We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1,000,000 stars!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Horse Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
“1,000,000 stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Amazing!!! Great place for a family vacation! The parents and kids enjoyed the wide variety of activities and events! The campfires, karaoke, amazing race and cookout were all great ideas! The employees were wonderful and know how to do their jobs! The kids' horses were very friendly and the scenic rides were great! The ride into the mountains had a beautiful view and ahhhhs and oohhhhs were all that could be heard. The kids almost died when they heard that they got one free ice cream a day from the gift shop. The vacation was a great way for everyone to get to know each other and by the end of the week we were all one big family. It was a great family vacation and you can bet you'll see me there next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAS4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
136
37
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Have NEVER been to a Dude ranch before and I must say this was the most rewarding and wonderful experience I've had! Took our family so our group was 9. 7 adults and 2 children. I really had no idea what to expect, but was SO totally excited and happy with the results. The staff was outstanding, as well as the accommodations, food, entertainment, and the horses and the trails. I can not speak highly enough for the ranch. I would, in a heart beat, recommend this ranch as a vacation spot to all my friends! So many activities to choose from that catered to all the age groups of the families that were there with us! We had OUTSTANDING weather(I know, I know. Something we CAN NOT control) but still we really lucked out! We would most definitely go back to the ranch!

Room Tip: We had the HILL TOP house and it was wonderful!!! Very spacious, clean, accommodating, and had a GRE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Wow, wow, wow. This place checks every box and is a must go. Food, check. An amazing chef, after day one you will come to realize you need to have a strategy for what to eat, or else you may explode from over-indulgence.

Location, check. This place is stunning and is truly a slice of heaven.

Activities, check. They literally have everything, but the horse back riding steals the show. I took a lesson, which took me from a basic rider who can follow along on a trail, to a rider that was galloping as fast as the horse could go with control, where else would do that for you, and what a rush. Not to mention all the other fun stuff like a challenge course, mountain biking excellent and trustworthy kids program.

Staff- the staff are truly what make this place special. It is clear that every single person there is there to make sure you have fun. They have a rule that they do everything they can to not say no, and I found that was the case. They do so many things that must require an amazing amount of work in order to give you a cool experience. For example, ride your horse to dinner night and then hang out and eat another phenomenal meal in a meadow.

Also, this is the place to go to reconnect with your family/kids. Especially thinking those teenagers who don't want to be seen with their parents. Everyone will have fun and enjoy this place.

We don't like to "repeat" vacations, however, this was our second time here and we plan to return many, many more times.

Make your reservation now, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Syringa cabin and Garnet. Syringa has the best view as you can see the horse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 871Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Outstanding family vacation! Accommodations clean and comfortable, maintained daily. Staff is supportive with daily activities planned minimizing any downtime unless that is your choosing. Our seven year old boy went to bed tired and a little tearful every night and woke up the next morning after a good night sleep with a smile on his face. Thank you RHMR Crew, see you next year!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Stayed here a couple of years back for an early summer getaway with my teenage daughter. I cannot think of enough superlatives to describe our experience. My daughter (a teenager, mind you) still refers to this as her best vacation ever. Horseback riding, skeet shooting, mountain biking, and archery, topped off with fantastic food and amazing staff. From the time we got picked up at the airport, to the cook to each of the ranch hands, we were treated with respect, kindness and just the right amount of familiarity. The scenery was gorgeous, we tried all kinds of new activities and got a great massage on top of it all. This is definitely the perfect combination of the Ritz Carlton + City Slickers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2tough2please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

A friend had always dreamed of spending time at a guest ranch. I had been to another ranch several years back and had a wonderful time with my husband. So we launched a "girl's giddyup getaway week" at Red Horse. There is not enough time to tell how far this ranch exceeded my expectations. The staff was wonderful. The food was out of this world, and I can write with all honesty that this was one of the best trips of my life. We challenged ourselves doing outdoor activities, we danced, sang, ate, drank, and laughed ourselves silly. Even the horses were beautifully matched to everyone's ability. I've rode for 20 years, and expected a plug, instead I was given a lively little mare that I really enjoyed riding. The scenery is beautiful, everything well planned and orchestrated, and the staff does all they can to insure your stay is spot on. Do not plan on dieting while you are here, the food still makes my mouth water, ( can't forget the maple scones.) I loved Red Horse Mountain Ranch so much, that I hope to return and bring my family along for this experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priest River, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

A beautiful place, excellent service, cozy and private accommodation.

It amazed us how in such a remote setting within the Coeur D'Alene national forest mountains, you could experience such culinary exuberance with not just one chef but several including a pastry chef who provided personal attention especially to those with dietary needs. The wine selection was exquisite, ensuring a vast variety of local vintages to satisfy a varied clientel.

The varied offered activities besides the daily basic to advanced horseback riding were fun and at times challenging and all the more enjoyable in the beautiful setting.

The evening bonfire get-togethers with the local cowboy poet/singer was an unforgettable experience, especially since the multi-talented staff joined in with their musical contribution.

It was hard to leave the warm and cozy comfort of the plush bed but we made it to Amanda's morning yoga/stretch sessions to get us ready for the full day's activities.

Room Tip: It depends on what you want: some cabins are more private than others. Ours was a room in a multi-r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank o c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
14.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeview Lodge
Lakeview Lodge
#2 of 6 in Harrison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Arrow Point Condo
Arrow Point Condo
#3 of 6 in Harrison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
12.3 mi away
Blackwell Hotel
Blackwell Hotel
#2 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Roosevelt Inn
The Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Horse Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Horse Mountain Ranch

Property: Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Address: 11077 E Blue Lake Rd, Harrison, ID 83833-7674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Horse Mountain Ranch is a family dude ranch, vacation getaway, and retreat on nearly 300,000 acres tucked away in Rocky Mountains near Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Since 1947, the ranch has had a rich history of dude ranching in Idaho and the same traditions of the Western experience live today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Horse Mountain Dude Ranch Hotel Harrison
Red Horse Mountain Ranch Idaho/Harrison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing