We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for the memories - Girls Getaway 2012”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montvale, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thanks for the memories - Girls Getaway 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

It was a year ago today, my friend Helen and I left for Red Horse Mountain Ranch for the Girls Getaway week. What a blast, I think it might be one of the best vacations I ever went on. Met a bunch of great women from all over the country, had so much fun every day. You can ride as much or as little as you want. I tried things I never tried before, ziplining, kayaking, clay shooting, archery and karoke. The staff is great, friendly, helpful and always willing to join in the fun. Food was excellent. The location is beautiful, relaxing. There was always plenty to do, but you set your own pace, sign up only for what you want to do. Don't miss Monday morning when they corral the horses from the pasture, what a great experience that was. I loved everything about this vacation, it felt like a dream.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolJoyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
136
37
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

So here's the funny part: our week's group was so congenial every one of us will recognize who wrote each review! :) After not finding a ranch that quite fit what we were looking for last year, I tried again & stumbled on Red Horse. When looking at all the 5-star reviews here on TA, my 1st reaction was "too good to be true". However, I was wrong! Red Horse is a wonderful place & created many happy memories in a week's time. The staff is incredible - Jeanie, Jess, Steph, Andy, Kyle...(I know I'm missing someone & I apologize), Kay at the bar, Jody in the office, Cory the owner/manager. No request was too small, nothing was overlooked & all was done with a smile. The food was plentiful and delicious. There were always fresh baked goods at the end of the buffet line to tempt you, and later, the few remaining cookies or brownies were placed out for snacking any time. We had the added pleasure of wine tasting each afternoon, mingling happily with fellow guests. On Thursday night, the staff provided an outstanding 5 course meal with wine pairings at each course, all served in the glow of kerosene lamps. Cabins are simple & comfortable. The horse picked for you is yours all week, giving you an opportunity to bond with these beautiful animals. Guests can choose scenic trail rides or test out for advanced riding opportunities, as well as some refresher or beginner lessons. I think my family enjoyed the riding most of all, but the other activities were also fun: kayaking, clays, archery, mountain biking, the zip line...Evening songs & stories at the campfire were also enjoyable, especially on a clear night with a bazillion stars overhead. If you have the chance, experience Red Horse - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Templetons911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

What a spectacular vacation we had at RHMR! It is getting harder to find places that really understand hospitality, but the folks at Red Horse Mountain get it. The surroudings are gorgeous, and the food is fabulous, but it is the staff at the ranch that really make the experience. From the wranglers to the chefs, everyone seems determined to make sure you have a good time. You can ride as much as you want, or not at all, and you can participate in as many actvities as you can fit in - or just take it easy. There is something going on every evening (campfire, hanging out at the saloon), and everything is very well thought out. Head out to Harrison for a great vacation and some wonderful memories.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wattsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Even if you are an experienced rider, you will appreciate the horseback program. Plenty of galloping, along with deep cedar and pine scented trails. My favorite stretch, Kyle and Ford called the rain forest. There we kicked up several grouse and saw fresh bear and elk tracks. They have 86 horses, all very well fed, shod, with comfortable tack.
The answer was never, "No" at this ranch. They said, "Yes" to everything I asked for. "Do you have Crown Royal and bitters?" " Yes", replied Kay. "Can I eat my tender slow cooked pulled pork lunch outside on the deck?" " Of course", said Jessi. "Can I still do the zip line after I ride in the afternoon?" "Yes". "Can I jump out of my kayak and swim around in the lake?" "Yes" replied Anna. "Can I shoot another round in the duck blind and pet the fainting goats?" " Sure" said Jeanie.
I stayed in the lodge room. The soap and shampoo smelled really pretty. The soft Terri cloth robes were a nice touch and came in handy when I would sneak out of my room to sit in the message chair at 2AM. All the guests this week were fabulous, and even though I traveled alone they treated me like a friend. (Thanks) All the workers are beautiful and the wranglers hot, including the managers. My favorite part was the horse riding and Tom Land the Cowboy poet. My least favorite was the trail from the arena to the lodge.

Room Tip: If you are lucky enough to get the Buckhorn lodge room, sleep on the right hand side of the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

FANTASTIC resort! Looking for a great dude ranch experience, don't hesitate - this is THE place to go. If you love the outdoors, horses, and fun things to do then this is THE place!. Staff is incredible, very customer focused. Great activities. Amazing! Top-notch fun, a lot to do!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve28122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were told for years how great this place is but it was even better than we expected. The staff is unbelievably accommodating, the food is very good with a good variety every day. So many fun activities to choose from for the whole family, every day. Plus fun activities every evening. You can do as much or as little as you want, and the ranch doesn't limit how many can enjoy any activity.
We were there for a family reunion, but it was also fun to meet and interact with people from all over, including the UK.
Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Plainfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was a great place! Excellent food, very comfortable accommodations, lots of activities, and friendly and helpful staff. The other guests were great fun. I have no doubt that we will be talking about this vacation for years. My entire family agress that this was the best vacation ever!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
14.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coeur d'Alene Inn
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
14.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeview Lodge
Lakeview Lodge
#2 of 6 in Harrison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Horse Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Horse Mountain Ranch

Property: Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Address: 11077 E Blue Lake Rd, Harrison, ID 83833-7674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Horse Mountain Ranch is a family dude ranch, vacation getaway, and retreat on nearly 300,000 acres tucked away in Rocky Mountains near Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Since 1947, the ranch has had a rich history of dude ranching in Idaho and the same traditions of the Western experience live today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Horse Mountain Dude Ranch Hotel Harrison
Red Horse Mountain Ranch Idaho/Harrison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing