and we even got some eggs for breakfast. Can't beat that! we loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the finish
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thanks for such a nice review, sorry we were on holiday and didn't meet up, perhaps next time. The chickens are like pets and follow Debbie around everywhere............ Hope you enjoyed breakfast, great to see you enjoyed the area in every direction, perfect for new visitors to the area. Thanks again for being so kind. Regards Steve & Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing