We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reviews for B&B at Villa Ines might be great, but the apartment is horrendous.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ines

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Ines
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reviews for B&B at Villa Ines might be great, but the apartment is horrendous.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Villa Ines B&B has great reviews and 5 star ratings, but if you are looking to book the 3 bedroom self apartment, be aware that none of these apply. There are no photos of the apartment on the website, which is understandable because it is utterly squalid, and frankly should not be let out until it has been decorated and refurnished. I’m all for a bit of faded charm, but this is just plain grotty.

We paid $400 per night for accommodation so depressing, it’s hard to know where to start. The apartment is vast, but that is the only redeeming feature. Walls and ceilings are damp and stained, windows are falling apart, and large patches of flooring are missing with patches of grubby carpet covering the bare concrete.

One of the bedrooms has a working lift with a wardrobe jammed in front of it, so you can’t actually sleep in there because it’s not a bedroom, it’s a foyer, with the lift clanking and the light flashing through the night.

The rooms are hardly furnished at all. There were two tiny sofas at opposite ends of the huge living room that were both so grubby uncomfortable we actually preferred to sit on pillows on the floor. One couch had broken metal button fixings which were razor sharp so dangerous for our toddler to sit on.

No bedside lights in the bedrooms, there are no functioning wardrobes, because one is full of broken safes and the other is a too narrow for coat hangers. IN The apartment is full of broken grubby old minibars – I counted 5.

The kitchen was missing even the most basic equipment, no coffee maker, no wine glasses, no tea towels, and no cooking dishes, which could be used in the oven. The ‘glasses’ were scratched plastic, and there were a few bits of prison-style cutlery.

In bizarre contrast to the scrap furniture, all the rooms have vast vintage Murano chandeliers hanging from the ceiling but there are no other lights, by the beds or in the living room on side tables, just overhead glare, so the effect in the evenings is incredibly bleak.

The bathrooms were like those in a decent travellers hostel, no bath, just a couple of showers which were so weak I actually ended up washing my hair in the sink. We were provided with 3 small, raggy little towels between the 3 of us.

When I complained to the hotel proprietor Marika that the website is misleading because it has no pictures of the apartment, her response was bizarre and borderline hysterical. At first she said I was ‘stupid’ for not looking at the photos on the website, when I pointed out that none of them were of the apartment (she appeared not to be aware of this) Marika said I should have looked at photos which appear on other websites. She said I had been sent a PDF with photos of the apartment when I booked, but this was not true. Marika then started reading me all the glowing reviews of the B&B, as if they were in any way relevant to the dreadful apartment. In the end, her justification for the vast price was that the apartment is large, but two of the bedrooms were unusable. And anyway, who on earth wants to stay in a huge and horrible holiday apartment?

The only redeeming feature of our stay was the wonderful manager Stefano, who was utterly kind and thoughtful and charming and went out of his way to help make our stay comfortable, bringing wine glasses and lamps and cooking utensils and blankets. He was clearly used to dealing with complaints, and did so with genuine care. The cleaners were also wonderful and did their best to make the place habitable. All stars in our review go to these guys.

In the end Marika offered us a discount, reducing the week’s bill by £200, but this didn’t make up for the fact that this was our most expensive and uncomfortable holiday to date.

We have been visiting Venice for years, both for holidays and for work, and this was a uniquely unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNNORA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaines, Proprietario at Villa Ines, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest I am happy you found our staff professional and attemptive , they have been working with us for many years and we are proud that our style come through .

In reference to your complain, we cannot accept false information been said nor offense, we never insulted anybody unlike you did also in your review , we apologize anyway if the apartment was not what you expected, the only 2 things we can say are :

FIRST ) on June 6th 2013 we received your enquire from HOLIDAY LETTINGS ,(the web site where we display the apartment with full description and 10 pictures see the link www.holidaylettings.co.uk/rentals/venice,-veneto/142952
your mail of enquire was :" Dear Ines, we are a family of three (myself, my husband and our 3 year old son) and we are looking for an apartment to rent for 1 week, ideally from October 1st -7th (but any 7 day period from September 24th - October 7th would be fine). I have actually visited your wonderful apartment before, when it was rented to my friend/colleague photographer Nick D., and was delighted to find it on trip advisor. I would be very grateful if you could let me know ASAP whether it is available for this period, and what the rental would be. Many thanks, Nora M."

Seemed to us you knew exactly what to expect therefore not necessary other information; upon your arrival apparently right after a surgery session your husband had , you made clear with many request you were not happy . Myself and my husband come and gave you everything you requested. The Price of the apartment (with 3 bedroom and 2 bathroom , normally hosting 6 guest) was 250€ per day (not 400). At the end of your stay we offer you an extra 10% discount and no charge of any extra as a courtesy.

SECOND) About everything else you wrote I prefer to leave the answer to all our lovely clients that stayed at least once in that apartment before you; below their review just to mention a few :

• “Beautiful Villa Ines” elizabeth
rewiew on july 17 2012
"Been 3 times. Twice in the apartment for 1 month in fall 2012 and winter 2013. Booked apartment for March 2014"

• “Trip to Venice” shahzad s
rewiew on july 29th 2012
"He found the apartment "superb"!"

• “4th Visit in two years” mcballu
rewiew on october 4th 2012
Been 4 time , twice in the apartment and booked the apartment for the 3rd time in April 2014

• "Beautiful, tranquil haven!” danny adam
rewiew on august 4th 2012
"...Been twice, once in the apartment..."

• “Beautiful!” Sister M
rewiew onjune 19th 2012
"First time in B&B second in the apartment "

• “A warm relaxed and enjoyable experience” greenrock
rewiew on July12th 2011
"...Villa Ines looked even better than the pictures... We had reserved the apartment... the rooms were extremely comfortable and clean..."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    44
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
155
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Villa Ines from 11th till 14th December. The whole area being shrouded in dense fog added to the unique experience. I could hear the foghorn off in the distance, so quiet were the surroundings. It is relatively easy to find. It's a short walk from the landing through the town, down off one of the walking streets. Beautiful old patrician home surrounded by a large landscaped garden. My junior suite complete with Murano glass chandelier and wall-lamps, had a large, comfortable bed; the bathroom was modern, with a walk-in shower and spa-like bathtub. The breakfast table set up in a corner of the room is a bit small for 2 people to eat on, though. The Continental breakfasts were copious and delicious (one morning I was served an omelet); I was a bit disappointed by the servings of Kraft Philadelphia Cream Cheese and Babybel instead of fresh Italian cheeses. I definitely will stay here on future visits to the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Villa Ines is located an easy walk (even with luggage) from the vaporetto stop, easy to arrive at direct from the airport and easy to link with the rest of Venice. I stayed here whilst visiting some of our Venetian glass suppliers on Murano, and again, from the Lido, Murano is an easy vaporetto ride away.
We were shown our room by a very nice lady and then later Marika came to ensure we were settled and happy; Stefano also looked after us on occasion and all the staff were kind and helpful without exception. We had a large room (the Grey Room) with a pretty balcony overlooking the gardens, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was large and well furnished and we lacked for nothing whilst we were there. Breakfast was taken in the room and we had access to a microwave and small fridge which were useful for keeping us going in between meals; you make a call in the morning to one of the staff and the breakfast tray arrives in moments.
The Lido is not a difficult location to reach just about anywhere you'd want to go in Venice, though you may need to connect via St. Marks or elsewhere.
Villa Ines is also a family home and you are aware there are other people in the property but noise levels were more connected with thoughtless guests than anything else, and that can happen anywhere. Villa Ines was spotlessly clean and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone wanting accommodation on the Lido, I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was a studio, complete with microwave, fridge and table/chairs. Its useful to have this be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOS ANGELES
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

It was my third time at Villa Ines, to coincide with the 70th Mostra del Cinema. And I had been longing to come back since I left last year.. So it was so comforting to disembark from the vaporetto at the Lido stop and then to walk a few minutes to the Villa, to ring and have the gate open and be crossing the garden to enter the house, all familiar sites I was so looking forward to seeing again.
And there was Stefano waiting to show me my usual room, the Brown one. He had just had a new router installed and the internet connection and wi fi were ultra fast.
And so 8 days went so fast in the peaceful and serene environment of the house, with the daily rituals of delicious breakfasts with excellent coffee, brought in by the cheerful Katia, or Tania, the quiet nights in the cozy atmosphere of the room. The feeling of tranquility and serenity make for a priceless sojourn...An ideal retreat from the crowds of Venice itself..
Again the realization of how privileged this location is on the Lido, so close to the Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta where the supermarket is, the restaurants, the shops...And also to the beaches and the Palazzo del Cinema reachable in barely 15 minutes walk.
And Marika is a superb hostess and with Stefano, always available to help and assist, and never intrusive. They welcome you like family and it is an honor. So, again, it is hard to leave and one can only hope to come back again...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Beautiful, romantic, everything so special! The house, the rooms, the decoration, the furniture, the garden , cannot describe the beauty! Big bathroom with good amenities!The beds...you sleep like a princess!!!soooo comfortable!Breakfast served in the garden that was full of flowers!Very warm welcome from the lady in charge!the beach is very close on foot. Close to Venice but away from the noise! Lido in general is fantastic!we had an unforgettable stay and plan to go back for more days next time.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maya_Gio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Not far from the crazy maddening crowds of historic narrow Venice lays a majestic little hotel (B&B) called Villa Ines in Lido. Think Venice and then think the opposite, that’s life in Lido: open and airy, trees and flowers, beaches, clean and uncluttered, and the same goes for the beautiful Villa Innes. The villa is a short, easy (even with luggage) 5-8 min walk from the Lido Vaporreto station.. and the Vaporreto ride from Lido to Venice is also short and picturesque. It is beyond me why anyone would “hike with their luggage” to a hotel in the middle of congested narrow Venice, when you’ve got Villa Ines in Lido as an option . Trust me, the Villa Ines in Lido is worth the extra little Vaporreto ride each day!!

Room Tip: Book the larger suite - it has a kitchenette and a sizable bathrrom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were in Venice for the Redentore weekend. It was really crowded but Villa Ines was an elegant retreat from the heat and hustle and bustle. On the other hand it was really easy to get into Venice via the multiple vaporretos and again easy to get to Via Roma and the Station via the fast Number 6 or 51 vapporettos.

In addition the beach was a few minutes walk away.

Delightful, friendly staff and an excellent breakfast served in the leafy, quite garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterctotnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ines

Property: Villa Ines
Address: Via Lazzaro Mocenigo 10, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an historical garden rich of the perfumes of mediterranean herbs and roses, villa ines represents a step back into the history of liberty on the lido. In each room elegant materials and soft furnishings,precious lighting from the family furnace, offering the guests a sojourn of past times. All the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, wi fi connection, plasma television. All the marble bathrooms have a shower and a jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Ines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ines Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing