We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in Venice. The wine was outstanding and we appreciated the service which anticipated our every need.”
Review of La Tavernetta

La Tavernetta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$82
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The meeting point between the island's people and the tourists, the contact point beetwen venetian and tuscan cuisine, the arrival point where you can find warmth and good wishes. This is the atmosphere of La Tavernetta, a small restaurant near the famous Hotel Excelsior and the Lido's Casinò Palace. An historical restaurant, frame of the first edition of Venice International Film Festival and of the later ones. Since 1996 Riccardo, tuscan chef member of F.I.C. (Federazione Italiana Cuochi) for several years, and Adriana, born in Venice who had worked like chef in many hotels and restaurants, have been the owners. Riccardo and Adriana have been able to coniugate passion and quality, teaching them to their son Ottavio, manager since 2009. With the arrival of Ottavio, a skillful and expert sommelier (best sommelier of italy), La Tavernetta becomes more renowned, combining the reputation of its superb
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We arranged by email from Australia to have a friends sixtieth birthday here. We were so pleased with the food wine and service and they even arranged a beautiful birthday cake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank glorifiedhostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottavio V, Direttore at La Tavernetta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comment posted on TripAdvisor.

We are really happy to know that your best meal in Venice was at la tavernetta.

We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to come and visit us again.

Best regards.

Ottavio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

A must do while in Lido. The best food and wine on Lido. The most knowledgable sommelier I have met in Italy. He knows what he is doing. Great wine and food pairings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Joesph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottavio V, Direttore at La Tavernetta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Joesph M,

It's a real pleasure to discover your review about your recent experience at la tavernetta
I'm delighted to read that you enjoy our service and food, thanks a lot for your beautiful words.
We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to come and visit us again.

Kind regards


Ottavio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had a wonderful evening at the Tavernetta. The food was great - the fish of the day was awesome as was the Tiramisu...Ottavio was invaluable with his wine suggestions and speaks great English and French...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cdg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottavio V, Direttore at La Tavernetta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,
many thanks for taking time to share your feedback about your recent experience at la Tavernetta.
We are glad to read that you apprecieted this experience .
We hope to see you again
Kind regards
Ottavio

Best regards

Ottavio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent five nights in the Hotel Excelsior on the Lido in October and enjoyed two dinners in La Tavernetta which is just across the road. The restaurant is family run, the food is excellent and the wine list extensive with many offers from small local vineyards. Ottavio, the owner, is passionate about the wine he serves and is generous with his knowledge. This was a real find and our visits there contributed enormously to the enjoyment of our stay on the Lido. I understand the restaurant will be closing shortly for their winter holiday and reopening, I think, in March.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Robswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I were somewhat dissapointed in the food experiences we had in venice till we went here. Some of the best food we have had on our honeymoon. The service was outragous!!!! Such a great find! We had the fish done in different ways as an app and it was mindblowing! I had the scallop ravioli off of one of the reviews below and it truly is the best ravioli. My wife got the pumpkin ravioli with duck ragu. She loved it. Im not a pumpkin fan but i would eat the duck ragu by itself it was so good. Do not skip the tiramisu!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pmappelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tavernetta also viewed

Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Tavernetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing