We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable room and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Villa Mabapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights as part of a group tour. My room was small and not very modern, but it was clean and comfortable. I liked the coffee/tea maker, which I did not have in any other hotel during my two week trip throughout Italy. The food in the restaurant was very good and I enjoyed the breakfast as well. It would have been much nicer to stay on Venice itself instead of Lido, but the water taxis are very convenient and fast. If you're on a budget and must stay on Lido, I highly recommend this hotel. Staff were welcoming and friendly too.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miastar225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

This place has an old elegance bit still maintains modern amenities. Breakfast is self service and there is plenty of it and you can eat on the terrace and look out to sea. It was lovely at the end of the day to escape the hustle and bustle of Venice and relax. We had a lovely day on their private beach as well to recharge which is an added bonus

1  Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I traveled with my 12 year old son, and staying on Lido at the Villa Mabapa was great for us. We enjoyed visiting Venice and Murano and loved the fact that we could remove ourselves from the hubbub to quiet of Lido. The Vaporetto station was only a 10 minute walk away, and the beach on the other side was really nice. You rent `cabanas` or just camp out on the sandy beach. The breakfast in the morning was really nice. The dinner in the restaurant was very good and well priced. There`s a ping pong table in the back too which we used quite a bit. The room we had was very big, like a suite, and the beds had lots of pillows. The bathroom was a fair size and overall the hotel was clean. I loved walking through the lobby and seeing the water and Venice in the distance. It was great at the Villa Mabapa and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We had the first room at the top of the staircase on the first floor and after opening the door, we were taken back by the pungent cleaning agents used in the toilet. We waited a while in the hope it would dissipate but sure enough, it seemed like a permanent feature of the room... The toilet door also wouldn't close properly so we had to put a bin in front of the door to keep it shut. As we were exhausted from a tiring day, we didn't make a fuss.
Aside from this, the hotel was in a good location overlooking the beach (unfortunately ours was facing the next door neighbour). it's about a 15 minute walk from Lido's main street where you can find some of the most delightful gelato in Italy. (1.20 euros for a HUGE scoop!) Breakfast was rather limited in choice but still ok. Rooms rather average for a 4 star hotel and the pictures on their website look FAR better than what it really is.
Would try another hotel if visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JTqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were in Room 131 in the pink building. This was an attic room with no windows for a view which was a shame because the room faced the sea. There were 3 skylights. The bed was tiny and short (not good when you are 6'3"). There was no elevator in our building and we were on the top floor. The room was clean and functional (a no frills room). It was warm in the attic even with 2 a/c units. Very nice breakfasts, easy walk to the ferry/water taxi terminal (10 min) and a quick walk to the beach. Enjoyed the beach. 20 minute water bus ride to Venice. Free shuttle to Murano Island. Reception desk was helpful with our requests. We brought our car onto the island and parked at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator make sure you request a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chocolate1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We've travelled extensively and this hotel wins the cake for having the most inconsiderate, borderline rude staff we've ever experienced. Our air conditioning in both the rooms we rented was not working. After one hot night, we requested they correct it. Second night, no difference. The rooms are tiny. The majority of the staff were very inhospitable. In particular, the night desk clerk, GABRIELLE, was the worst. Examples are too numerous to list here. Stay anywhere else but here, especially if you are an American.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umberto, Owner at Hotel Villa Mabapa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Ms Marian S,

We are very sorry to learn about what happened in the room you were staying in, when you found the air conditioning system was not fully functional. We are taking steps to resolve the issues you complained about. We would appreciate it if you would please indicate the day and time when you went down to reception during the nght, and to confirm whether you were staying in room 124. We would like to thank you for informing us about your experience, and we assure you that we will do everything necessary to make sure it doesn't happen again.

Yours sincerely, Antonio Vianello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I booked this hotel via a booking company and was told the total price (for 2 room for 4 people) was £772. The hotel took £803 from my credit card. When I enquired why there was a difference I got the reply, and this is a copy and paste from the email,
The hotel replied:
-----------------------------

The difference is the local tax of Euro 2.80 per person per day that is
never included in the total amount of the reservation
Always at your disposal
Best regards
Michele D'Antonio - Reception Manager

On booking out we were told that we had to pay 2.80 euros each per night. I pointed out that we had already paid the tax, as per their email. The person I was talking to was Michele D'Antonio, the writer of the email. I might as well have been talking to a brick wall. He was adamant that they had not already charged the tax, despite being shown his own email on my netbook. We were obliged to pay a further 44 euros. The hotel was fine, the first person we spoke to arrival was very pleasant and very helpful. The attitude of Mr D'Antonio spoiled what had been a very pleasant break. Moral of the story, don't believe that the total price quoted is what you will pay and don't believe a word (written or spoken) from Mr D'Antonio.
Our booking company totally agree and have refunded the £30 difference themselves and are still trying to get an acceptable answer from the hotel nearly a month later. It is a pity that the hotel rating has been reduced due to the attitude of just one person.
DL

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.6 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
935 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
859 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mabapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mabapa

Address: Riviera San Nicolo' 16, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £60 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Mabapa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Villa hotel (1930), three buildings in the middle of a large shady garden, panoramic and quiet locacion facing St. Mark' s Basin, 10 mnts from city centre, 300 mnts from the beach, easy to be reached by car (car ferry line n. 17) Free parking at the hotel.Antiques original are furnishing public rooms, all rooms recently renovated have private facilities, TVC Satellite, radio, direct dial telephone, air conditioned. The quality restaurant "The Pitosforo", with summer terrace and candle light dinner in the garden offers a wide choice of Venetian and International cuisine, lounge and bar are both inside and open air overlooking the St. Marks Basin. Banqueting and meeting facilities from 20 pax up.Room rate includes buffet breakfast, half and full board including a la carte meals. Free parking safety box, small pets allowed, private landing stage.Nearby, on the island, tennis, swimming pool, riding school, golf 18 holes, beach, gambling casino, tourists airport, archery court. For the sports ones there are always bicycle available in the hotel.All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Mabapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mabapa
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western
Hotel Villa Mabapa Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing