We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family vacation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Perfect family vacation!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We picked this ranch based largely on its TripAdvisor reviews, and everyone was right - it's a great place. The staff are amazing and seem to truly care about the experience you have. There are tons of activities, so even a non-rider will have fun. We decided to ride quite a bit, but we also went kayaking and did archery, which were both a blast. The horses are all very well behaved and clearly are treated well. There are beginner rides for those who haven't ridden as much, as well as intermediate and advanced rides. My daughter loved the advanced rides, where she was able to gallop along the trails and race against other horses in a meadow. Even though she is quite young, once the wranglers saw she could ride well, they treated her like any other good rider (i.e., they're not stuck to rigid rules). The food was great, the bartender was great, and we even made new friends with the other guests. I don't have one negative thing to say about this place. We are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky_Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
136
38
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aubrey, TX
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Now most people when thinking of a dude ranch vacation think of Colorado, Montana and Wyoming, but this is one you have to see in beautiful Idaho. I never knew Idaho had the beautiful mountains and lakes and is every bit as enjoyable as the other three states mentioned, so pack your bags for Idaho. Easily located to Spokane International, it is a beautiful drive just to get there. Great riding for kids, adults and rides are sorted by riding ability, so something for everyone. With the lakes a few minutes away there are plenty of water activities, fly fishing, boat fishing and guests REALLY liked trying their skills with the Jetovator. See pic below!

Cabins are beautifully rustic and comfortable with air conditioning although not needed at nights in the mountains. You'll feel right at home the moment you open the door to your cabin.

The ranch offers archery, skeet shooting, zip lines, a Challenge Course with climbing walls and other courses to test your skill and moxie. The Mega Zip line ends with a big splash in the pond, something the guests never get tired of. Evens can be spent at the Saloon with games for the kids and never ending karaoke. This is the first ranch we have been to where the skeet shooting and archery offer multiple stations and different types of shooting, so something for everyone's ability and not simply one station all the time. The moving raptor on the archery course is a real hoot!

The staff make it special, friendly, helpful and it's obvious they enjoy their jobs. The food is excellent and the deserts are always a surprise. The Kids have their own night out and the adults enjoy a 5 course dinner with selected wines to cap off a great week. Kudos to the chef and kitchen staff.

Your week begins with the "Running of the Horses" from their mountain pasture to the barn and ends with them being turned out for the weekend. A spectacular sight if there ever was one. And the ranch dogs, Hank, Bodie and Toby are truly ranch ambassadors, the kids will love them but then again, who doesn't like black labradors and golden retrievers?

So pack your bags and head to beautiful Idaho for one special dude ranch vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorseFlicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

By far the best family vacation we have ever had. Despite ages spanning 3 to 72 we all enjoyed every minute spent on this gorgeous mountain property. Ranch Manager/Owner Cory Inouye and all his employees are happy, proficient and dedicated to pleasing every guest regardless of age or physical capability. Each guest is assigned a horse for the week (even our three year-old!) and riding lessons, if desired, are included. Included activities in addition to riding are too numerous to list here, but range from fishing (fly, casting, trolling) to hiking, mountain biking, archery, zip lining, golf, clay shooting and on and on. The beautiful lodge is the focal point for socializing, organizing daily activities, dining, and relaxing with a beverage to enjoy the gorgeous views from the wrap around deck. Virtually all activities and meals are included, even the evening cocktail hour. And another nice touch is the Thursday night Wine Dinner. Its a multi-course gourmet dinner paired with selected wines for each course. The wranglers take the underage children to their own activities and meal so the adults can enjoy this special evening. Accommodations are in well appointed rustic log cabins.

Room Tip: Most accommodations are in cabins surrounding the lodge. The cabins to the South of the lodge have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Wyatt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just returned from a beautiful week at RHMR. The staff and wranglers are wonderful and friendly. From my 3 year old niece being led around on her horse to my 9 year old daughter who wanted only to ride all day long and my 13 year old son who felt like a mini-adult to the real adults, there was something for everyone. I enjoyed the peace of mind that my kids were safe and having fun while exploring their independence. We tried mountain biking, sporting clays, archery, fishing, golf and of course horseback riding. Five star meals, amazing happy hours and getting to know the staff like family, this truly was a one of a kind vacation. Everyone is wanting to come back soon. Highly recommend this to any family who wants to indulge in the outdoors.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff, the lodges are all centrally located to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaulieuclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Traveling is a passion of ours so we have been to dozens of different places with our family over the years and when we stumbled upon RHMR 3 years ago, we could not believe what a special place was tucked away in these amazing rolling hills. We have been back every year since and don't plan on stopping any time soon. While the accomodations and food are top notch, and who wouldn't want to have their very own horse for a week! What makes the Ranch special is the amazing staff Cory, the owner has a knack for putting together. They are the happiest, most friendly and special team of people you could ever share your vacation with. We have met many amazing people over the years and I have yet to meet a child there that has not said that "this was the best vacation ever!" The kids expereince a level of freedom that doesn't often come with a vacation and there is something for everyone to enjoy. Don't worry if you don't know how to do the activities, they will teach you! I have watched Cory and the team take the time to make the vacation special for every single person on their ranch. The kids program is unlike any other I have every come accross. The worst part is that my kids are litterally crying when it's time to leave each year. We have been there 3 times so far and are now planning all the things we have yet to do for next year. Thank you to all the special wranglers and staff at RHMR who make us feel like part of their special family.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very spacious and comfortable . The cabins are very special with an authentic &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our family of 13, age ranges from 8 to 70, spent the week of June 22, 2014, at Red Horse Mountain Ranch. We have been vacationing together every year for over 20 years, going to the islands, seashores and mountains, but it is our consensus that this was the best family vacation ever.
It’s rustic (don’t take you’re good shoes); the accommodations are clean, the beds are comfortable, and the food is plentiful and fantastic. You’ll be assigned a horse for the week, according to your level of expertise, and by weeks end, it be your good friend. Each age group found a favorite activity—we older folks loved the horseback riding on the scenic mountain trails (who would have thought it from a bunch of city slickers); the teens reveled in the kayaking, mountain biking and shooting clays, while the 8 year old had a ton of fun participating in the children’s program.
None of the above fun and comfort happened by chance. Cory, the general manager, mingled with guests every day, as did the good looking, friendly wranglers (both male and female). The professionalism in running the ranch is evident, the expertise in hospitality and recreation management coming across loud and strong.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hilltop house, which was spacious and a meadows walk away from the lodge (or a shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 833Flora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was the most amazing week ever. We will be coming back next year. Cory and his entire staff treat everyone like family. There was something for everyone from ages 6-80. My kids all cried on the last day not wanting to go home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
14.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
843 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
#5 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
1,464 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeview Lodge
Lakeview Lodge
#2 of 6 in Harrison
72 reviews
9.5 mi away
Arrow Point Condo
Arrow Point Condo
#3 of 6 in Harrison
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Horse Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Horse Mountain Ranch

Property: Red Horse Mountain Ranch
Address: 11077 E Blue Lake Rd, Harrison, ID 83833-7674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Horse Mountain Ranch is a family dude ranch, vacation getaway, and retreat on nearly 300,000 acres tucked away in Rocky Mountains near Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Since 1947, the ranch has had a rich history of dude ranching in Idaho and the same traditions of the Western experience live today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Horse Mountain Dude Ranch Hotel Harrison
Red Horse Mountain Ranch Idaho/Harrison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing