We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Value for a Value Motel”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grangeville
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional Value for a Value Motel”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at this motel while passing through for work, opting to stay at the Gateway Inn over the Super 8 largely due to price (it was $10-15 cheaper per room - we need two rooms for our crew).

My first impression of the motel was the energetic young woman who answered my call. She was quick to note that the motel was "newly remodeled" and listed off the amenities (every room has a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker), and quickly found pricing and availability for us.

Upon arrival, we discovered the rooms not only to be "newly remodeled", but everything looked BRAND NEW. New carpet, flooring in the bathroom, countertops, furniture, bath tub/enclosure, TV, etc.

The shower had amazing pressure. We stay in a different motel every night, and this was probably the best shower I have found in a motel room in months.

I stayed in room 130, which was a corner room and had windows on two walls. It also looked down into the pool. The weather was a little cool for the pool, but I was told that we had access to Super 8's pool and hot tub (about a block away).

The wireless internet access was excellent - I was able to watch a streamed movie without issue.

Their continental breakfast is on par with most Super 8 or Days Inn motels.

For the value, this is definately a great deal. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms set back from the street are porbably the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobertSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    35
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
26
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The day before their 100th rodeo, we arrived wet and tired from an early morning storm in our campsite.
The staff at Gateway Inn gave us a room, a few hours before checkin to accodomate our problem.
We got a very good rest in a clean room, good breakfast, near other restaurants and were treated in a warm, caring way.
We were happy and grateful with every aspect of this facility and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blissss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snake River Plain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Really comfortable king-size bed. Clean room, good reading lights, comfortable chairs, and nice amenities. The continental breakfast was good with a couple of unexpected extras (fresh fruit). We will definitely return in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, MT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights while we explored nearby Hell's Canyon. It's an older hotel, but nicely remodeled. Comfy beds, new bathroom, fridge and microwave in the room. Service was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a nice variety of cereals, toast, fruit, juices. There is a very nice outdoor pool for the summer. We are going back with our daughter so she can see the Canyon too.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyfulHiker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

My teen grandson & I were just traveling through on our way home from vacation. The Super 8 was full for the night, but they referred me to their overflow motel, The Gateway Inn, just through the parking lot. Because of my physical need to be on the ground floor, my teen grandson and I stayed in the largest room in the motel, which included 2 double beds and a sitting area at a reasonable cost. The bathroom area included a large changing area near the sink and a separate shower/toilet area. The shower was spacious and the towels fluffy. My grandson wanted to take a late swim, got a towel from the clerk, and had a really nice swim in the outdoor pool. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. We were referred to a local restaurant, Oscar's, for a late dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both meals there. They do provide a breakfast onsite, but we were up too late to partake. We loved the fact that the entire motel is NON-SMOKING!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gramontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

Went beck through Grangeville, The Super 8 Motel, their other property was full so we stayed at their Gateway Inn Motel. As was their Super 8 - it was clean and had great beds. We took the kids over to the Super 8 to swim in their indoor pool as the outdoor pool at Gateway was closed for the season.

It was a little less expensive and well worth the price. We were glad that we had another option as we did not call ahead for reservations which we will do next time. The property was in the process of remodeling and our room was remodeled and their breakfast was also good like the Super 8. It is nice when your kids eat alot.

We had a great dinner just steps away at Ernies Steakhouse which we found out about through the Idaho Statesman newspaper here in Boise as the were picked as one of the top ten Steakhouses in Idaho. We watched the sunset from our room and just had another great stay in Grangeville.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — not as nice as the Super 8 BUT still great.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BoiseTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

We stayed here one night in July and were not disppointed. The room was large but needed renovating. The hotel recently changed owners and is being renovated this Summer. One of the two queen beds was pretty soft, but the other was fine. Their pool was great...recently relined. Towels were new and fluffy. There was a sufficient breakfast included, all for under $60. The best hotel in town, the Super 8, was oversold, so the Gateway was a good second choice. The hotel previously was named Monty's Motel.

Helpful?
4 Thank FarAndWide_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grangeville
7.3 mi away
Whitebird Summit Ranch
Whitebird Summit Ranch
#1 of 2 in Grangeville
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Downtowner Inn
Downtowner Inn
#2 of 2 in Grangeville
8 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hearthstone Elegant Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bear Creek Lodge
Bear Creek Lodge
#4 of 11 in McCall
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Grangeville
Super 8 Grangeville
#1 of 2 in Grangeville
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 700 W Main St, Grangeville, ID 83530-1348
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Grangeville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grangeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 2 Diamond rated property, newly remodeled, NOW 2 New rooms with Kitchenettes! outdoor pool, Direct TV with HBO and ESPN etc., King and Queen deluxe beds, refrig/microwaves, guest laundry, guest computers, high speed Internet, breakfast bar. Next door to Subway Restaurant, Taco Johns, Pizza Factory, Palenque Mexican Restaurant, Oscars Restaurant and Brodocks Lounge. Designated pet rooms available. Coffee & Espresso Outlet on property! Also next door to our sister property Super 8 Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing