We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem”
Review of Hotel Doussiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Doussiere
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Rozier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My stay at the hotel was wonderful. I stayed in the main building, though friends stayed in the annex, a short walk away on the opposite side of the river. It was clean and the staff were accommodating. (Bring your phrase book, though their English was certainly better than my poorly recalled high school French). The town is a small one, but the shops met my need for grocery shopping and supplies for my local day trips in the nearby national park. In the evening, dinner in the hotel's restaurant was unhurried and top quality. The woman (one of the owners, I believe) explained the courses well and her recommendations for an accompanying wine were spot-on. This site overall has it all. A perfect location in an area of great natural beauty, a lovely hotel with owners who clearly take pride in their establishment, and an excellent choice for a stay. It would be so easy for the owners to take less care for their patrons as the options for places to stay in the town are limited, but this wasn't the case at all. Without exception the owners and staff went above and beyond in treating each patron with exceptional kindness and courtesy.

Room Tip: Even rooms on the street side are quiet; not much in the way of nighttime traffic in Le Rosier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Triphora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We visited this hotel at the end of a hiking trip down the Tarn gorge. It was an unexpected find, the rooms are recently refurbished and a reasonable size for 2 star. The Spa pool was a particularly pleasant find after 5 days hiking. The staff were very helpful explaining each dish in English if required. The food was excellent, well cooked and imaginative interpretation of classic dishes. It was incredible value for money. One very minor problem was who advised them to squeeze a separate toilet into the room? I have never seen such a tiny space used for a toilet, it would have been much better leaving it as part of the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GandS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel, the rooms where clean and comfortable. The meals where outstanding and also our choice of wine. The staff are very helpful and friendly, would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Visited hotel Doussiere back in Sept last year when on a motorbike tour of France & vowed to return with my other half & some family- so glad I did as before the service was superb the welcome warm & this time although in the Anex across the river found the same very high level of cleanliness & decor that we had previously found in the main hotel. Top marks to the owners and you now have 5 new fans as well as myself

Room Tip: you can't loose both the hotel and anex are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovy1970s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a very pleasant family run country inn, the rooms are impeccable, the beds comfortable. What strikes most, immediately on arrival & throughout the stay, is the friendliness of the owners and their staff. We were a couple & two individuals, we had 3 rooms, we stayed only one night as we were touring the region. The main part of the hotel and the restaurant are on one side of the little river, there is an annex the other side of the river.
The village, on both sides of the river, is charming.
The restaurant has a terrace overlooking the river. We had dinner there, original dishes very well presented, absolutely excellent.

Room Tip: Probably best to be in the main part of the hotel with a room overlooking the river, as we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian201016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here in June, as arranged by our outfitter, Enlightened Traveller. We were on a self-guided hike through the Tarn Gorges and while each hotel arranged for by the outfitter was clearly the best choice in the area, we may have liked Hotel Doussiere the best. The staff was welcoming and kind. If it is important to you, some of the Staff speak fluent English.
The food was terrific. Their breakfast was the best, with lots of good choices, fresh yogurt and fruit, along with pastries juice and coffee. The room we had was a bit odd by American standards (an armoire wedged in next to the door was our only hope of a closet or drawers), but was overall clean and spacious.
Having dinner at Hotel Doussiere affords one a view on the Tarn river, looking over it to the lovely town of Peyreleau.
The town of Le Rozier is clearly a crossroads of many kinds, as this is where two rivers meet (La Jonte and Le Tarn) and we saw many bicyclists, motorcyclists and holiday makers passing through or staying in town. It is a charming town and well worth a visit. For those coming through, I would not hesitate to recommend the family run Hotel Doussiere.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seenitChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a delicious and creative meal, served quickly, and in a beautiful setting. The soup was one of the best I have ever had. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel was good as well. However no swimming pool or fitness center,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Rozier
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Muse et du Rozier
11.3 mi away
Chateau D'Ayres
Chateau D'Ayres
#2 of 8 in Meyrueis
503 reviews
12.4 mi away
Chateau de la Caze
Chateau de la Caze
#3 of 5 in Sainte-Enimie
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hotel du Mont Aigoual
Hotel du Mont Aigoual
#1 of 8 in Meyrueis
237 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Burlatis
Hotel Burlatis
#1 of 5 in Sainte-Enimie
247 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Doussiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doussiere

Address: route de Meyrueis | Le Rozier-Peyreleau, 48150 Le Rozier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lozere > Le Rozier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Rozier
Price Range: £44 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Doussiere 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Doussiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing