We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to remember”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Washington, New York
1 review
“A trip to remember”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

There are events in our lives that wake our spirit, warm our souls and leave us feeling content, relaxed and very happy. Our family’s recent trip to Red Horse Mountain Ranch, Harrison, Idaho affected all 5 members of the family similarly. Although there were two non horseback riders in the group they found activities of interest to them. My husband enjoyed biking, golfing and fishing. My 16 year old son enjoyed mountain biking, skeet shooting and long range rifle shooting. For myself and my two daughters (in their 20’s) we enjoyed twice a day riding. I rode to the top of the world on an all day ride having lunch on the mountain top looking clear into Montana.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longislandcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
144
38
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

2010 was my first year to spend a week at RHMR. Girls Getaway with my daughter. This year my husband and I went! I was not disappointed. It was, once again, the best vacation ever! The staff, the guests, the horses, the activities, and the weather were all excellent. The setting is breath-taking (the view from the top of the ridge on the last day's scenic ride is awesome). It was great to see some of the staff is still there, and the new ones were a great addition. The meals are plentiful and the kitchen crew will accommodate special diets. The entertainment was varied and enjoyable. Oh, relaxing in the hot tub, or on the lodge porch, or wherever, is truly an experience--no cell phones! Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wa2az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My sister talked me into going, and this place is wonderful. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The activities have great Varity and it is up to you what you do. The food is excellent. Biggest plus..no cell service, but they do have wireless at the lodge. This is really a week away from the stress of the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veradale
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was our families fourth vacation visit to RedHores Mountain. We returned this time for a family reunion and had a fabulous fun filled time. The place is absolutely amazing with the friendliest, helpful staff and management imaiginable. Plenty of fun activities for all ages and abilities. The horses are highly trained and perfectly suited to each guest. Daily rides are available for all rider skill levels, including kids program and advanced riding. Overall the best vacation dollar value for the experince possible. WE LOVE YOU Red Horse Mountain staffers and look forward to number 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

There simply aren't enough good things to say about Red Horse Mountain Ranch. Our family (consisting of grandparents, brothers, sisters, spouses & children) has returned to RHMR five years in a row--we just can't get enough. Every year is different and every year is even better than the last! The staff is absolutely first rate--they are there to make sure your family has the best vacation ever. Moreover, you won't meet a more interesting group of people anywhere. Everyone in our group rides while we are on the ranch and that is the highlight, but we also loved the mountain biking, zip lining (my 12 year old daughter especially) and kayaking. The evening entertainment was always fun, too! We have had five exceptional years at the ranch and we are already counting the days until next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thigrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

You can tell what types of vacations we normally take based on our user name. I think we are going to have to include the word "ranch" in it now. The family was a little nervous since this type of trip was out of our comfort zone but after about a day we knew it was going to be great. It was an active week of climbing walls, zip lines, fishing, shooting, kayaking, mountain biking, eating, drinking, campfires, spa and a least 1 horseback ride per day (sometimes 2). We were definitely tired by the end of the day and looked forward to the comfortable yet rustic cabins. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Even though we were there for just a week they treated us like they'd known us forever. It was great to hang out with them at night too. They were even nice to that guy "Greg A" (see his review). I can't wait to see him do karaoke again soon. The scenery was beautiful, the activities were fun but not over the top or corny and the most unexpected thing for me was how all the guests got along so well together. By the 2nd day I knew the names of every kid, parent and grandparent and by the end of the week we were hugging each other saying our goodbyes at the airport. I hope to see many of them again very soon. The only thing that was a little bit of a downer was for our 17 year old daughter. She had a great time too but there weren't any other kids her age but fortunately the wranglers were young and cute so that was good for her. My wife misses her horse Rebel dearly. I highly recommend breaking out of the ski and sun vacation mode and visit Cory and his staff at RHM.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Appaloosa cabin which had nice views of the pastures and horses and a hot tub just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiandSunFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fantastic week with family, and it's way more than just horses. Ample opportunity to get comfortable with, and better at, riding the horse that is "yours" for the week. Our 10 year old loved the mountain biking (Matt is a great guide), 8 year old loved zip lines, dad liked complete disconnection from he rest of the world (no cell service, very limited wifi), mom liked the challenge course even though it was scary. Food was very good, especially the 5-course dinner, which was on par with NYC. Don't expect 4 Seasons rooms...they are basic...nor expect to spend a lot of time in them, given the choice of activities. (In fact, we spent the week following at a 4 Seasons and found ourselves missing RHM)

We made some great friends there, and even the people from London were pretty OK (hi guys!), though the fact that we will see some of these people again makes my first karaoke experience a little more embarrassing. It's a hassle-free trip, super outdoor experience, with a patient, accommodating, fun staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
14.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
864 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
14.8 mi away
Coeur D'Alene Casino Resort Hotel
6.1 mi away
Lakeview Lodge
Lakeview Lodge
#2 of 6 in Harrison
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Horse Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Horse Mountain Ranch

Property: Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Address: 11077 E Blue Lake Rd, Harrison, ID 83833-7674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Horse Mountain Ranch is a family dude ranch, vacation getaway, and retreat on nearly 300,000 acres tucked away in Rocky Mountains near Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Since 1947, the ranch has had a rich history of dude ranching in Idaho and the same traditions of the Western experience live today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Horse Mountain Dude Ranch Hotel Harrison
Red Horse Mountain Ranch Idaho/Harrison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing