We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grangeville
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights this stay, and have stayed here on previous trips. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was great with nice, clean furnishings and a comfortable bed. There is a convenient drive thru espresso stand in the parking lot and while many of the local restaurants don't offer delivery, the hotel itself will pick up and deliver your food for only $3. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    31
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
22
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Friendly, cozy room for us to stay. Clean and comfortable. Mgr. Robin very efficient, cordial & receptive to the public. (Owner also has the Super8 in town. If this is what Super8 is like, I recommend it too. I heard it's #3 in the nation : ). Shower strong. Breakfast room small, but fine when just a few retired people who like to exchange ideas. A few small children makes it crowded. A question card asks for any suggestions, and we forgot to mention that the bathroom fan in # 109 QQ is beyond lubrication--please check it. It looks as if someone cares about this motel, and we know it will be checked. Thanks for a good stay. There is no restaurant, but somehow I cannot uncheck the Restaurant feature below which only stays on the "terrible" featured button.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredSecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Nice people. Great food in the morning. Close to food and drinks. Had a nice stay with no issues. Clean rooms and ok beds. Plenty of room and nice staff. We will stay here again if we travel to grangeville. cute little cowboy town

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
185 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I try to find something positive about each hotel we stay at but this place is very limited. It's an older place with outdoor entries and the rooms are clean with good lighting but the beds are far to soft for our liking. Desk clerk was friendly. Negatives were: Out door carpet was badly worn and a person can easily trip on it (up stairs). Air condition/heater is the older style that goes on and off through out the night and is to loud which limits a persons sleep. The back stairs leading to the rooms is just a few feet from the ally. Perhaps being a small town they don't have any trouble but it gives you an unsafe feeling. The bathroom is small. The majority of the tv stations were shopping channels. We would have stayed. At their sister hotel ( Super 8) but their beds were even softer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8idaho, Owner at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on out property. Yes we DID have a tear in the outdoor carpet. The replacement carpet was in our possession at the time of your stay but we were waiting for the installer to get time to fix it for us. You see, the installer works for our furniture store here (also under our ownership) and he had a busy two week stretch since the tear in the carpet happened. We did have it secured at one point but after i got your review i personally checked it out and you were correct in the potential tripping hazard... that was fixed that day and two days later new carpet was installed.

And yes you are correct in your assumption of our town... it is pleasantly safe here and we are very lucky for that. BUT we also have 8 cameras that we record the grounds with in order to assure more safety for those who stay with us. :)

Our TV is from Direct TV and yes i do agree we get several stations i wounld't want to watch either but thats "their hospitality" package. They tell us we get "many" stations for the money... :)

Again, we do appreciate your staying with us and assure you that we do appreciate the feedback and I'm sorry we didn't have that carpet completed. Please see our photo section on our page here and you'll see them getting it done. :) Also we will be remodeling some of our bathrooms this winter and have the plans done and will do when we slow down in our business so we don't disrupt our guest hammering and enlarging the bathrooms.

Have a great rest of the year and we hope you'll give us another try.

Take care, Ted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the gateway july 2013, infact the weekend of the Grangeville rodeo so the town was FULL. the room was clean, and the ac nice and cold despite the 100F temps outside. The pool was very clean and well kept. The included brekki was OK, but not much for protein options. We walked downtown for dinner and to see the rodeo, it's not that far. Staff was very nice, supplied us some rags to clean our helmets and such. good value.

Room Tip: smaller parking lot, but quite a few nice little spots to put your motorcycle with out taking a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jw900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Very nice large room. very helpful staff.

They found my thumb drive in the parking lot and returned it to me but post.

Very clean and located near center of town. Pool was refreshing and clean.

Good jumping off point for the Salmon river.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakelaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were on an extended camping thru OR, ID, and WA and in need of showers and
laundry. We had been thru Grangeville ID once before and found it a nice, friendly,
and very pretty place. When we arrived at the hotel, early...our room was not quite
ready but the desk clerk offfered to let us go ahead and do our laundry & a little
grocery shopping while the room was cleaned, The room was ready by the time
we finished and very nicely done. Clean, comfortable and it had all the amenities
of a large hotel. We will definitely stay with the Gateway Inn any time we are again
close to Grangeville

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowboy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grangeville
7.3 mi away
Whitebird Summit Ranch
Whitebird Summit Ranch
#1 of 2 in Grangeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Downtowner Inn
Downtowner Inn
#2 of 2 in Grangeville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hearthstone Elegant Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Grangeville
Super 8 Grangeville
#1 of 2 in Grangeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 700 W Main St, Grangeville, ID 83530-1348
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Grangeville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grangeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 2 Diamond rated property, newly remodeled, NOW 2 New rooms with Kitchenettes! outdoor pool, Direct TV with HBO and ESPN etc., King and Queen deluxe beds, refrig/microwaves, guest laundry, guest computers, high speed Internet, breakfast bar. Next door to Subway Restaurant, Taco Johns, Pizza Factory, Palenque Mexican Restaurant, Oscars Restaurant and Brodocks Lounge. Designated pet rooms available. Coffee & Espresso Outlet on property! Also next door to our sister property Super 8 Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Ebookers so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing